All member reviews for Red Tails

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 13 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byRobsterReviews June 30, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Red Tails Movie Review

Slightly bland WWII movie has some good action but dreadful dialog
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byGoolsfold January 21, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Could of been better.

Some language, including the N word and some smoking and drinking throughout. A decent movie, could of been better, I say wait for the DVD or Blu-Ray.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byMitchell Charleston June 4, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

This was good. Don't listen to CSM.

OK, first off, i'm a MIX of black and white. It was kind of racist when they were like "black men can't fly". I remember when someone said that only black people eat at Popeye's (a chicken place). Like I said before, i'm MIXED. That means my skin is black AND white. I loooooooooove Popeye's. I've seen white people eat there. I love it because I love their 5 piece chicken tenders, cajun fries, and soda combo. Their chicken skin has a super-good crunch in it. Besides, you can't be racist AND Christian. I'm a Christian. This film was good because it has positive messages and it was interesting.
Teen, 14 years old Written bybibliophilepianist May 31, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great film despite some iffy content

Despite some iffy content, this film is full of great messages.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old January 7, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Red Tails

This movie is very good. The ending is a bit, saddening, though. The combat is very realistic and the fact that "Easy" is kind of an alchoholic is disconcerting. Overall good, an inspiring film, what lots of people look for.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byRobbShowMovieReviews May 27, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Red Tails Movie Review

WWII fighter pilots movie is entertaing but too long.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byphotogirly11 April 5, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Best movie of January 2012

I think the movie is a really good message to the viewers. There are scenes with stuff in it that might be inappropriate to some people. If you don't like tragic accidents, then this movie is not or you.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byFILMCRITIC500 March 23, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

violence mixes with humor

highly graphic and violent, but loads of humor and jokes to go with it. contains large explosions, graphic and sad deaths, and a VERY high body count.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bykogaiscool March 5, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

to the last plane

i loved it. it taught me more about the army.it was great
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old February 5, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Educational

This movie will teach you more about the African American soldiers. It is educational but will have some things that are not suitable.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byHuhthing February 4, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great Special Effects but Less-Than-Great Acting

While the CG of this movie is stunning, the voice-overs of the bomber pilot and some of the acting were really terrible. There was little character development, and quite a bit of language. Its role models and positive messages, however, were good. It is a good example of how people of African descent were treated in the 20th century. Dogfight sequences are intesnse, often showing blood, fiery explosions, etc. It's your choice if you want to see the movie. There's a 50/50 chance you'll like it. The worst that could happen is you're out a few bucks.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bychargnar February 4, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

It's ok

A pretty entertaining movie, but a little long
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bypatton1942 January 21, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Not Half Bad Though you Might Want to Watch the Language

This is a pretty good movie because although there are a WHOLE lot o' curse words, all the characters are good role models. I was surprised by the "n" word but you soon get over it all in all a pretty decent movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing