All member reviews for Pee-Wee's Big Adventure

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 12 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great, Bizarre, and Hilarious!

Pee Wee's Big Adventure is a hilarious film, and it's worth noting that this is Tim Burton's first movie, and it's a great start for a great director. It's approrpiate for kids about 5 or older, although the scenes with the creepy clowns and Large Marge may be a bit too creepy. Pee Wee says 'crappy' and 'burn in hell' is sang in a song. Good for kids 5 or 6+
Kid, 12 years old June 24, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Loved this movie. I've watched it like five times. His awesome humor is so stinking cool!!! Love it!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

i loved it

sweet and charming thats all i have to say
Kid, 12 years old June 20, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

5 stars!

I just love this movie! It's totally safe and innocent and Paul Reubens (Pee Wee) is a hilarious classic character. It's perfect for the whole family.
Kid, 11 years old August 15, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written bywillbarchi April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

woo! Cult Classic!

oooh, what a great movie. The breakfast machine and large marge are all classic scenes. Some parts are questionable... Pee-wee can be bratty and crazy at times (mainly around Francis) and there is abit of mild language...(pee-wee says crappy, hell is used aswell as some violent language used by the bikers...) and some scary scenes (large marge always freaks me out and those clowns are creepy!) Overall, a hilarious movie for everyone to enjoy
Teen, 13 years old Written byJustino4 April 25, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Not Bad At All

Pee-wee says "crap". That is it for language. The only thing even a little bit bad is that at one point in the movie, Pee-wee says he's a "rebel" which brings up gangs and so forth. Other than those elements, the movie is not bad at all.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old September 29, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
After i watched this movie, i LOVED Pee-Wee. He is the best role model, but the h word in the song should have been edited to "heck". Violence is more audible. Warner Bros. Studios appears (as in Looney Toons: Back in Action). This is a good review except its appropriate for 7 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byBlue-Bunny April 13, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Super funny!

If there was anyone weirder and wackier than Peewee Herman I would be very well surprised. I never really thought much about Peewee before, but after this movie I do. He is now one of my favorite children's television icons. The movie itself is highly entertaining and comedic. I found the part where Peewee was trying escape on his bicycle laugh-out-loud funny. Where the Santa Clause and Godzilla are being dragged on the sleigh. The movie is moderately child-friendly. There is a kissing scene in Peewee's movie, he also says "crappy", and "burn in hell" sung over and over again in one part, but it isn't that bad compared to other movie's I've seen before. It may not be a classic, but it is for me.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old September 9, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

News Flash: The Rebel Gets Famous!

Great movie. Pee-wee and his bike star in their own movie. Pee- where's neighbor, Francis, yells some language at him and steals his bike. There is one gun point by a criminal Pee-Wee is sitting next to in a car. That car falls off a cliff, and Pee-Wee is left in the middle of nowhere. In the movie, Warner Bros. Studios is involved because they have his bike. He takes it, flees, and rescues pets from a fire in a pet shop. In the end, Warner Bros. makes his adventure in to a action movie with famous actors and actresses. In the beginning, they fight a gang of ninjas. They show it at Pee- Wee's favorite drive-in. His breakfast machine is pretty cool, too. My name is bookiereviewer42.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bychargnar February 5, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

So Good

This is one of my personal favorites, but some people may find Pee Wee very annoying
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old March 11, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

THIS IS MY FAVORITE MOVIE EVER!!!