All member reviews for National Lampoon's Animal House

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

John Belushi's raucous toga party isn't for young kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 18 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byakfletchers April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

How old is your reviewer?

I couldn't find the bio on your reviewer for this piece, Heather Boerner. Maybe she's too young to understand that Animal House is now, and probably was when made, a period piece about the early sixties, a time when 18 year olds couldn't vote but could drink and be drafted, college was often very cheap, drugs and open sex in the popular culture were new and exciting, and integration was an ideal that hadn't really begun to be accomplished yet. Undoubtedly you should discuss it with your teens, or maybe encourage them to discuss it with their grandparents, but to whine about its lack of morals? Give me a break! It's an extremely entertaining social history lesson!
Parent of a 13 and 15 year old Written byJoeNameth September 16, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

not for kids

Gives kids the wrong idea about what college is all about.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byjfreighgiuhg March 23, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Will turn into the best four years ever!!

Animal House is hands down the best comedy ever. Between drinking with friends, pulling pranks, and joining in food fights, college has never been better. And what about the ladies? Well, rest assured you will not be disappointed. Just remember, "Over, did you say over? Nothing is over until we decide it is! Was it over when the Germans bombed Pearl Harbor? Hell NO!!"
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byjjacobs343 January 22, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Awesome!

I saw it last year... there was al ot of sex but i loved it!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13 year old Written byZachary Sohrab October 27, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
This movie is excellent, but not for kids
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byJWilliams303 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

toga! toga!

this movie is awesome!!!
Teen, 14 years old Written bylordmax April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byClassicCultReviewer June 17, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byoctober1985 March 14, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written byPeewee April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
I am 15 and i saw this movie when I was 13 and then my mom bought it for me so I don't see what the big deal is I mean so what it's not like most kids have not heard all the curse words in it.
Kid, 12 years old December 22, 2008
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

COOL!!!!

luved it!!!! best john belushi movie ever!!!!!!! this movie was awesome although there were some sex related stuff it was fine!
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written bygabe h May 16, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Written byAnonymous December 8, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Not for kids.

A Lot of Sex of people back in the 1970's making this movie. Will I'm saying this movie is not for kids or teen of any kind.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 August 28, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

national lampoons animal house

Families can talk about how they deal with bullies. When someone is mean to you, do you imagine pulling off a prank like the ones the Deltas pull on Dean Wormer and the Omegas? What's a healthier way to deal with your anger? The film is also a good opportunity for parents to talk about appropriate behavior with sexual partners. Also, why do you think this film has a cult following? Does it epitomize what made John Belushi so funny on Saturday Night Live? Adult comedy buffs may want to look up Belushi's funniest moments from SNL and share them with kids. Many -- like the Samurai Deli sketch -- showcase his astounding comedic talents in a much more kid-appropriate fashion.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byhusker97 March 20, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

not the most innapropriate movie ever

most people think this is the most innapropriate movie ever, here's a news flash, it isnt!
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byFunpun September 5, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Funny not for kids

Awesome movie, uses of the f word are at a high though. If you are looking for a family movie to watch with your kids do not watch this movie. There are some nude scenes, but this is by far my favorite Kevin Bacon movie.
Teen, 15 years old Written bySirkin reviews June 23, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Sirkin reviews

In this 1978 master piece John Belushi is better than ever
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bylimabeanzrule May 18, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking