All member reviews for Pinocchio

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 25 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written by96grlpowrCE June 12, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

I have to say, this is not one of Disney's best movies.

I understand this movie's considered to be a Disney classic, but I didn't like it as a child and I still don't see what's so great about it now. I found the songs to be unmemorable (and with Disney, the music can really make or break the movie), and it was not only boring but a bit dark, too. If you want to see a great movie about Pinocchio, I would reccomend the stopmotion special Pinocchio's Christmas (it's not Disney, it's Rankin-Bass).
Kid, 12 years old May 31, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The greatest film of all time

This is the most influencial film in the disney canon. It has lots of tough situations to conquer. It is like knowing from right to wrong. This is a very great film. I highly recommeded it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byErin.rae July 19, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

i love pinocchio, but there should be a pinocchio played by a girl to see if a girl can establish playing a wooden puppet

why put smoking and drinking in a childrens movie???? its pathetic
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byMariodude23 May 14, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Like most early Disney flicks; it's not for the younger crowd.

While it is nice for kids to have the message of obey your parents, and to have a hero as helpless and easily manipulated as them, it is not for them. Disney movies of this era (the 'Golden Age') were not made as kid's movies or even family films they were movies! And they were d**n good ones at that! People below me said that the use of the word jackass is inappropriate. People; please understand that, the word jackass is another word for a donkey (as is just plain "ass'). They say that underage smoking and drinking is encouraged; it is frowned upon. In fact; it's what turns Pinocchio and all of the other boys into asses! Roger Ebert himself stated "that is the reason why I have never smoked a cigar!" But I agree that it is too mature and dark for little children, but if you're older you will enjoy it, and be delightfully scared by it!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bydisneylove April 28, 2015
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Teaches powerful lessons, darker film.

Looking back at this movie from your childhood may bring up more than just nostalgia. The themes in Pinocchio are somewhat terrifying for smaller children. But they are very effective. It teaches kids that there are consequences for your actions, either good or bad. It also teaches not to get involved with strangers and bad associates. The most important lesson in this film is to listen to your conscience and do what you know is right. Visuals are nice, the song "When You Wish Upon a Star" is lovely. There is some period language, drinking, and smoking, however, in the scene where the naughty boys transform into donkeys. This is addressed appropriately and the children are punished for their bad choices. Overall, this movie has its happy family moments, but it also has its darkness as well. 3.4/5
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old June 5, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Disturbing Tale About Donkey Slavery

Pinocchio is pretty bad. Boys drink beer,play pool, and smoke. The words jackass is used.Boys turn into donkeys and are sold to circuses and salt mines. This deeply disturbed me, since I have a kind heart. In one seen, it apears that pinocchio has died. Red Lobster is shown in one seen.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byhugeonepiecefan1 July 13, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Not cussing?

Here is the thing. For those of you who think that they are using jackass as profanity, you are right and wrong. A jackass was a 1940's term for donkey but they way the guy said it you'd think he was swearing but the way pinnochio said it he meant it as the fact that he had a donkey head
Teen, 15 years old Written bylunacat May 26, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great Classic :)

Pinocchio is a great movie because it shows reality. Old cartoons are soooooooooo much better because they don't sugarcoat everything! This movie shows a positive message; it tells you to be honest and listen to what your parents say because they are way smarter than you.There isn't any violence exept for "Mr. Honest" being hit by a mallet. There isn't any consumerism either.The red lobster hotel does not count because the red lobster restraunt didn't even exist in 1940 when this movie was made.They do show drinking and smoking though. I'm only saying this movie is for ages 7 and up because a kid who is any younger would forget all about this movie when they get older, and have trouble paying attention. Pinocchio is only educational if i has a message, right?
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byDominicboo1 May 10, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great, And That's No Lie

A kindly old woodcarver named Gepetto wants to be a father, and carves a puppet out of wood whom he names Pinocchio. The Blue Fairy brings his creation to life, and gives him a conscious (the charming and iconic Jiminy Cricket). Pinocchio does get into trouble (conned, lied to, and kidnapped)but he's not a bad kid. He's just an average kid, innocent but does misbehave, and is naturally trusting and naive. This was Disney's Second Animated Feature after Snow White , and as was once criticized as having no dwarfs, but it's so marvelous in it's one right. Other than scenes of smoking and drinking that show the consequenes, some scenes are a little scary. Children turning to donkeys, and Monstro the whale may frighten little ones, but I wasn't afraid. The songs are probably the best of the Walt era, the characters are great, and the world is very enchanting.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bywho3697cares November 8, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Quite possibly the darkest of all Disney movies. While some may dissaprove of more adult content, I think that it is much safer for kids than The Incredibles.
Teen, 13 years old Written byIsaac T February 20, 2015
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Dramatic fairy tale worthy of 3 stars.

This movie is a lot of fun, but it also has its moments. Pinocchio is often in peril, at the hands of Stromboli, a whale, a hellish island, and more. The reason I marked it for language is for the word "jack-ass," spoken twice. Also some occasional derogatory language.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byPeardonville November 14, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bySees Little March 15, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

What do I look like? A @#$%&##?

This is a good movie, and one of Disney's best, but it is a little more inappropriate than you'd expect. First, there's lot's of creepy moments like when Pinocchio gets locked up in a cage, or the very well animated Monstro the Whale. But most of the inappropriateness is in pleasure island, which is a supposed "paradise" for boys. They smoke and drink alcohol. Not to mention Jiminy Cricket and one of the boys swear. (Hence the title.) Also the coachman who runs pleasure could scare anyone and when the boys turn into donkeys, it's really creepy. hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhdjksfhjdfhjkfghdfggdfdfdfgfhuifcmginjhhhhffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffhellogfjgjkgfnjgfjjfhgjkgjkjlhjkdhjkhdjkhdfjkfhjkfghjfgjkdfhfjjghthis is a long comment..............................................................................dsuidfgdsfihjgjhgkhfghghhghhhhhhhhdddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddthat's a lot of ds)))))))))))))))))))))))))))000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000--------------------------------==================================++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++-+-++---+-+-+-++*++**+*+*+***+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+ Longest Pinocchio comment.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byTommyhead September 18, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Ages of 4-14

Phinnocio is one of the most educational kiddies movie
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 4, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Pretty Good

There are some mentions of the word jackass and some mildly scary scenes but nothing a 6 or 7 year old can't handle.But overall this movie teaches about honesty and Jimmeny Cricket is a good influence on young children
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old April 16, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Pinocchio

Three uses of the word Jackass- as a joke towards that the children become donkeys.
Teen, 16 years old Written byBestPicture1996 November 2, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Almost perfect animation

Start your kids childhood off right by showing them this beautiful little classic untouched by time! The music is lovely, the voice animation solid, and of course it's a visual masterpiece, what with giant whales, crickets and blue fairies making appearances! I think people forget how wonderfully original this movie was, and I'm sure the next generation of children will love it as much as we have!
Teen, 15 years old Written byLionking595 July 24, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Walt Disney's Pinocchio by Lionking595

This is a great family video, though the following things should be talked about between parents and young children: guns firing, cigar smoking and beer drinking, and Stromboli cursing in Italian when he gets mad.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byOfficial Critic June 2, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Great Movie - with some action

Fantastic animation. Not very violent, but with some intense action and scary scenes. No bloody or gory scenes.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana April 8, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
when i was a kid this movie kinda scared me.i didn't like it then and is still don't now.even when i was younger the movie just didn't interest me

Pages