All member reviews for Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Rip-roaring fun for kids who don't mind skeletons.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 195 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 8 years old January 10, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

GOOD MOVIE

I think it is not to scary. And there is a good pirates and bad. I am going to my dads house in 2 or 3 days and he said that me and him are going to see it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old November 30, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

my favorite movie.

great movie, easy to understand and a ton of action. it has violence too, though. lots of charachters get killed, and one part with blood. a few swordfights. some images are scary, like a fork sticking out of one crew members glass eye, and skeleton people. there is a few h-words. jack sparrow drinks rum at one part. pirates are treated badly by the navy, and the boss of the navy wont do a good battle plan, because jack sparrow told it to him. will is a good role model, but some of the other charachters are evil, and the navy hates pirates for no reason.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written by9001 November 13, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Awesome movie! 13+.

Great movie, but is very violent and a little scary. Ages 13+.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old September 30, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

not pg-13

Very good movie i dont know y it is rated pg-13 I think it is appropriate for younger children but not to young
Kid, 11 years old August 13, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

ONE OF MY FAVORITE MOVIES!!!!!!!

I love this movie!! I didn't find it scary at all!! My little brother saw it when he was 8 years old, and didn't have nihtmares or anything!!! Johnny Depp rocked in this movie!! He is soo awesome! I would reccomend this movie to anyone!! This movie was really funny, and it had tons of action!! I would give this movie an A+++++!
Kid, 12 years old August 7, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

just rum

lots of rum ut times are changing this wud be appropriate for eight year olds in my eyes. they dont even show blood... its ment 4 kidz
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byHarryPotter_fan July 17, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Even though it's violent, it's a must see!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bymiddleschoolman June 29, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Pretty good movie just is a tad bit languagy and has some "scences"
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old June 12, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Wow!

Wow! I love that movie! Better than Dead Mans Chest! I like it and will watch it again!
Kid, 11 years old May 24, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Good Movie!

SO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6 year old Written byarbee castillo May 12, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
pirates of the caribbean fits for any age...its d best movie ive ever been watched..johny depp was great..i cant wait for the part 4..
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byZachc1126 March 20, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written bydzony February 22, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

laughed

ffsdfsdfsdfsddsfsdfsd fsfsd dsfds fsdf sf sdf dsfdf f df df df d dfdsfsdfsdfsfs sdsdfsdfdssdf
Kid, 12 years old January 4, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

I loved this movie

Its the best one in the series in my opinion.
Kid, 8 years old January 2, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

too violent for younger kids

Pirates of the caribbean is a movie that is probably too scary and violent for younger kids. Starting at 6 years old you should be able to see it.
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A MUST SEE MOVIE THE WHOLE FAMILY WILL ENJOY!

It may be a little scary for children under 7, but my brother was 6 when he saw it and he loves it!!! If you love the ride at Disneyland you'll LOVE this movie. Its quite funny and the cast and crew did a great job on it!
Teen, 14 years old Written bydmac April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great movie, I loved it

Teen, 14 years old Written bydogbone April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I looooved this movie! Johnny Depp (Captain Jack Sparrow) made the movie.

This was a great movie about a woman who is kidnapped by pirates. The man she is in love with teams up with Captain Jack Sparrow, a hilarious pirate captain who people have been trying to catch for years, and goes of to rescue her. But they realize that a mistake has been made and that the pirates think she will undo the curse that has been on them for years, and Captain Jack Sparrow and Jack must find a way to undo it if they wish to destroy the pirates of the black pearl for good...
Teen, 14 years old Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A great movie! I loved how every moment of the movie was compelling.

This was definitely a must see movie. The actors and actresses really portrayed their characters well. I loved the plot of this movie, although some parts were a little hard to understand. My favorite character was Captain Jack Sparrow, played by Johnny Depp. He was very witty, funny and entertaining. I highly recommend this movie to both children and adults, so go see it if you haven't already.

Pages