All member reviews for Pineapple Express

Common Sense Media says

Violent stoner comedy is funny, but NOT for kids.

Users say

(out of 75 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Adult Written bylouisa1 February 24, 2015

stoner flick is definatly not for kids!

this is one of the most grown up movies i have ever seen, it has constant drug use, (the whole film is based on drugs.) a lot of violence (a man is shot severeal times in the stomach, a man is hit by a car, a part of a man ear is shot off (gore), a woman is shot severeal times then a car crushes her, there is one scene where there is a freqeunt use of violence (kicking, punching, hair pulling etc, another man is shot severeal times, and at the end a two men are fighting (punches gun shots etc) followed by an explosion) the swearing includes (f**k, co** d**k etc) i don't know what else to say except, it's funny and if your an adult i hope you enjow
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byStanford0114 December 11, 2014
Hilarious, great cast, not that inappropriate. Just as violent as any PG-13 action movie.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byxoxojillianxo October 20, 2012

eeue

yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byMultimedia Expert October 11, 2013

Hilarious movie is fine for most teens.

Content: Off for ages: 1-12 Pause for ages: 13-14 On for ages: 15 and up Positive Message: 0/5: Characters are consumed by drugs Positive Role Model: 0/5: No one here is someone that you would want your kid to be. Violence: 4/5: Strong violence towards the end of the movie. Beatings, guns, knives, explosion, and torture. Sex: 2/5: Kissing, occasional explicit sex talk. Language: 5/5: Constant and inventive. Words used: F**k, s**t, a*s, b**ls, c*ck, d**k, pu**y, va***a, pr**k, ti**ies, b***h, and more. Consumerism: 2/5: Some brands discussed and seen on screen. Drinking, Drugs and Smoking: 5/5: Constant drug use. Some wine and beer drinking. Quality: This film is quite hilarious front to back. If you're not easily shocked by violence, language or drugs, then check this one out.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bynic1992 June 27, 2010
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written bySacko November 11, 2012

Way too gory

Pineapple Express is a funny radically unusual cult gory comedy. It futures gory napalms which are way too gory. I don't really recommend this movie for kids.
Teen, 14 years old Written bybranman894 July 18, 2013

Pineapple Express is Funny

Pineapple Express is a movie that you want to see to kill time. But it is also good for showing friends and really just having a good time. Everyone does a good job in there roles the script is funny and that is really all it needed to be.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byhomealonefan123 November 17, 2012

thank god for this movie

one of the bestest comedies ever made.
Adult Written byJohnD 2 December 31, 2014

Pineapple Express: 15 year olds perspective

Wow, such an awesome movie! Probably my favorite. Heavy on the F bomb with a count of 175, and being a Christian there are two offensive religious profanities. I personally had the choice of unrated or theatrical and I watched the theatrical. From watching the theatrical if the unrated is much worse, I imagine it could be NC-17. The movie was pretty friggin bad, I am not gonna lie on that, it basically didn't have a message besides not being a stoner. There is chatter about "being inside someone" "penis sucking" "handjobs" and a small scene of what wasn't, but looked like they were dry humping. It may be a little on the inappropriate side, but it is so funny! If you have seen Lone Survivor you know how many F bombs is said in the movie, but Pineapple Express says it 14 more times. It's not very violent, but the last scene may be violent to some. There is also a scene of what seemed to be late aged middle schoolers to early aged high schoolers smoking pot. Some people were complaining about how Dale, Saul, and Red are high the whole movie, ARE YOU DUMB OR STUPID?? The movie is called Pineapple Express which means weed. They could have just named it "Weed" to keep the complainers away. Great movie, super hilarious, for mature 14 year old or anything but an immature 15 year old. If younger than that make sure they are not parrots, you don't want them running around saying "F*ck the Po-lice"
Teen, 16 years old Written byj-dog123 June 11, 2015
Kid, 11 years old January 2, 2013

Awesome!

James Franco plays a drug dealer.F**k is announced frequently.It has some graphic violence.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written by69 awesome April 24, 2013

hilarious

it was a hilarious comedy. A lot of language but a great violent movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bykipwalker44 October 22, 2014

Ride the express

Hilarious stoner comedy is recommended for ages 16 and older, due to excessive drug use and swearing. Suggested MPAA Rating: R for pervasive drug use and language, violence and sexual references.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byNvG Nick January 22, 2016

Pineapple Express Review

Funny, but not as good as The Interview or This is the End. Seth Rogen and James Franco has some really funny scenes together, and the film is definitely worth while if your a fan of Seth Rogen.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byRawrImATaco June 18, 2010
It's a funny movie. :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 17 year old Written byEazygoin420 February 12, 2011

great show but drugs are (not) bad

lotta drugs lotta fun i love this show seen it atleast 100 times lmao
What other families should know
Great role models
Parent of a 17 year old Written byO-BUBE March 19, 2010
it was a good movie for adults i wouldnt let my teenagers watch it because of the drug abuse and the sex in it but it was a very funny movie it had alot of good adult humor and it is a good movie for a parents night out i liked it alot it was pretty stupid byut in a good way it was so stupid it was funny
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bymannymateo10isback January 24, 2011

pretty stupid

too much f-words and s-words it says it 100 times and too many smoking, drugs in it too, and also too violent btw i didnt really liked it that much, it came out to be somewhat sometimes funny though.. i would not show this to kids, but only teens 13-17 even adults also, cause its kinda best for teens to watch to as long as they are mature enough
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bypeanutbuttergurl6 November 20, 2009

one of my fav. movies

this movie is so kewl. ignore the drugs, the fights, and language and its an awesome movie. but you can't! casue those things are what make this movie great and i loved it! me AND my mom watched this together. although my grandma didn't approve (old people come on!)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byeazy__breezy January 1, 2015

If you don't have a problem with language...

Pineapple express is a good comedy film, but it swears almost 300 times, 175 times those swears are f-words. If you don't have a problem with swearing, mature 12 year olds and up can handle this. But if you do, I would not recommend this for anyone under 16. Its full of illegal drug use, one of the characters has an underage girlfriend, 2 characters are stoned at many points in the movie...
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages