All member reviews for Parental Guidance

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Predictable family comedy isn't deserving of its stars.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 72 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew October 11, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Crass billy crystal comedy has typical jokes and mild profanity but laughs

My rating:PG-13 for crude humor,sexuality,nudity,drug use and language
Parent Written bygreenenerg.us July 22, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Unwatchable

The kids in this movie are the most annoying ever. Only time I've supported capital punishment. If I knew a mother like Marisa Tomei in real life, I would encourage her kids to run away from home. As always Billy Crystal makes an unbearable movie somewhat watchable if you have no other choice.
Kid, 12 years old July 15, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great

Grandfather gets hit A couple drinks on a vacation Pole dancing Kids get black eyes. (2)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old May 27, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Misleading.

This is only the fourth movie from Common Sense that I did not agree with. I love this movie, and it is very good. Billy Crystal from Monsters, Inc. did another great job of acting and all of the movie was very funny and cool. I think most families will enjoy this. I agree with the MPAA rating for this one.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old May 19, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Best movie ever

Very funny and very good messages
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byqq4123 April 30, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Not innapropriate, just an over-your-head type of movie...

This movie is probably the most wonderful and funny movie in the whole world! It is fantastic and definitely worth seeing. The thing that stinks is that the humor is geared towards ALL different ages. Some humor between the parents is pre-teen type, but the "doodie" song is for 6 and up. Amazing for Preteens, Teens, and Adults (11 and up), ok for Younger Kids that are mature (9 and up), but a NO for kids 6 and under.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old April 15, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Wonderful Family Movie!!!!!!!

This movie is great for your family to enjoy together, especially with your grandparents! I think that all ages would enjoy it. There is a great value and story to it, and I would highly recommend it! Enjoy watching this heart warming, family friendly movie. :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byPJ Sasso March 13, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

FUNNY STUFF!

The Movie was so funny, I was watching it every time! I kept laughing my head off in each scene! Facebook and Angry Birds was mentioned
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old February 20, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
LEARNING
Very funny movie. I love it, good for ages 6 and up Rating - 6.2/10
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old February 17, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byBlake_Slaughter January 20, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Another awesome comedy

Awesome family movie for all ages. Clean & funny. Family oriented.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old January 20, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

here come the grandparents there go the rules

good movie meant for any one mature
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old January 2, 2014
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

PG family movie

I think it a hilarious good family worth watching comedy that anyone would like and that it is 2 stars! OK TO BE WATCHED AS A FAMILY!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old December 29, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Laugh Out Loud Comedy

It's so hilarious!
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 5, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Awesome movie!

A positive message with funny lines a a great cast.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old November 4, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Very funny movie for the whole family to enjoy!

This movie is so funny! It's perfect for tweens and their family to see. Kids under the age of 9 might not understand some things, and there is some name calling and a 5-year old boy going to the place skateboards are ridden. Also, 2 adults are shown drinking wine, but nothing too bad.
Educator and Parent Written bypreceptor October 5, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Spot on ! ....

This movie truly reflects what is the clash between relationships of older grandparents and the values of young parents and society of today. Young parents need to realize that THEY would not have turned out 'ok' if their parents had not instilled values of 'survival life' in the first place. Consider incorporation of the values of Grandparents along with your current family values and your family life will be bountiful.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byFun1 August 16, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great Movie

This is a great movie for families. It has appropriate humor although some has a little bit of ride humor. It talks about how to keep a family together in a humorous way.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byjb223 August 5, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Not Very Good.

Lots of Humiliating Moments that are Painful to Watch. Billy Crystal deserves better than this.
Kid, 9 years old July 2, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Pretty good

It is a good movie not bad. But some rude humor.but perfect for kids to laugh.good family movie night!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages