All member reviews for Paul Blart: Mall Cop

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Kevin James' slapstick comedy will amuse older tweens.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 137 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written bylulugiru August 24, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good Family movie

Love it
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old August 9, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

paul blaRt mall cop

good, but mpaa got one big thing wrong-the rating. it should be r. there are lots of images of guns, and one is used (shooting a guys arm) and paul beats the snot out of robbers and even blows one to bits, but all you see is like a bomb in a stove or something, then you hear "oh no" and there is a big explosion and you see a body flying through the air. on consumerism, its more of an ad than a movie, with dunkin donuts, victorias secret, rockband, ps3 and more. oh yeah the two biggest issues almost forgot-language and drinking. the drinking is really one scene where paul gets drunk, but the language incluades donkey, where the devil lives and the worst word you could call a piece of poo
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byPrototype79043 July 31, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

RATED PG

That means Parental Guidance might be necessary. This movie is age appropriate for any age.
Kid, 10 years old June 20, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
how is this movie not R? it has some of everything. on violence, people beat eachother up and sometimes try and shoot or stab eachother, and one guys arm is shot. one guy gets blown to bits offscreen. for language, h and a word are used about 5 times each plus like 20 insults. consumerim is huge-rockband, victorias secret, dunkin donuts, and a KISS song is played. drinking there is a little plus paul gets drunk. on messages paul is treated like a piece of dirt. and on role models, there are 4 good ones-paul, pauls boss, pauls daughter, and amy. so it shoul definetly be rated r.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byTeamCOCO1963 June 14, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

LOVE IT!

I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!! Totally recommend it. It's not SO violent. C'mon.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old May 24, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Pretty Funny

This movie is pretty funny. Lots of jokes for kids and adults as well, making this a good family movie. Expect comic violence, swearing that is strong for a PG, and a scene where Paul gets drunk and also a few scenes where it is implied that he got drunk again.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bySydIsBored April 11, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great Family Movie

The only scenes parents may be concerned about are when Paul gets completly drunk at the bar and the hostages at the mall with weapons (major part of the movie) however they don't ever shoot. On the positive side Paul Blart (beside getting drunk) is a good role model for risking his life to save the woman he loves and his daughter from the hostages.Over all an acceptable movie for kids.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bymatthewr April 3, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old February 14, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

ONE OF THE BEST MOVIIE OF 2009

this film is so funny i love I BELEVE IN MAGIC that was so funny
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bytommy18 January 23, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Hilarious

Its one of the first films i actually sat all the way through with. It just made me laugh my head off. One of the greatest films i have ever seen and is much better than any other comedy. When pauls sugar level goes down i was rolling on the floor. Enjoyable film.
Kid, 9 years old January 17, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

PG rating? no way

i think it is a good movie, but with lots of things that arent for kids. it might be for kids in the 10-12 area, but only if they are very mature bad role models-not many of the charachters are very good role models. d, d, & s-one part where people drink alcohol violence-lots of hand to hand combat, but weapons are used sometimes. one charachter is shot in the arm at the end, but no blood is seen. one gangster is blown up ofscreen. language-lots of language. cuss words or insults, this movie has it consumerism-rockband,dunkin donuts, victorias secret
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byjojobinx January 8, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
its a great movie
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old December 28, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Hillarious!

Calm down people! This movie is not bad for kids at all! There is a scene where Paul gets drunk, but it's all meant for laughs, and it will go over kid's heads. This movie is so hillarious but they gave away a lot of parts in the commercial. Watch this movie, and you'll love it and won't stop laughing.
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old December 21, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Luv it

ha ha HA!!!but dude gets drunk and does wierd stuff
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old December 8, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

boring for older kids

i didnt like this movie at all. better for littler kids O.o
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old November 29, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

great mix between action and comedy.

a good comedy, but not perfect. i didnt really know what to select so i just did off for 8. therenis a couple of shooting parts, and gangsters are beaten up, and a man is shot in the end. there is alot of language, including insults. there is a ton of consumiresem too (dunkin donuts, rockband, victorias secret) people drink beer once. people are really mean to paul, wich i think is bad messages.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old November 26, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Some parts were really funny,but somehow I don't like it. NOT for 8 year olds if your smart!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old November 8, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

PG COMEDY PUSHES THE ENVELOPE AIMING TOWARDS A PG-13

Paul Blert has it all: vilonce,sex,language,consumerism,and drinking,drugs,and smoking. But some of it is less intense then others. sex is somewhat strong because there is lots of talk about relationships, Paul abousily has a crush on a lady in the mall, and a lady i shown in her bra. Language?????? Is age apprpreat for a PG (barley). Consumerism wow!!! there is so much of that!!! Sense it's in a mall they show lots of stores and games that are sold in stores in real life. That kind of stuff can target kids attention... especially younger ones. Lastly drinking smoking and drugs. There is a lot of drinking infact Paul drinks so much that he gets very VERY drunk. Besides all this it is a very funny camedy! Some of these things actually make it funny! Ow wait!!!! i almost forgot VILONCE! The vilonce in this movie is a little strong for a PG movie theres some shuting, lots of fighting and over the top vilonce. So in my apinion this should have been rated PG-13. But still great movie!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written by4Spice October 24, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

good for family 9 and up

veryyyyy funny for family worth watching 9 and up
Kid, 12 years old October 16, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Awesome for kids!

Some violence, not bad. Some swearing, some drinking
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages

Pages