All member reviews for North by Northwest

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 11 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old December 29, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

BEST MOVIE EVER !!!

I saw North By Northwest when I was 10, and I think it may be one of the best movies I have ever seen. There was one scene that creeped me out a bit, but besides that, I enjoyed every minute!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old July 30, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Bad romance, action could have been better, just...forgettable

AFI ranked this as the #4 most thrilling movie ever, with only Exorcist, Jaws, and Psycho ahead of it. That's pretty big shoes to fill. But this didn't fill them. For an action movie, the only memorable action sequences were the cropduster (which was stupid...he should have just laid down and waited for it to run out of gas), and the Mt. Rushmore (silly). The romance was not believable, as they met and six hours later they had a makeout scene that was about fifteen minutes too long. Not much was believable, and the connecting material between action was scanty. Not worth seeing.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old January 17, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Only 4 stars?

By far one of the best thrillers ever made. Reccomend it to any fan of suspense.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpielberg00 June 4, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

One of the best Hitchcock movies ever.

My rating: PG [borderline with PG-13] for some violent images and brief alcohol use.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bymongofa August 18, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Suspenseful and thrilling

Cary Grant shines, in this spectacularly thrilling Hitchcock classic. That cropduster scene was so beautifuly shot it gives me the chills. The film does have some scenes of peril and violence that parents may not want there young kids to see. It is the perfect movie for teens, though
Teen, 16 years old Written byGeorgia Shore March 12, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great family movie!

One of Hitchcock's best movies! Great for mature 7 and 8 year olds, definitley on for 9 year olds. Only 4 stars? Great action/ suspense movie for the whole family! The scenes are both beautiful, and have a touch of Hitchcock's surrealism.
Kid, 10 years old November 23, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Classic Hitchcock- an edge of your seat thriller.

Hitchcock's North by Northwest is very similar to the later James Bonds. Like in "Skyfall", it's about a secret service agent spy who even dresses in a smart suit. He tries to find a Russian spy and gets caught up in a surreal world. The pace of the film is thrilling: in one scene he's in a Sports Car and almost falls off a cliff, in another a crop duster pursues him. The plot starts with Roger Thornhill going to a bar where he is mistakenly identified by two criminals as an agent named Kaplan. The criminals force bourbon into him and later he is suspected of a murder he hasn't committed and of driving while drunk. He also meets a girl he falls in love with named Eve (Eva Marie Saint). This thrilling film I highly recommend.
Kid, 11 years old November 2, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great thriller without all the violence

Violence- 1 (Mild Themes)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bymrlucien June 26, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

North by Northwest

The greatest film ever made
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bymoviefan115 March 12, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Another Favorite Hitchcock!

This was my first Hitchcock, and it has led to me see other wonderfule films by this master. A Must-See Classic!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking