All member reviews for Paul Blart: Mall Cop

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Kevin James' slapstick comedy will amuse older tweens.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 134 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old January 4, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
i think it is an ok movie, but parents think twice about letting kids see it. there is lots of violence and language, and it should be PG-13. violence-mainly fistfights, but sometimes they use weapons, including guns, knives, and baseball bats. language-at least 9 cuss words, and lots of insults about paul. consumerism-rockband,victorias secret, and dunkin donuts d,d, & s-one scene where people drink alchohol
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bysuper movie reviewer January 2, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

good but pushing it for a PG movie

I saw this movie a couple months ago and i thought that it was pritty good. But all the vilonce, rude rumor, and language i thought was pushing it for a PG movie. There was tons of vilonce some of it involving guns and there was some language and rude humor.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old December 16, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Hiiiiiylarios

This a very funny movie. The thing where kids under 6 can't watch it is where Paul gets drunk.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old November 8, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

PG COMEDY PUSHES THE ENVELOPE AIMING TOWARDS A PG-13

Paul Blert has it all: vilonce,sex,language,consumerism,and drinking,drugs,and smoking. But some of it is less intense then others. sex is somewhat strong because there is lots of talk about relationships, Paul abousily has a crush on a lady in the mall, and a lady i shown in her bra. Language?????? Is age apprpreat for a PG (barley). Consumerism wow!!! there is so much of that!!! Sense it's in a mall they show lots of stores and games that are sold in stores in real life. That kind of stuff can target kids attention... especially younger ones. Lastly drinking smoking and drugs. There is a lot of drinking infact Paul drinks so much that he gets very VERY drunk. Besides all this it is a very funny camedy! Some of these things actually make it funny! Ow wait!!!! i almost forgot VILONCE! The vilonce in this movie is a little strong for a PG movie theres some shuting, lots of fighting and over the top vilonce. So in my apinion this should have been rated PG-13. But still great movie!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byChocolate Chip September 5, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Slapstick Comedy

This movie is kind of dumb, but at the same time it is funny and sweet.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 19, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Pretty Good and Very Funny

Pretty decent movie and very funny scenes even though it is a little bit violent... but not enough to block younger kids from watching! And I don't get the big deal with commercialism? Their is nothing wrong with the names of a couple of brands (Such as Victoria Secret) being in a movie. Overall, most kids will not even notice the tiny little details that "should make this movie PG-13". They'll just lkaugh at the funny parts. :) (like I did)
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old November 6, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

perfect for tweens

exterly funny movie with good role models like paul blart. watch out for cursing though
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

teens olny !

so we rated it iffy 10-13 because of kissing in the end and those sh and a words were on there violence ,guns by criminals makes it more stupid i watched it and thought it was too violent for preschoolers so if you have a preschooler don't let them watch it just wait till they're 10 years old.even the Rockband scene was bad because the song was by kiss so don't watch till your 10 or 11 years old maybe even 13 that's all i can tell you.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old November 28, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
The main character is so funny. He needs to find love. He is in love with this woman in this mall but there is another guy who is better than him, that likes her too. This is more of a tween movie. But good movie overall, also alcohol is shown in there and then the main character gets drunk.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old May 12, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A bit strong for a PG movie but still a great movie!

I was shocked when I saw this movie. It was a bit strong for PG. There is violence. Mostly shooting. There is some language too. Some drinking too. The main character gets drunk. There is a bit of sexy stuff. It's mostly a crush on woman. The main character and her kiss at the end of the movie. And there is a ton of consumerism since the movie takes place in a mall. Teens will enjoy this movie the most.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old January 16, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
mixes action and comedy without being stupid
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byTheUltimateDad December 27, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good Movie

I watched this and I loved it. Very funny comedy. Most people would like this movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byPS3fan January 28, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Funny movie for all ages!

This movie was hilarious! It was a good family comedy, and I didn't notice it, but it was a Die Hard spoof, and older kids amd adults will reckognize this. There was some violence, but mostly played for laughs, with very little blood. One character is shot, but not seen, and it is in the hand. There were some cuss words, but nothing too bad. There was one sex joke, which was "Do you do men? I mean, do you do hair on men?" This is brief and kids won't catch it. They'll laugh cause he messed up. It is like an inside joke for the parents and teens. There is some drinking, and Paul gets really drunk, but played for laughs. There is no sex or nudity, but one scene with a fat woman in a bra. Some reviews said it should be PG-13 or R, but there was one sex joke, little cussing, little violence and no tense moments. This a hilarious family comedy, so don't be put off by the reviews saying the graphic violence (which doesn't exist) scared a 17 year old out of the theater. This is a funny movie!
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byAuddrey. November 22, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Don't freak out. geez.

Wow. some people are immature. my 7 year old cousins love this movie:) sure it has violence, but it is hilarious. and it has "consumerism" but it's not a commercial. it is not pushing the envelople at PG-13. who even says that? well. let your 8 and 9 year olds see it(:
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 31, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

funny

why you say that movie it for 12 years old it post to be 10 years old because the kids could watch the zookepper when they 10 years old ok
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old August 15, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Paul Blart: Mall Cop

* Violence- Pause- Strong violence for a PG. * Sexy Stuff- On- Some flirting and some kissing. * Language- Pause- Strong language for a PG including rude language.* Drinking, Drugs, or Smoking- Pause- When Paul drank so much at a bar, he became drunk and they show people drinking alcohol. * The good stuff- * Positive Messages- 2 out of 5- The messages are all about heroism and the importance of doing one`s job well. * Positive Role Models- 2 out of 5- Paul`s daughter and Amy are good role models. This movie is really good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byMovieluver101 February 26, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Horrible

Horrible. Too much violence. Paul gets so thirsty drinking lemonade which turns out to Be a margarita. 13 would understand Not recommended for anyone under 15
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old March 14, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

LOVE IT!!!!

Haha i love this movie!! I watched it on a day when i wasn't feeling good and i forgot how bad i felt while watching this movie. My 8 year old brother who i think was 7 then watched it with me. (though i am surprised its not rated pg-13)
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bysummerluver March 20, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

One of the worst movies ever

I absolutely hate this movie. It is one or the worst that I have ever seen. I think I only laughed once. It is a stupid movie with no plot that's filled with fat jokes. It's idiotic don't waste your time
Parent of a 17 year old Written bylove2 September 26, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

good movie

this movie has lots of drinking, talking about relationships, and is very sacry in some parts. but it was still good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages