All member reviews for Obsessed

Common Sense Media says

Fatal Attraction "lite" too risque for young teens.

Users say

(out of 27 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old October 26, 2009
This was a greatt movie. Not that much sexual stuff just a couple of seconds of kissing and touching.....
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Adult Written bywallaceson August 28, 2009
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byeastside01 May 30, 2009

You're obsession will be short.

Obsessed is a failed attempt to be as good as Fatal Attraction. The movie has a sort of die hard feel to it only being that the die hard character is Ali Larter that does crazy stuff such as drugging and rape that is not shown, etc. and they also "kill" the movie at the end and you'll see why.
Written byAnonymous November 28, 2014

Violent crime is too much for young kids but fine for teens

My rating:PG-13 for intense violence and action,disturbing images,brief strong language and sexual references
Adult Written byferry June 8, 2010

Perfect for older kids i.e. above 18

The importance of self control. The married man could have opted to sleep with the young sexy assistant but he was obligated to his wife and really wanted his marriage to work. Also parents watching with their kids should let them know that this is a movie but that in real life, murder should never be an option to solve differences
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great role models
Parent of a 7 year old Written by415 May 7, 2009
i say if it is appropriate for your age it is good it could really happen to someone and it is good (scary intence and a good movie).
Teen, 13 years old Written byTori Wright October 9, 2011

READ MY REVIEW(:

This Movie Was Great.. There was a couple scenes with some sexual content. Also there was some language used, and some Drinking. But Derek was a good role model by rejecting all of the sexual related offers.. And The Positive Message was.. ALWAYS TELL THE TRUTH!(: Hahh I Give This Movie an 8 out of 10 I think You should see it!(:
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpielberg00 June 9, 2011

Pretty bad acting, and extremely bad role models. Not for young viewers.

My rating: PG-13 [borderline with R] for sexual themes and plot material, frequent language, some alcohol use and a brief sequence of tense violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheSuperman765 April 16, 2011

i rate this title IFFY for ages 12+

What to watch out for * Messages: The film includes plenty of gender stereotyping. For instance, one man says that "single gals consider work their hunting grounds," implying that women are more interested in snagging a husband than succeeding profesionally. There's really no positive take-away to be found. * Role models: Poor role models include libidinous male executives who talk about their female coworkers' bodies and an office gossip who doesn't think twice about revealing personal information about his boss' life ... not to mention Lisa herself, who pursues Derek at all costs. On the plus side, Derek's character defies certain established Hollywood stereotypes by being an African-American executive who's loyal to his family. * Violence: Until the climactic fight scene (which is an all-out tussle with lots of pushing, hair grabbing, punching, and kicking), there's not much violence per se, but there's a lot of stalking and sexual harassment. * Sex: A married couple embraces and discusses "christening" their new house. Lisa flirts with Derek, showing some leg and bantering playfully. As she becomes obsessed, she aggressively throws herself at him, trying to unbuckle his pants and kiss him. On other occasions, she finds him and reveals that she's wearing nothing but lingerie, spikes his drink with a drug and climbs on top of him when he's nearly passed out, and enters his hotel room and gets naked under the covers (only her shoulders are visible) -- viewers see her kissing him, but the camera cuts away before it's clear what happens next. Derek's co-workers make several inappropriate references to Lisa (and his wife) about office "eye candy" and "piece of ass," etc. * Language: Language includes "s--t," "ass," "a--hole," "bi-ch," "oh my God," "godd--n," and the like. * Consumerism: Brands with prominent product placement include Mercedes Benz, Cadillac, Old Navy, and Bugaboo strollers, and Christian Louboutin's red-soled heels. * Drinking, drugs, & smoking: Adults drink, at times heavily, at an office Christmas party and various dinners. Lisa overdoses on prescription pills (appearing unconscious in bed) and also laces Derek's drink with an unknown drug.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written bybananalover March 13, 2011

AwEsOmE

this movie is awesome
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byfilmlover123 March 7, 2011

Not that great a movie, not that great for young kids

Only Violence in it is really at the end, one man is drugged and then raped, no nudity shown. A woman dresses suggestively. Profanity includes no f bombs, a couple s words, a**holes, b**ches, and damns
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byASSASSINator August 24, 2010

Another underrated movie

Obsessed is one of those underrated movies. It's actually pretty good. I give it a 7.9 out of 10. There's nothing really bad to watch out for in this movie. No offence but commonsense makes some things seem worse than they really are. It's not "too edgy for young Beyonce fans". Sure there are some swearing and a little violence (I've seen way worse than this) and some kissing here and there but it's not bad for kids 9 and up and not really under it. I'd recommend this movie.
Teen, 13 years old Written bysmexyme101 May 24, 2010

Greatest movie ever made! not for ages -12

I loved this movie. it was amazing, but it had scenes that were not appropriate for young children. lots of sex scenes and one part where a woman tried to have sex with a mmarried man in a bathroom stall. the story was suspenseful and easy to follow. the acting was fanominal. Beyonce was great. there was a fight that ended in a murder. there was alchol use in this movie too. it does not teach young children good examples. but beyonce is a major role model! i loved the movie, but it's not for children under 12.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old March 29, 2010

For Teens and Up

Very intense violence at the end (a very graphic catfight), tons of crime/evil, and a lot of bad language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bylatifh October 25, 2009

#1 fan

nice move
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written bymiamia123 September 19, 2009

best movie ever

best movie ever
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bydirecterdude123 August 17, 2009

Don't bother

wow, this movie was horrible! this movie will give you high blood pressure because the people make stupid choices and tward the end of the movie it got more comic then serious. The best part of this movie was the last 10 mins where they tried to make it intense but it was just funny. The only highlight is is that the man being stocked is very true to his wife and wants the best for her, I mean who wouldn't its Beyonce!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bySayWut August 17, 2009

I don't wanna give a review title, hoe

It's just about a insane chick who wants some guy who's married. If you've seen fatal attraction this will suck to you. But if not you may enjoy it.
Teen, 13 years old Written bysamples964 July 13, 2009

not inappropriate

i think this movie is not violent until the end and at my age 13 i already know what they are talking about and hear it all the time so it is no big deal.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educator Written bymiansmith May 5, 2009
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages