All member reviews for National Treasure

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 41 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old June 21, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

good movie

great history movie
Teen, 13 years old Written byrebma97 July 4, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Fun Film With Some Education

While this is not the best film out there, it's a fun adventure film (similar to Pirates of The Caribbean). The storyline is interesting as well as the characters (Riley is really funny). The main character, Ben, does steal, but he does it for a good reason, so I do believe it's a (mostly) positive message. Also, there is a little bit of history in this about the Revolutionary War, so it's sort of educational. As far as content, there is a good amount of violence. Not only do people fight, but there's also a lot of peril. Not much blood, though, and there aren't a lot of action scenes as compared to those superhero films. Abigail is considered "hot" and is seen dressing in one scene. There is a joke in which Ben tells his dad that he's in trouble and he asks, "Is she [Abigail] pregnant?" There wasn't much language; in fact I don't remember any. I think the whole family will enjoy it; just make sure kids can handle the violence. I'd give it about a 3.5/5 stars
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old May 24, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

NT (National Treasure) is TB (The Best)!!! :)

THIS IS THE BEST!!! My favorite movie. There is a little violence and two characters kiss, but it's great. It also teaches some great things about history. Amazing!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old May 15, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byGilldel September 19, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

excellent and intelligent

National Treasure is one of my favorite movies. This is NO dumb stunts and explosions movie! There are intelligent puzzles great suspense scenes and solid acting. There is a bit of shooting and violence including two of the main characters being killed in an exploding ship and a villian plunging into a black pit. There is only one piece of language that I heard (d***) and I wouldn't have heard it if it wern't for the subtitles. The heroes steal the Decleration of Independance but only to prevent the bad guys from getting at it. Over all an excellent and intellegent film definately worth checking out!
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byRosebud95 July 5, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good Movie!

This movie is really good and has some funny parts.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old July 21, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Best movie ever of all time!

Okay. This is the best movie ever of all time. I know that you will look at this as just another review but I really truly recommend it. My five year old brother watched it and said "This is kind of scary...I like scary." (He jumped less than my Grandma) It has a lot of guns but there is no blood shown or deaths from them. One bad guy fell down a tunnel and died but again, no blood. There is a fairly intense part right after that but we all thought it was great! Hope you enjoy the movie!
Kid, 11 years old November 7, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

great for the whole family

luv this movie it is very great for the whole family no matter how old u r or what kind of person u r u will luv this movie and series
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
the movie has good historical content and teaches the reader about america's history. I liked that the movie gives a possibility of what could be, and makes us think. I also liked figuring out the clues and riddles
Teen, 14 years old Written bykaratedude April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

AAAAAAHHHHHHOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!

This is a great movie! The language is mild. There's no blood, just a lot of shootings that miss every time. This movie is unpredictable! That's what makes it so great! And there's almost as much comedy as there is action/adventure! This is a must-see for everyone 10 and up!
Teen, 14 years old Written bystar April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A smart and very exciting action movie.

National Treasure is an action packed adventure with a cleaver story. Its not 5 star film but its a 4 star film which makes it good too. It might scare little kids and may be a bit to violent but still it was pretty good.
Teen, 14 years old Written byquertydog April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Very cool....

THis was amazing. Lots of people thought this was really stupid but it's really sweet, cause they have all this high tech stuff and they have some really cool shots such as Nick Cage is walking down a sidewalk and is being followed by some guys...he walks across a diagonal crosswalk and a bus goes by so you cant see him. when the bus is gone and you can see him, hes running as fast as he can go and then the villains are like whoa and run after him. It's really REALLY cool...see it.
Teen, 14 years old Written bybandgeekl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Amazing!!

I LOVE this movie!!! It's sooooo good! Its about history and there trying to figure out a long national mystery and the find a treasure. I love it!
Teen, 17 years old Written byjietoh12622 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I loved it.

I thought this was a very good movie. The language, drug and sex references were mild. I appreciate also the educational yet fun way they put it together. I think its a must-see for history lovers and familys alike. Enjoy!
Teen, 14 years old Written bybananabrain04 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byJohan April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pretty good but could be better...

I don't understand why CSM thinks this movie is so awful! I liked it. The good thing is that throughout the entire movie, the film remains entertaining, just like Pirates of the Carribean. There are some really good scenes and it is a very intelligent movie. However, it can get ridiculous sometimes. Little kids will like it. There are some skeletons and guns and violence like that. For sexual content, there are juts some kisses and a referance to pregnancy. Some very mild swear words as well. There is also some reckless behavior, involing a man stealing his dad's own car and tying him up(but making it entertaining and putting the Tv remote in his hand with a soda as well.). Other than that, its fine for kids. Its an average movie with a lot of wit and entertainment. A good popcorn-popper or friday-night mvoie. Tons of non-violent action. See it when you don't have any other ideas of what to see.
Teen, 14 years old Written bypinkcrushxo November 15, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
I love this movie!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Action-Packed fun for Ages 9 and up!

National Treasure is an action-packed, fun, and suspensful film for the whole family. The film gets violent infrequently, but it is suspensful and intense a lot. There is no sex or language, but the characters do do several minor irrational things, like STEALING THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE! The theft plunges Benjamin Gates, friend Riley Pool, and a governemnt worker named Abagail into a frantic search for a hidden treasure. The threesome are paired against Ian and his thugs, all of whom are former colleagues. I strongly disagree with the people who say this film is dumb, for I enjoy it every time I watch it and it stands one of my favorites.

Pages