All member reviews for Observe and Report

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 14 reviews)
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bymasonlackey January 15, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

all around insane

like i said all around insane and its dark humor will catch your eye just hope it doesnt catch your kids eye because in my mind thats robbing their childhood 5 STARS EASY!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byoctober1985 July 17, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bydouble007 October 23, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Very funny but very adult!

Very funny movie, but way too mature for kids. F**k is used constantly, probably over 100 times. Also pretty much every other swear wrod as well. Theres also a long scene of VERY graphic nudity where a flasher is seen running around the mall with the front of his coat open and his genitals swinging back and forth in slow motion. There's two sex scenes that are quite strong as well. Along witht he sex and graphic nudity, theres lots of sexual references. The violence isn't so heavy, but there are a few scenes. A man is shot and blood splatters on some people near him, then a large streak of blood can be seen on the floor (this is quite graphic). A man is attacked by a group of drug dealers and he pulls out a stick and beats them all (some blood and protuding bones), they don't appear to be dead but he later mentions them and says they're dead. The same man is later attacked by a large number of cops, he beats many of them but he is overwhelmed and they are seen hitting him with clubs. There is also quite a bit of drugs and alcohol use. A women gets drunk and pops quite a few pills and is later seen unconsious and puking. A man takes heroin through a needle and also smokes marijauna. The main charcters mother is an alcoholic and is drunk all the time. Overall it's a pretty good movie but is only for adults. Sex and nudity: 10/10. Langauge: 10/10. Drugs and alcohol use: 8/10. Violence: 7/10.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byStevie111 April 4, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Very mature dark comedy

Older teens should be able to handle this. Although this is definitely an adult movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 March 25, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Hilarious.

Laughed my a*s off when I went to saw this with my dad from Netflix but very dark humored lots of violence sex and language mixed all in one so mature teens only,but otherwise a good laugh once in a while.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byYeah. February 28, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Check out my page for other great recommendations.

I'm not here to give a review because if it shows up on my page its a 5 star movie and so therefore you know what i think about it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old July 31, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

a very funny movie but not for kids

a very funny movie. lots of strong and frequent language with lots of f-words around 20-30 s-words mabye less one c**k d**k is used a few times and other things much milder than this. two strong but short sex scenes. strong nudity and can be disturbing. a medium amount of violence and comidic violence including... a man has his head hit agenst an oven thing,the main charater beats up a group of police with a flashlight then he is hit with batons and a sign,a teen is hit in the head with a skateboard,a man is tasered and the most violentest thing a man is shot in the shoulder and blood coveres the entire floor he doest die but he is seen later with blood all over his body. the main charater has a mother thats always drunk everytime shes in the movie she faints once. a woman vomits because she is drunk. not for kids!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bygabe h May 16, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old April 11, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

FUNNY MOVIE

i think that this movie is off limits for anyone under 16 its disturbing but funny
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old September 23, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byzackaback August 13, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
Funny Movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bycopperzinc April 15, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byjohnmcclane April 13, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Paul Blart watch out, Rogen’s here to MURDER YOU

Ronnie Barnhart is a bi-polar mall cop, who has an alcoholic mother, has a crush on a designer store clerk (Farris), and goes above the law to get justice. Just when he thought nothing was ever go wrong, his mall is attacked by a flasher, and a person who he cares deeply about, gets sexually assaulted by him. Now it’s his time for him to bring the true hero out of him and save the day without the help from police In February (as we all know) the PG version of Mall Cop (Paul Blart) opened. 2 months later the version made for adults opens, and it was well worth the wait. Given the fact that I idolize Seth Rogen, and thinks he can do nothing wrong, I came to see this with high hopes and I got everything I expected. At first I wasn’t really opened to the concept of “An R Rated version of Paul Blart” but it really paid off. Seth Rogen fits his character perfectly. He’s a mean, lean fighting machine with a sense of heart inside. In one scene he almost made me cry, but a scene of comic relief came up after. The rest of the supporting cast such as Anna Farris, Ray Liotta (as the cop), and Michael Pena (As brilliant as he ever is) were also hysterically well casted. Ronnie spends most of his time being a bad role model. His tactics are violent and he plays sort of a younger version of Robert De Niro in Taxi Driver. He beats up skate borders, suspects an immigrant of stealing because of his race, drinks and takes drugs to help him medicate. These aren’t really positive messages for viewers of any age, but it’s a Dark R rated comedy. What could you expect from that? Observe and Report is a dark and surprisingly hilarious comedy that’s not made from the Apatow group. It’s raunchy, violent, offensive and off-putting at times but that’s Seth Rogen humor so if you don’t like it, then happily Adam Sandler is making a lot of movies for you. Rogen proves to us once again that he is the man and he could do absolutely nothing wrong. It’s a different role for him because he sort of plays a more darker and dramatic character than he normally does. When it was over I and a few of the audience members applauded, and it turns out after reading so many negative reviews, many seemed to like it. Beware if you aren’t looking to be offended, put down or just not into Rogen humor you’re better off seeing Monsters vs. Aliens instead. For fans you won’t be disappointed by this quirky and inventive dark comedy
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 11, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
i don't get your review commonsensemedia you say this is a dark disturbing film but it's not dark it's lighthearted and silly the violence really isn't that bad come on if you scene an action film in the last hundred years the violence won't bother you. the language may actually beat pulp fiction for most f words ever said onscreen especially the one scene with the indain dude plus the sex is mostly two sex scenes and the sequence at the end where the flasher is shown for like 90 seconds in slow motion which is disgusting
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing