All member reviews for Ponyo

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 74 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old August 1, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Ponyo

WORST MOVIE EVER.
Teen, 13 years old Written bytricianguyenn February 8, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Stupid movie.

Even though a lot of children might like it this is not the movie for me. I hate it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byBlue-Bunny September 10, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Adorable anime from the mind of Miyazaki...

Although not quite as great as My Neighbor Totoro or Spirited Away, Miyazaki still delivered a promising movie. Ponyo was cute and charming, the animation was brilliant (as usual), and the visual effects were stunning! The violence is quite tame. There is some romance between Ponyo and Sosuke. I still don't get why a five-year-old had to make a love promise, though. Other than that, it was a nice movie.
Kid, 8 years old August 23, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Perfect for 5+

I LOVE hayao mizaki (I problably spelled it wrong) I love all his movies?? he is the best! Some of his other movies are: Princess Mononoke, My Neighbor Totoro (my favorite movie ever) and, Ponyo. ;D
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old August 18, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

hard to understand

I absolutely loved it! Ponyo is sooooooooo cute The only problems were that it's really psychological and you sorta have to be japanese to understand it. (I'm part japanese)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written by♥kittykinz♥ August 12, 2009
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
I'm always going and seeing little kid movies with my sisters and I can tell I'll definitely be going to see this one.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byRaeBae2000 June 16, 2014
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Charming and adorable!(:

Teen, 14 years old Written bylaurensb July 1, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Not Just For Little Kids

I just watched this movie with my little sister today. We both loved it, and I'm 14! It was really cute, and I love Miyazaki's movies. Studio Ghibli's artwork and animation is beautiful and amazing. Even if you think you're too old for it, go see it anyway, you won't be disappointed.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old June 30, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

The Best Movie I Have Ever Seen!!!

This Movie is My Fav Movie Ever!!! It Made Me Love Anime Now I Watch Fruits Basket, Toradora and Other Animes all Because of This Movie and I Watched When I Was 6 and Became an Instant Miyazaki Fan. I Really Love This Movie
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old June 23, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Ponyo, young and old

A great movie! Mostly for younger kids but your older ids can still watch it, and I don't now how they couldn't love it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bydirectioner23 January 13, 2013
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Adorable! Beautiful animation!

Kid, 12 years old August 31, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Totally Amazing

I am a huge fan of Studio Ghibli's films. The animation is fantastic and the plot is very cute. I don't know why people are having a cow over the breastfeeding line though, because THATS WHAT THEY'RE FOR! It's better for kids to learn here instead of school, right? Anyways, yeah I love all of Mizayaki's works and this is definatley a good movie.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheYoungSnob August 11, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Not bad, but Overrated.

Firstly, let me get one thing clear: this wasn't a bad film. I actually think it's a good opportunity for family members to come together and watch a friendly film with the kids. It's cute and strange, definitely visually breathtaking. These are all very good things that keep kids enlightened and entertained! But for the most part, Ponyo is simply a story about a little fish girl who falls in love with a human boy, and they spend the entire movie acting cute while the world ends. There are two points I need to address here, one being: the storyline is just fine for kids, but for adults, it could get boring. I mean, all it really is is this adorable, five-year-old love story which, to be honest with you, isn't overwhelming. But what about the world ending, you ask, isn't that overwhelming? That is what I am going to address in my second point. The whole issue with the world ending, I think that was just Hayao Miyazaki's attempt to throw some massive adventure in there, and to tell you the truth, I think he COULD have done better. The end of the world, as we all now, is a major deal. However, the people in the movie treat it as a minor inconvenience, as if they hadn't just lost all their homes and possessions. Also, nobody even questions why all this is happening, or why there are frightening, ancient fish underwater. They simply go along with it, which I gotta say is the very thing that makes this movie underwhelming. It's underwhelming people put in and overwhelming situation, and when that happens, you KNOW the situation is going to be a whole lot more bland than before. So, in itself Ponyo is a memorable film, mostly for its quirkiness and nonstop adorableness. Seriously, the cutsey moments in this movie are too much to bare. This, paired with the fantastic animation, is why most people tend to see Ponyo as a masterpiece. With all this in mind, Pony now seems a bit overrated to me. I mean, sure, it's a pretty good movie except for the story, and it did it's job well as a kid's film. But there's allot of waiting, and once I saw Ponyo the second time, I fell asleep halfway through. Some things parents need to know: This movie is perfect for kids. It's not scary or spooky, it's just different and strange, but sometimes people mix up the two. Ponyo is a good film for all ages, Most of the time.
Kid, 10 years old May 7, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Best Anime movie ever!!!

I love this movie to death! I remember going to theaters watching this with my mom in the summer time. This is a great movie for little kids but they might get a funny feeling watching the kind of animation. I suggest this for 9yrs and up, but you can let your children watch it. When I was 5, I liked anime a little bit. But now, I'm a lover of anime! Watch this with your kids, it's a must see! In the summer time, when it is raining outside, I go watch some anime movies or some shows and if my big brother isn't busy,he watches anime too. Me and my brother are freaks of anime movies and shows. Try and do that with your family.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 6 years old February 9, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

sold out everywhere...

great movie
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bylamanjalo February 5, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Very cute movie!

Beautifully made and adorable characters...a little weird though.
Kid, 11 years old February 4, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Good for any age, really.

This is such a fun movie. I watch it with my sisters ages 9, 7, and 2 and we love it so much. There is not anything wrong or inappropriate.
Teen, 14 years old Written byFun4Me December 1, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Stop yelling at me, Ponyo!

Umm....yeah. Not one of your best work Miyazaki. What I hated the most was the voice acting. Noah Cyrus was terrible at voicing Ponyo and it sounded like she was yelling at you most of the time. Overall it was good . . . I guess. It was weird at most parts.
Teen, 13 years old Written bysupercookiejar November 19, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Super Cute

I love this movie its so Cute Ponyo is the bomb
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old November 6, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Love it!

It made me feel like a 5 year old again its really cute where the part there was a whole bunch of ponyos
What other families should know
Great role models

Pages