All member reviews for Role Models

Common Sense Media says

Coarse adult comedy elicits some big laughs.

Users say

(out of 41 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written bybradley4846 June 27, 2010

Not Hard R

I saw this expecting a hard R rated movie, i didnt get that. but it was hillarious. There is some sex talk, but nothing extremly explicit. There were 2 topless scenes, both very quick. And one scene where one of the guys falls asleep naked and you see his butt. There is a lot of swearing (mainly the s-word and the f-word). There is also some drug refrences
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byCastellanos July 1, 2009

Alright Film Does Not Have Good Role Models

Role Models has its ups and downs. Out of all the jokes made in the film, about 50% of them are actually funny. Lucky for the movie, the funny jokes are memorable enough that you come out of the film with a smile. I recommend this movie to fans of the recent R rated "buddy comedy" genre. Parents should know that this movie just about as raunchy as many of the other recent R-rated comedies. There are two scenes with female breasts and one shot of a guys butt. There is a discussion about breasts with a young kid (who obsesses over them).Parents should also know that there is less swearing than in other recent R rated comedies, but the swearing is still R-rated. There is a handful of f**ks, s**ts, p***y, a**hole, and b***h. Lastly, The only violence in this movie is in a park where people pretend to have medieval battles, however all weapons are made of foam and are harmless, so no one is hurt.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old March 15, 2009

JUDD APATOW CROWD PAUL RUDD JIM CARRY AND DAWID WAIN ARE THE GREATEST MODERN COMDIENS

ROLE MODELS IS THE BEST COMEDY OF 2008 PERIOD YEAH FORGETTING SHARAH MARSHALL TROPIC THUNDER BURN AFTER READING HAPPY GO LUCKY SWING VOTE YES MAN WAR INC WERE ALL GOOD COMEDIES BUT I WAS MOST SUPRISED BY THIS ONE RONNIE IS THE FUN NIEST CHARACTER HIS CURSING FUNNY AS COMEDY I'LL EVER BE THE CARJACKING SCENE PURE GENIUS HIS OBSEESION WITH BOOBIES WILL MAKE YOU LAUGH TILL YOU DIE. JANE LYNCH LINES ARE CONFUSING INAPROPRIATE YET INSITEFUL AND MEANINGFUL. PAUL RUDD'S MEAN SARCASTIC CHARACTER IS SO FUNNY ESPECIALLY THIS LINE "WHEELER WE GO AROUND SELLING KIDS NUCLEAR HORSE PISS FOR 6 BUCKS A CAN" AND THIS ONE " LARGE IS LARGE GRANDE IS SPANISH FOR LARGE VETI IS THE ONLY ONE THAT DOESN'T MEAN LARGE IT'S ALSO ITALIAN CONGRATULATIONS YOUR STUPID IN 3 LANGUAGES" WHEELER FREE LOVING AND BOOB LOVING PERSONALITY HAS ANOTHER REALLY FUNNY LINE "IT'S NOT POISON IT HAS JUICE IN IT" AUGIE IS WEIRD YET HIS MIDDLE EARTH INSPIRED SEQUENCES ARE REALLY COOL TO WATCH THIS NOT FOR KIDS THE LANGUAGE IS RAW CRUDE THE SEX IS PERVASIVE INCLUDING THE PART WERE A WOMAN GRABS A ANOTHER MAN'S TESTICLES ONSCREEN. THERE IS ALSO MALE AND FEMALE NUDITY IN 2 SCENES. EVERY LINE IS INSPIRED EVERY JOKE CRUDE YET DELIVERED PERFECTLY THIS IS THE FUNNIEST FILM OF 2008. PAUL RUDD CAN'T WAI TO SEE YOU IN I LOVE YOU MAN. DAVID YOU ARE A AWESOME DIRECTOR. PEOPLE HARD R COMEDIES ARE BECOMING AN INDUSTRY FAVORIT TROPIC THUNDER SUPERBAD PINEAPPLE EXPRESS FORGETTING SHARA MARSHALL BURN AFTER READING SEE EM ALL. JUST MAKE SURE YOU SEE ROLE MODELS FIRST
Teen, 16 years old Written byj-dog123 June 11, 2015

Very Good Movie!

This movie really is not inappropriate. The only scene that is bad is the party scene, when the show a naked female chest. The language is not bad. It has good messages about friendship, and the kids are really funny. Overall, a great movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bybrubakinaginn May 12, 2009

Brubaker on Overstrung parents and GOOD Flicks with chicks

In todays day and age you cant censor material going out to the public more than you can smack your teenager when they come in the house cursing..again. There is a measurable amount of graphic material allowed in movies, for that reason it is an R-rated film.. Meaning these characters could only serve as your role model if you are 17 and older or crafty enough to sneak into it. Very good, funny movie though. Love, Brubaker.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byxonikkyxo April 21, 2009

Hilarious..but is not a kids movie

So funny, couldn't stop laughing. Very crude, but that's the point.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byzeekattacklee June 27, 2015

Role model..

I thought this way very strange but okay kind of comedy. On the other hand, This film is was on the very mature kind of content.. That being said, I noticed it had many scenes that contained nudity, Sexual stuff, a lot of language and some drugs. on that note, I would want to use judgement before letting younger ones watch this kind of film. Otherwise, A great film for mature teenagers and adults..
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byZhash December 17, 2012

Decent humour but no laugh-out-loud moments.

Rated R for crude and sexual content, strong language, and nudity.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byMrsVance11 June 4, 2012

Good movie. Love Paul Rudd. Not for kids at all.

Lots of suggestive content, not to mention to scenes of breasts and sexuality. There's also language, drugs and drinking. That being said, it's not nearly as raunchy as other newer comedies, such as Step Brothers. I would suggest viewing it beforehand. Definitely not for kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byErrweb March 30, 2010

A Perfect Comedy for Mature Teens

Personally I found this movie pretty hilarious and fun to watch, one of the best comedies of the year. Though I wouldn't recommend it for young kids. I would recommend it for 14 and above due to the frequent use of the word "f..k". Nudity and sex scenes are also involved. Even though iti s still a pretty good comedy.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byMovieman251191 December 18, 2009
The fact about this movie is that though this is a comedy, it's laughs are not that frequent, and in the end just an average raunchy comedy. Paul Rudd and all the other actors, for that matter, are just great casting, but the story and dialoque is a bit boring. You do laugh, but in the end, it's no Judd Apatow movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written by4Spice October 24, 2009

very funny no kids 16 and over

truth is that this is a great movie but good for kids has alot of kissing sex and some nudity 15 and over
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old September 23, 2009
fine for kids 13 and up
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byzackaback August 13, 2009
Funny Movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byilikemusik23 May 4, 2009

Funny Movie but not good Role Models at all...

I found the movie to be very funny for me. It not for kids at all and it may offend some people because of the strong language and crude humor. One of the chracters that was a kid used profanity throughout the movie and made sexual remarks a lot. There was also 2 scenes with nudity in them (only frontal). I think its a good choice for older teens but not for anyone younger than 16.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byStacy001 April 28, 2009

Exposing a child to pornagraphic material

This movie used a child in a role that is highly inapproriate by exposing him to sexually graphic material. How is this legal? Why is this allowed yet if you exposed your own kid to that kid of material it is abuse? Someone should be held accountable for placing that small chilf in this role.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byjj321 April 18, 2009
nothin under than 12 just because the sex but it is ok and besides that nothing is bad
Teen, 13 years old Written byChrizCaribbean April 4, 2009

LOL GREAT MOVIE

BEST MOVIE I HAVE EVERY SEEN lol my mom recommended it so what boobs, thats the human body!
Adult Written bydfk1010 March 29, 2009

loved it

so so funny see it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old March 29, 2009

TEENS AND UP!!!!!!!

Interesting! Lots of language and sex. Also lots of humor. Probably best for teens and up.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages