All member reviews for My Boy Jack

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Daniel Radcliffe goes to war as Kipling's son.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 8 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old December 7, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

vilont and sad

vilont and sad!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old October 16, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent of a 17 year old Written bylove2 September 30, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

the sadest movie i have ever scene

COANTAINS SPOILER my favorite actor in the world is daniel radcliffe. So i rented the movie and watched it. and it was the sadest movie i had ever scene! when jack goes missing in the war his family does everything they can to find him. But then trgicly they find out that he had died ( and in the scene they show him being shot and falling to the ground and dies) i cried and cried and cried at that part. and one of the sadest things is that his father insisted that he went to war and when Jack dies he begins to realize that he basicly murdered his own son. a very sad story. ONLY FOR MATURE VIEWERS.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old November 9, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

GREAT MOVIE

This was awsome and vilont!!! i loved it!!!!! And this a perfect movie for older tweens to watch to teach them about war!!! BUT BE WARNED THE ENDING IS MUCH TO SAD AND OVERWELMING FOR YOUNGER KIDS.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byGhillie February 25, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great, But Be Careful!

This movie really changed my view of World War I and is an amazing educational and entertaining story. But there is a lot of violence, and the ending is sad and scary. Jack and Elsie smoke frequently, trying to hide it from their parents. But if children can see past that, the movie is life changing, not to be dramatic or anything.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old March 25, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
i love the movie the end its sad
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 7, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

A SAD MOVIE MOVIE.... BUT STILL A GREAT ONE

this movie is very sad, and not to mention vilont. This Harry Potter star stars in my boy Jack a sad war drama about a young 18 year old boy whos dream is to fight in war and protect his country. Jack is very nice and determined character but there is some swearing that he says and he smokes without any supervision. Kids under 11 will find themselves confused and scared of the content and images in the movie. kids 12 and older wont be as scared or confused but still the ending will shock them. And if your daughter is in love with Daniel Radcliffe DON'T let her watch this movie!!!!! Bottom line: great movie just not for everyone.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old October 28, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

1-10

this movie is awsome!!!! but sad. I will rate things on a scale from 1-10 on how extreme the content is or how much u should be consenered about it. these are for kids who are 8: HOW EXTREME for there age: VILONCE: 10 SEX: 3.8 LANGUAGE: 9.8 CONSUMERISM: 1.2 DRINKING,DRUGS ECT. : 6 HOW MUCH U SHOULD BE CONSENERED: VILONCE:10 SEX: 2.1 LANGUAGE: 10 CONSUMERISUM:1 DRINKING DRUGS ECT. : 4.2) these 1-10 scales are for kids 9-10 year old. HOW EXTREME for there age: VILONCE: 9.5 SEX: 2.5 LANGUAGE: 9.5 CONSUMERISM: 1 DRINKING DRUGS ECT. : 5.8 HOW MUCH U SHOULD BE CONSENERED: VILONCE:10 SEX: 1.3 LANGUAGE: 9.8 CONSUMERISM: 1 DRINKING DRUGS ECT.. : 4) these scales are for kids 11-12 years old. HOW EXTREME it is for there age: VILONCE: 9.4 SEX: 1.5 LANGUAGE: 9.4 CONSUMERISUM:1 DRUGS DRINKING ECT. : 5 HOW MUCH U SHOULD BE CONSENERED: VILONCE: 9.6 SEX: 1.2 LANGUAGE:9.3 CONSUMERISUM: 1 DRINKING DRUGS ECT: 4.8) these scales are for teenagers ages 13-14: HOW EXTREME IT IS for there age: VILONCE: 7.9 SEX:1 LANGUAGE: 8.1 CONSUMERISUM:1 DRINKING DRUGS ECT. : 3.1 HOW MUCH U SHOULD BE CONSENERED: VILONCE:6.8 SEX:1 LANGUAGE: 10 (teenagers are into a stage where if they hear the swear they say the swear) CONSUMERISUM: 1 DRINKING DRUGS ECT: 8.9 ( there is a point in a teenagers life where they might think about smoking this movie might influence the idea even more for them to smoke)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking