All member reviews for Prometheus

Common Sense Media says

New Alien movie has strong themes, violence.

Users say

(out of 71 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Parent Written bythedad319 June 16, 2012

It Was Great

prometheus was a great movie. i saw it with my 6 yr old son in 3D and i was a little worried about the rating. but compared to like, all the other aliens, its not nearly as bad. i love movies, so i could name off several movies that are more innappropriate than this. im a huge alien fan, so this was great. the part im most iffy of was the c-section cut open part, but otherwise it was a well acted movie. some scares, wouldn't reccomend to the little ones, but yeah. all in all, IT WAS AWESOME!
Teen, 13 years old Written by295898 June 9, 2012

AWESOME! 10 year olds and up

This movie is way appropriate. 10 and up year olds would love it. violence seems pretty bad, but it really isn't. the only part where i was shaky was the f%*k word, but my parents use it all the time, nothing i haven"t heard before.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byfriedch1cken June 9, 2012

Impressive watch

This is not a horror film. Anybody expecting to be scared will probably be disappointed that there are only a few scenes that might make you jump. The sex & nudity is very mild. The aliens are creepy-looking, and might scare some kids. The violence might be too much for some kids to handle, but it's not too bad. Prometheus is a really good sci-fi movie, though!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byOneVeryLongUsername March 3, 2015

"Prometheus" - Parental and Artistic Review.

Sexual Content: Crew members are shown in a gauzy wrap that functions as underwear. In Vickers' case, the wrap conforms revealingly to her chest. We also glimpse a large alien humanoid similarly garbed in a loincloth. Shaw and Holloway kiss, and it's implied that they're about to have sex. (She pulls his shirt off; he's on top of her. She's wearing only a robe). Janek and Vickers discuss getting "laid" and she tells him to meet her in her quarters in 10 minutes. Janek crudely tells two male crew members who are lost together, "Try not to bugger each other." 5.6 out of 10. Violent/Gory Content: The opening scene pictures an alien on Earth ingesting what seems to be the same biological agent the Prometheus crew will encounter later. In fast-moving images, his flesh rots, then dissolves entirely. (One of his legs snaps as he collapses into a waterfall.) A similar fate awaits a human later. David slips a bit of the alien biological agent into a man's drink, and he gets sicker and sicker in the course of a few hours. Eventually his skin turns black and he begins to dissolve, at which point he challenges (begs) Vickers to incinerate him with a flamethrower. She does. After getting impregnated with a fast-growing human/alien hybrid, Shaw begins screaming, "I want it out … please get it out of me!" Her solution? Climbing into an automated medical pod that she instructs to perform what amounts to an alien abortion. A laser opens her up, and mechanical pincers yank out a squirming alien beastie. Shaw tries to kill it after her massive wound has been stapled shut. Other characters encounter—to their mortal detriment—a snake-like alien that constricts them and then plunges down their throats. One of those victims later comes back as a hyper-strong reanimated zombie of sorts, and he has to be taken out with gunfire and a flamethrower. Shaw is caught in a ferocious sandstorm that pummels her against the ship; she also gets slammed around a great deal the last 20 minutes of the film. The Engineer that David awakens rips his David's head off and kills Weyland with it, punches Ford, crushing her sternum. A security guard, Jackson, attempts to shoot it, but the Engineer grabs him and throws him into a nearby wall, breaking his spine. The alien that Shaw "births" captures and plunges into the mouth of the Engineer. Later, the dying engineer gives birth to a Deacon (a Xenomorph hybrid). Vickers is crushed by a falling piece of spaceship. Three characters are killed in an explosion. There's a fistfight. 7.5 out of 10. Profanity: 3 "f" words (1 is obscured by static) and 10 "s" words. Other words include around 9 "hells," 4 "damns," 3 uses of "laid," 2 "S.O.B.'s" and 1 use of "piss," 1 use of "bugger" (used sexually) and 1 use of "bastard." The V sign is used twice. Religious exclamations and profanities include at least: 14 uses of "Oh, God," 10 of "Oh, my God," 5 of "Goddamn," 3 each of "Jesus Christ" and "Jesus," 2 of "For God's sake," and 1 use each of "God," "So help me God" and "Oh, Jesus." 5.3 out of 10. Substance Use: Two scenes show Holloway with a bottle of alcohol, and he's clearly drunk. Other crew members drink, too. Fifield figures out how to smoke inside a spacesuit's helmet, and it's implied to be marijuana. Shaw pops pain pills after her impromptu Cesarean. 4.5 out of 10. Conclusion: "Prometheus" is a brilliant prequel to the Alien franchise, bringing new characters, a great story, a decent script and fantastic performances. While this film appears to create more questions than it answers, this is nonetheless a great film. I give this film 8.3 out of 10.
Parent Written byMusicRock668 June 19, 2012

Prometheus is Great Scary Thriller But Not For Young Teens or Preteens ! too Disturbing !

Prometheus is very good Thriller Movie is full of gory Scary things music adds to intense also said 3D effects reallys add too it Maps are Very cool looking but is part where alien snake cawls up guys arm breaking it and hear bones cracking and is very intense scene also women finds out she is Prengnant with Alien inside of her she gets it but is very disturbing scene and movie is very scary instense if see it in 3D is very Well Done movie music is Great i don't Recomend it For teens under Age 15 because it gory fact and it disturbing scenes also guy is burn live Which is very Gory also with snake scene it jumps on guys face melting his face and Mask very Grusome ! this movie is Not For Weak Teens or Young Kids !
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of an infant, 13, and 16 year old Written byParentReviewer August 9, 2012

5 Star Alien movie isn't that violent compared to the Original "Alien"

Violence isn't really the issue, mainly just intensity and some sexual content/references. The most intense scene is where a woman gets a C-Section and has an alien fetus removed from her body. The sexual content includes references to getting "laid" and a couple has sex resulting in the alien fetus in her body. If they just edited the C-Section scene a little bit, this could've been PG-13.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent Written byNicholas McCarty June 28, 2013

Rating

I think this movie is very inapropiate for children. Lots of cussing. 16+ at least.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bysorry123 October 10, 2012

really good !

it is really good and I like it really much!
Parent of a 9 year old Written byCleanthes June 16, 2012

Powerful movie--but not for kids or young teens.

This movie is very powerful and a worthy successor to the Alien movies (in fact better by far than the third one). But it isn't for kids. It's very violent and would (I hope!) scare young kids. Some characters are brave and selfless but others are disturbingly amoral. I seem to remember some strong language (though that doesn't bother me much) and several characters drink heavily. Finally, the message, which involves the possibility that humanity's creators were an alien race that might not have good intentions towards us, isn't for the faint-hearted. I've rated the film on for 15 and up, but that might be conservative: the standard "R" age of 17 might be safer.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bychristian2011 June 10, 2012

Good Movie.

Prometheus is sort of like the sequel to the "Alien" movies, and it shows you at the end. The violence happens about halfway throught the movie, and it can be pretty graphic, violent and disturbing. A snake-like creatures wraps around a man's arm, then breaks it showing his elbow bone sticking out of his arm; a man gets acid thrown on his face; a man discovers a small parasite squirming out of his eye; a large alien picks up a man by his neck and then twists and rips it off with graphic gory results. Language is infrequent, but can be strong at times (few uses of f**k, sh*t, godd**n, and d*mn). A couple is seen kissing and making out in bed (no nudity shown). The captain is seen drinking some sort of whiskey or rum several times.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byGagafan1352 April 5, 2013

Pretty Good

This movie may offend some people because it deals with the concept of finding "who made us". Other than that, it is a very clever movie with a great cast and, hopefully, a sequel!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bydarthsitkur February 21, 2013

prometheus sucks

this was terrible and boring as hell, it dragged A LOT and it was slow to the point of painful, I would much rather see a prequel about predator
Parent Written byDan G. October 12, 2012

R-Rated movie not for children of any age.

The film contains considerable grisly sci-fi violence, several instances of rough language, much crude and crass language, significant profanity, some sexual references and innuendo, nonexplicit relations between an unmarried man and woman, one use of marijuana, and some alcohol consumption.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byAli Raza June 13, 2012

love the type of movie

a better movie, less rate just because of sex scene,.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old June 8, 2012

Prometheus

This was an amazing movie. I went to the 3D midnight and was thoroughly impressed. The 3D really added to the map scenes. This wasn't really scary or gory, but is more of an awe movie. The few scary parts there were were really creepy in the means of violence, but there was little blood. You saw the start of a sex scene and I'm not going to say the other mentionable thing because it's a spoiler. Some strong language, and drinking and smoking are common. Like I said this wasn't really scary, but if you're super squeamish don't see this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bySlendyDaMan March 23, 2016

Entertaining

Some brutal violence. Strong language. Some horror-like scenes and disturbing scenes. If you have a weak stomach, don't watch this movie. One scene is very gory and graphic. Seriously, this movie is NOT for anyone under the age of 15. Two people have sex, no nudity.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byAstroPhysics November 22, 2015

Good movie

This movie was really good, but it had a lot of gore in it. and I mean A LOT!!! If you are squeamish, or even if you just don't like things like women graphically getting their stomachs cut open to have abortions and people getting squeezed and slowly dissected, then you will have to close you eyes at certain scenes. I did, and I can handle more blood and gore than most everyone in my class at school. The story is great and Ridley Scott does a phenomenal job, but it's not quite as good as Alien. So the plot and everything is great, the only thing you need to worry about is the constant disgusting parts. I really enjoyed it, apart from those images.
Teen, 14 years old Written bydkasal000 May 26, 2015
Great movie probably would of got a PG-13 rating without one f word but to me the violence was the same as alien vs. predator the first one.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byMavrah333 January 14, 2015

Eye-candy prequel has impressive moments, amoungst some boring ones.

Prometheus, a prequel to the Alien Quadrilogy, follows a team of scientists on a quest to find the creators of Humanity. It has some really heart pumping moments, and the cast is fantastic. The visuals are some of scott's finest (behind Blade Runner) and there is some interesting philosophy. However, there are plenty of issues. Characters do the stupidest things, despite being scientists, such as take off space helmets on an alien planet, get lost when they're the mappers, or even commit suicide to little benefit of anyone. The pacing is a little slow, but it isn't build up slow like Alien, and I didn't care for many characters. While the story is a flaw, the actors, cinematographers, effects team and sound crew put their all into this movie, and it feels somewhat more realistic than some of the Alien movies (particularly Resurrection). Overall, a good enough prequel, enough so that I'd be interested in the upcoming sequel.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bygcamp16 November 7, 2014

Great MOVIE

It was good story if you are a fan of the alien series. An overall creepy and intense movie. A few f-words and other cusre words, at parts it can be very tense and somewhat gross, other than that it should be absolutely fine for anyone 14 and over.

Pages