All member reviews for Piranha 3D

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Extreme gore, sex, teen drinking in fishy remake.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 63 reviews)
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bycandyx. May 3, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written byfilmbuffer December 12, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
This film is bathed in gore, sex, drugs, you name it. Graphic images of people being torn to shreds by piranhas, heavy sex, etc. Do not take your kids unless you think they can handle it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bygoodperson4 November 16, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
I was going to see it, but after i read this review, I changed my mind. I mean, this review talks about a penis floating in the water. Give me a break. Should be NC-17.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byB-KMastah February 3, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Offensive on Every Level.

This is by far the worst movie in existence. It's terrible enough that the movie isn't scary at all, but it gets worse. Crude, nauseating, and offensive on every single level. Drug use, disgusting violence, and extreme sexual content, which treats women as "sluts" and there are no consequences for the underage drinking or cocaine use. By the time anything happens that could even be said to be decent happens, I was already too furious to be entertained in any way. This is the kind of movie you show to a murderer while he waits for execution for his torture. I would of rated this NC-17 for extreme graphic horror violence, strong sexual content, graphic nudity, brief drug use, and language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bySynchronicity August 20, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
At first glance, Piranha 3D looks just like another by-the-book horror film about killer fish run amok. But it's much more than that. While it does have every genre convention known to man (gratuitous nudity, gratuitous gore, gratuitously bad dialogue), it does it all so well that it comes off as both a bit of a parody and a rollicking good time. If you don't think this is anything other than a "so bad it's good" flick, keep in mind that the original Piranha was done by the notorious Joe Dante. The thin plot involves a police team who discovers that a large group of piranhas has bred in their county's lake, and their preferred food is human flesh. Problem is, it's spring break, and the lake is a hot destination for high schoolers and college students. Wow. Totally didn't expect that, right? Then the sheriff's son betrays his job babysitting his kid siblings and, along with his childhood friend, gets suckered into the world of Girls Gone Wild-type filmmaking. Not to mention, there's also lots of partying going on in the lake, including a wet t-shirt contest. But once the killer piranhas find some new food, they'll never let go, now, will they? So, expect lots of cheesy B-movie goodness in what might be this summer's final hit. Provided you're 16 or over, that is. Violence is extremely rampant and relentless, as the piranhas bite every unsuspecting tourist in sight in an extended sequence. Red water? It's in there. Shots of piranhas biting flesh? You got it. Shots of piranhas biting detailed depictions of severed organs (one of which I definitely shouldn't mention)? Uh-huh. An aftermath sequence featuring all sorts of mangled bodies? That, too. It's all in there, all done in pretty bad CGI. The 3D is by no means Avatar-level, but it's good enough that the little ones might be scared by all the gore. But there are some other scenes in 3D that will no doubt be of concern to parents, namely the nudity...of which there is a L-O-T. When famous actors of "a certain nature" such as Ashlynn Brooke and Riley Steele appear as guests, you know clothes will rarely be on. And the second fourth of the movie is pretty much a bunch of moving Playboy centerfolds. College-aged girls take off their tops. One topless woman skydives. A wet T-shirt contest occurs (and is led by Eli Roth, of Inglourious Basterds and Hostel fame). Lots of strong sex references are exchanged. But the strongest moment of nudity involves Riley Steele and British actress Kelly Brook embracing each other, fully nude, while swimming underwater. This lasts for about a minute as the director films this from their glass-bottomed boat. Language is raw, with many f-bombs and uses of "sh*t", but almost all of the obscenities are uttered during stress. Drug use includes a brief shot of the director snorting some cocaine, as well as a crude game sequence involving tequila. There's also quite a bit of underage drinking and subsequent vomiting. Overall, this is one film that should be reserved for older teens, but if you're looking for some cheesy and genuinely scary horror, look no further. Oh, and get out of the water when the cops tell you to. Seriously, why doesn't anyone do that?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bycakesizgood February 8, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

hate this movie

all i have to say is...i hate it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 8 years old February 6, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

good for adults

so inepropret you even see apenis in the water
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old December 11, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Never, ever, EVER take your kids to see this.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byNuno17xD August 28, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Stupid Teen movie ...

LoL - "PENISES FLOATING THROUGH THE WATER" ... This Movie is sick ... Stupid teen movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of an infant, infant, infant, 1, 2, 2, 3, 4, 4, 5, 5, 6, 7, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 11, 11, 12, 13, 13, 14, 15, 15, 15, 16, 17, and 18 year old Written bynicoleandmeatwadss February 10, 2015
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

good

its good but for ages 17+
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byeazy__breezy July 25, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Should be rated X

Not for kids. Fully naked women are shown and over the top blood and gore. Severed penises too. What kind of sicko would write this trash. Its no better then a porno
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old June 8, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Yucky

Includes many uses of f**k and s**t and Riley Steele is seen fully nude, and a character's penis is ripped off by the fish. (OH GOD!) Two fully nude women go underwater and kiss. Many characters die. NOT FOR KIDS!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byDreamy-Pheonix April 24, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Boring

Avoid at all costs
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old February 7, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I never bothered to watch this...

A character's penis being ripped off? EW!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old December 15, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Cool movie

Not bad it has great effects I have it in 3D
Kid, 11 years old October 6, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

BLOOD

Lots of blood and gore but I handled it fine!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byGagafan1352 April 3, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

AMAZING!

As a lover of horror movies, I ADORE this movie! Yes, it is very gory and yes, it does have it's sexuality, but still. You need to think of how brilliant of a movie this is. I would have to say mid-aged teens could take the sex and violence in this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byZoemily January 24, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Hilariously Disturbing

You might want to be careful with this one. Don't eat while watching this. I'm talking blood. Body parts. Floating penises. And much more. There are NO LIMITS to this violence. I really suggest very mature people watch this, who are used to crazy horror movies, because let's just say they don't hold back on the nudity or gore. At all. This is probably the worst thing you'll ever watch.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bychristian2011 November 7, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Piranha 3D. Suprisingly good remark of the older version.

Piranha 3D is an alright-made remark from the old 1970's version. At first I thought it was going to be bad when I saw it, but suprisingly, it had some new themes to it which made it a fairly enjoyable old-fashioned horror movie with shockingly good special effects. Violence is definitely a issue for this movie, because, it's about large prehistoric piranhas whom attack crowds partying near the ocean, and it's chopped full of graphic and very gruesome bloodshed filled with blood and gore. It's filled with strong and constant language (uses of f**k and sh*t), drug use; people are seen high and snorting multiple drugs such as cocaine graphically; and the sexual content is also very explicit. There's a scene where two fully nude women swin together and you clearly see their genitals, breasts and buttocks; and some other very strong scenes of sexuality and crude dialogue. Regardless, this is a movie NOT intended for children under 17 at all because of the extreme violent and sexual content displayed in this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byGSP October 5, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Thrilling horror comedy contains tons of gore and nudity.

In my opinion, this is my most favorite movie in the horror genre. I would recommend it for others who enjoy a thrilling movie. However, this film contains tons of gruesome sequences and lots of nudity. So it would best suit teens about 16 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages