Romeo and Juliet

  • Review Date: June 25, 2003
  • Rated: PG
  • Genre: Drama
  • Release Year: 2002
  • Running Time: 138 minutes

Common Sense Media says

Wonderful, but a little too mature for some kids.
  • Review Date: June 25, 2003
  • Rated: PG
  • Genre: Drama
  • Release Year: 2002
  • Running Time: 138 minutes

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

What parents need to know

Positive messages

Buried beneath the lyricism and romance is a basic mesaage promoting peace.

Positive role models

Despite the sweeping romance of the story, Romeo and Juliet take their own lives, disobey their parents, and Romeo even commits murder. Romantic and heart-breaking? Absolutely! Role model worthy? Definitely not!

Violence

Bitter quarreling leads to murder and suicide. Some deadly swordplay. Two young people take their own lives.

Sex

Nude male posterior and a glimpse of breasts in a tasteful bed scene.

Language
Not applicable
Consumerism
Not applicable
Drinking, drugs, & smoking
Not applicable

Parents Need to Know

Parents need to know that four centuries haven't diminished the relevance of this tragic and brilliantly worded story, in which the examples of two feuding families drive home a fatal point. Still, teens may see the story as a glamorization of suicide and the subject is well worth discussing with them.

Parents say

Kids say

What's the story?

Franco Zeffirelli's ambitious production of ROMEO AND JULIET brought Shakespeare to the masses in 1968. He did it not by dumbing the play down, but by casting two talented unknowns, Leonard Whiting and Olivia Hussey (ages seventeen and fifteen, respectively) as the leads. Much like Titanic would thirty years later, Romeo and Juliet struck a chord with teenagers, who found its beautiful young stars' urgency and tragic plight irresistible. Shot in Italy, Zeffirelli's faithful production of the tragedy also features a very young Michael York as Tybalt.

Is it any good?

QUALITY
 

Unlike the peculiar travesty Romeo + Juliet, in which Leonardo DiCaprio and others spew Shakespeare's lines without understanding them, Zefirelli's performers breathe understanding into every ornate phrase, translating the sixteenth- century prose into something fresh and modern.

When Romeo first spies Juliet, you believe--even before he speaks--that he's irreparably in love. Their balcony scene is wonderfully passionate, and the finale all the more potent for Laurence Olivier's uncredited narration. (But a cautionary note to parents: Teens may see the story as a glamorization of suicide and the subject is well worth discussing with them.)

Families can talk about...

  • Families can talk about the movie's depiction of suicide.

  • Why do the two families hate one another?

  • How does the ending make you feel about love?

Movie details

Theatrical release date:January 7, 2002
DVD release date:January 7, 2002
Cast:Leonard Whiting, Michael York, Olivia Hussey
Director:Franco Zeffirelli
Studio:Paramount Pictures
Genre:Drama
Topics:Book characters
Run time:138 minutes
MPAA rating:PG
MPAA explanation:brief nudity and mature themes

This review of Romeo and Juliet was written by

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are conducted by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

About our buy links

When you use our links to make a purchase, Common Sense Media earns a small affiliate fee from Amazon or iTunes. As a nonprofit organization, these funds help us continue providing independent, ad-free services for educators, families, and kids while the price you pay remains the same. Thank you for your support.
Read more

See more about how we rate and review.

What parents and kids say

See all user reviews

Share your thoughts with other parents and kids Write a user review

A safe community is important to us. Please observe our guidelines

Written byAnonymous April 15, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Rated NC-17/ Rated TV-MA = Not for kids & Not for anyone for Underage illegal Sex.

Female Nudity = Not PG at all Nor G is not even PG-13 or R. This should have an NC-17. Because of the Female Nudity and Underage illegal Sex. 15 & 17. = Banned from me seeing this film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bymyself April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

HORRIBLE

This is an extremely weird show. I don't even see how people could like the play after seeing this film. We watched it in English and my teacher almost cried when everyone saw the sex scene. I wouldn't reccomend it and I would say that kids should probably stay away.
Adult Written bymusicaldq April 10, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

One of the Best!

An incredible movie! It might be hard for a lot of kids to understand the language, but for the more mature high schoolers, this movie is pretty great!
Adult Written bynintendoman2010 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

too many bad scenes

My English class at school watched this movie. It was pretty good except for the sex scenes they had in there. The had to show a back side of a man because they have no idea that we do not like that. They do commit suicide at the end. I don't recommend this movie for anyone under 16.

Poll

Did our review help you make an informed decision about this product?

Essential School Tools