All member reviews for Parenthood

Common Sense Media says

Poignant family dramedy with lots of adult themes.
 

Users say

(out of 12 reviews)
age 14+
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bydrummerchic312 November 1, 2010
 

good for teens and adults

Some sexual suggestions, teenage drinking and smoking.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old July 14, 2010
 

not fore kids

To much sexual behavior i am not joking funny but still.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 2 year old Written byashlew963 February 19, 2010
 

Didn't get past first 5 minutes...

I didn't get past the first 5 minutes because the usher says "GD" (taking God's name in vain)... Commonsensemedia.org mentions mild language but I disagree. Any movie that has that strong of a word shouldn't be described with "mild language".
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bywonder dove September 30, 2013
 

Funny! Not for kids!

I watched Parenthood when I was 13 and really enjoyed it (back then), now as a young adult it's still great but certainly not for kids that young! Funny? Yes, hilarious sometimes. But it's humor strictly for older teens and adults. It's the type of film you would be embarrassed to watch with your family! It's basically about the many struggles parents go through raising children, this film features three families who are related to one or the other. Main couple, Gil (Steve Martin) & his wife played by Mary Steenburgen are raising 3 children. One of them has some sort of severe social anxiety and does poorly in school. Gil's job doesn't help. Helen (Dianne Wiest) is a single mom raising her wild teen daughter (Martha Plimpton) and young son (Joaquin Phoenix) by herself. Her daughter always has her punk boyfriend (Keeanu Reeves) over and her son is always to himself. Then there's Susan (Harley Jane Kozak) and husband (Rick Moranis) raising their own young ones but have no clue where to start, their relationship soon deteriorates. The grumpy old father's other son comes to visit for only one reason (to borrow money from daddy) and complains about loan sharks harassing him for money he owes. Overall, It's very funny and definitely not boring. Language isn't frequent but words like sh*t, b*tch, sl*t is heard. Violence isn't bad, just mainly yelling and arguing, an office is vandalized, talk of a loan shark. Sexual content is fairly strong especially for a PG-13, we have a vibrator found by a child that embarrasses a woman, teen girl sneaks her boyfriend over in her room and mom says she heard moaning sounds all night, same teen couple take naked pictures of each other during sex (nothing shown) and her mom picks them up first by accident, some kissing, a young boy hides porn tapes in his room and mom finds out...she plays a tape to see what it is and we see a couple in bed with some moaning sounds, a teen boy is asked to talk to the young boy about his sexual feelings because he won't talk to anyone, a woman goes down on her husband as a joke while he's driving and they get in an accident, some talk about a single mom having sex with machinery, a few jokes here and there. There is some social drinking but not much. Okay for mature 15 and up (better suited for 17+ though).
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byParamoreFan09 May 8, 2010
 

Fine for 14? Cutting it kinda close, don't you think?

I was going to watch this with my family because common sense recommended it to me! Within the first half hour, we saw a well... a vibrator and we saw a teenage girl hiding her boyfriend who was wearing underwear under her bed from her mom and then they go to get pictures of them having sex from a photo developing place but the girls mother picked them up instead of her own by accident and saw them! Then the girl accuses her of "having sex with a machine" when her mom confronts her and EW!!! We were eating dinner-- i so lost my appetite after watching the first half hour-- it went OFF. we watched Ghost Busters 2 instead. BAD RECOMMENDATION, common sense! My parents are really disappointed. It wasn't even funny! Just a drama type thing for ADULTS. Fine for age 14? I'll be 14 in 4 months. It most certainly was not "fine" for me. My parents cant believe this was recommended for my age.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written bypamomof4 December 29, 2011
 

Keep all kids toddlers through teens away from this one.

Ok. I have four kids ages 12, 9, 6, and 3. I consider myself a fairly liberal parent when it comes to some of the things my kids watch for movies. My older two are good at distinguishing fantasy from reality, but this movie would definitely seem to be depicting reality for preteen and cause some confusion for them. Apparently my memory was faulty in remembering that this movie was a kid movie. I should know that nothing about real parenthood is G-rated, so why should the movie be rated as such. This is DEFINITELY not for kids unless you plan on explaining why that thing on TV is not a cup but actually a diaphragm and then following up your twelve year old when he asks what that has to do with having babies. Whenever I thought one scene was probably the worst one and it would get better from there, it only went more downhill. I would say this should be rated R and only be for adults. It promotes really bad teen behavior including teen pregnancy, drinking, smoking, and pornography to name a few. It could have been done with the same humor minus the sex and disrespectful behavior towards parents. I definitely give this a thumbs down for kids but rate it as fairly funny for adults.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 8 years old June 13, 2015
 

Funny comedy has lots of racy content, language, alcohol.

This comedy fallows Karen Buckman, Gil Buckman, Helen Buckman, Hellen Buckman, and Kevin Buckman. Gil and Karen are the mom and a dad. Gil wants to be the best dad in the world because his dad was terrible. His son Kevin has emotional problems and has to go to a special school, and there daughter is learning nasty jokes. This movie is all about life and parenthood. But this movie is extremely racy, expect porn, masturbation, racy toys, pictures of racy content, nudity, etc. A woman's son is caught watching porn with nudity, a girl accidentally plays with a racy toy, and a scene of implied oral racy content. Nudity including breasts, and bottoms, and Gil's baby son is show completely nude genitals, bottom, and feet are completely visible. There is also quite a lot of drinking and some characters are stoned. Language includes several uses of s--t 10 uses of f--k d--k b---h h--l d--n and more. Even if this movie is funny its still boring. My rating:R for language throughout, strong racy content/graphic nudity, and some alcohol and drug content.
Kid, 8 years old May 15, 2015
 

It was okay

I like the showing how 4 siblings take care of their child. Very funny.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byIjustwasted2hours November 14, 2011
 

OK

It is silly, but the sensual content is an issue. My father was in this movie, but it has some issues that are not good for kids but teach parents that parenthood really isnt easy
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byamandaluvsyooh June 17, 2010
 

It's more for teens

This movie was alright, and not TOO inapropriate, but it still was. Anyone under 10 honestly should not see it. I say 12+, probably even 13+. I didn't really enjoy this movie, though.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old June 1, 2010
 

Good movie with many sexual references.

The language is average for a PG-13 film (s--t, bulls--t, and a couple more) and the kids are disrespectful but there are many sexual things. At one point a boy in only underwear pops out and many sexual phrases are spoken, referencing taking pictures, groaning, and more. A mom uses a vibrator and her son has a porn collection (shown for a moment). Usually this won't bother me (and it doesn't) but for any viewers who don't know what porn--for example--is may go and ask tehir parents what it is or look at it themselves. If you know what you're about to watch it's fine
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
 

parent hood the movie

i dont think this is okay to show anyone under the age of 10 it's inaproprate and it sets a bad example if you are showing your kid this movie tell them before "Honey,this movie you are about to watch use your instinks and dont let this ever happen to you."