All member reviews for Nim's Island

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 31 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old December 29, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Nim's Island was okay.

This movie was not scary for me. I saw it when I was eight. My family liked it but I thought it wass okay. So I thought that I should give it a three. When Nim injured he knee and puss started coming out I thought that that was gross. I say 8+ because I saw all the other reviews and saw that kids 7- got frightned.
Kid, 10 years old June 16, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Good for anyone 6 and up for sure.

LOVE IT! I would not say its the best but if was very well done. I think kids of all ages ^ and up could defiantly see it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old April 13, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Hmmmmmmm, I....dont know what to say....it wasnt very good...

I think the plot was boring. I think under 8 year old kids might get bored. I got bored and I'm 11. Not really recomended.
Teen, 13 years old Written byPrincessNoriBori February 19, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great Movie, A Little Scary.

It's not a bad movie, I quite liked it. Had a good plot and had enough scary moments to keep anybody into it. I really really liked it. I'd say 8 and up because it's a little frightening at times.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana January 16, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
i loved the movie. i thought it was really good. its not scary.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 2, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

good movie

i love the move the bad Language Bloody
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old August 21, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

BOO!!!

All I have to say, saddest, scariest movie ever (Mom and all that blood)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byrebma97 May 8, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Kids'll like it

It was okay. But I liked Abigail Breslin. She's a good actress. They're aren't much concerns here, although Nim's dad gets lost in overseas, and it seems as if he drowns at one point
Kid, 12 years old November 30, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

good for all ages

i like this movie beacase it teachs u good lesson
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byYeah. February 27, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Check my page for other great recommendations.

I'm not here to give a review because if it shows up on my page its a 5 star movie and so therefore you know what i think about it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byilovecookiez April 6, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Crappy.

I thought this movie was pretty good... until the ending. The ending didn't make sense in any way and I wish this movie never came. I've never read the book and now I'm grateful.
Kid, 10 years old December 19, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Loved it

What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 7 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Nim's Island is great!!!

You should see this movie because I liked it when Selkie played soccer. I think you should see this because the people in it were great because Nim was brave. Fred, Nim, and Selkie were my favorite characters.
Teen, 16 years old Written byLucas Couldron May 27, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great movie!!!

I absolutly LOVE this movie.The acting is great as well as the scripts! This movie is right up there withRio,Alpha & Omega,Kung Fu Panda 2,Shrek 2,and Cars 2 in the hall of fame!
Teen, 13 years old Written byEragonopotter July 20, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Just fine?

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written bynimfa April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 8 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

nims island rocks!

nims island rocks!
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

not bad

Nim's Island was a pretty good good movie, i would say 6+, barely anything bad in it. If you like adventure movies, then you should see it.
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

BOOOORIIING!

Frankly, if I was the type of person who fell asleep easily, I would have missed the whole movie.

Pages