All member reviews for Romeo + Juliet

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 36 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byshanno15 March 16, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Had to watch it in school last year when i was in 9th grade, good movie, kind of an weird adaptation though
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byLadylollipop1 April 26, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Ignore the 16+

I'm confused why everyone is saying it should be 16+, if it should be 16+ then why is it rated 12a? There is no blood (well a very small amount) no nudity and no bad language (it is shakespeare after all) and it a great story of love and it's educational about shakespeare but it's easier dor kids to understand it when placed in a modern setting.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 30, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

My Romeo + Juliet Review

I have seen this movie,i had to go with iffy because there are alot of Bloddy secnes in this Film which will make it very disturbing for little childern, there murder shooting and very bloody secnes. but there are some good things like love,romance, but there is a little to much. I recomend 17+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byGhibliTheTimelord February 22, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Criminally underrated, slightly bloody masterpiece

I asked my 16 year old brother who had to watch this is his english class what he thought of it and he said he thought it was "dumb". After watching I totally disagree. I thought it was done beautifully and a lot of people may not have liked it because it was done in a weird fashion (what do you expect from Baz Luhrmann) but I really liked it. There was a single scene where sex was implied but nothing was shown, but there was also plenty of bloody violence. SPOILER ALERT! Multiple lead character are shot and of course the two leads kill themselves. Otherwise really great movie, you really should show your kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byjasminemcgill480 February 17, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great movie

I loved this movie. To those who say that there are too many sex scenes there is only about one scene with Romeo and Juliet but wow Romeo takes off Juliets bra big deal. It doesnt show any nudity but there is a quite a lot of violence. It just depends if you mind looking at graphic scenes. It depends on the maturity of the child really.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written by007SPY April 10, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Ignore the 16+ sign

It's Shakespeare no nudity or bad language that's why I pull the rating down to 12+
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byVanilla Thunda October 1, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Romeo + Juliet deserves a chance in this genre.

It does actually give out quite a positive message that love is eternal. Also families need a sense of trust in their children to do what is right for them, even if in the parents' eyes it seems wrong. Acceptance, love is eternal and that violence always leads to horrible things happening to the ones close to us, are the very controversial positive messages to come out of the much adored film Romeo + Juliet.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old May 12, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Loved it!

Hi! I'm 12 years old and I saw this movie a few days ago. I loved it! It's got the true words of Shakespeare, which makes it great! However, some of my friends watching in English class felt a bit awkward watching Danes and Dicaprio kiss passionately and take their shirts off. Yes, it has got sexual scenes in it, but it really doesn't show you anything, only when they kiss and strip, then it skips to after! Dicaprio does smoke in this and it does show Dicaprio taking ecstasy. Plus, it has got death and violence in, which some parents and kids may not enjoy. But overall, I loved it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bymrbookworm01 December 20, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Absolute garbage

My English class watched this since we'd read part of Romeo And Juliet, and I think it was awful. Most of the characters were mindnumbingly stupid, the Shakespearean dialogue is completely out of place with the modern-day setting, and the onslaught of violence almost completely overshadows the deep, poetic meaning behind the play. If you want a good adaptation of Romeo And Juliet, watch the 1968 version of it (we watched that version too.) It's way better. As for this monstrosity, save your money and skip it. Violence: Tons of gun violence, sometimes resulting in death. Characters also fight with their fists. Sex: A male character dresses as a woman for a party. Romeo and Juliet are shown in bed together (But my teacher fast-fowarded through that part, so I don't know exactly what happened.) Consumerism: Lots of brand names featured. Drinking: Characters drink and smoke. Juliet is shown taking an Ecstacy pill.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byAnya.Starr December 1, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

star crossed lovers .

an amazing retelling of the classic star crossed lovers .
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Teen, 17 years old Written byWolf88 September 28, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Ok

Has some blood and weapons, mild oldern language, and some sexual references but ok 12+
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byjenjay August 9, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing appropriation but a bit pathetic

I liked it mainly because of the amazing visuals, its modern context but still with the traditional language. A superb appropriation of the original story. I also liked how they kept to the storyline with all the thrills, despair and suspense. There are some wierd elements to it such as Mercusio acting gay, Romeo having his shirt constantly unbuttoned. Some themes are very over rated and pathetic but i guess its to be expected from Shakespears original story. Overall its a seemingly fun and possibly mild movie at first but it progresses quickly into intense scenes of love and conflict which i dont recommend for kids 13 and under.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bysrm10191997 May 26, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Drugs and Violence aside, a good movie

It is in the traditional shakespearean lanuage, but a lot of drugs and violence. If your ok with seeing a guy who is really under the influence and a lot of people dying, the story line is good.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byclumsily May 16, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Egh

I was actually really excited about seeing a modern version of Romeo and Juliet since we were studying that play in class (9th grade English) and we were going to be comparing & contrasting this version and the Zeffirelli version. Needless to say, this version disappointed me GREATLY. They only modernized it partially, meaning they kept the language, which overall made it really weird. For example, in the beginning fight scene, they used guns, but they shouted things like "Hold up thy sword", making viewers who haven't read the play wonder, where's the sword? However I did like some aspects, like the way they used the drugs. Not that I support the use of drugs, but I thought that it was a good way to show Shakespeare's views on fate, you can't control it. Likewise when you're on drugs, you can't really control yourself. There was a lot of violence, blood, that sort of stuff. Some scenes were completely awful and overall they didn't do the greatest job modernizing Romeo and Juliet. I honestly wouldn't recommend it unless you actually want to waste a couple hours of your life..
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byRobbyboyfye16 March 30, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

0

good New/but more violent but still better
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bydancegirl3697 February 4, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

A Romantic Love Story

This is set in modern time. It can get confusing at times because of the way they talk. There is a sex scene, but it isnt shown (only Juliets bare back). Theres quite a bit of violence and fighting too. But, it's a romantic love story with the gorgeous Leonardo DiCaprio. Appropriate for 14 years and older.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bycheese-process April 24, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Make sure you see/read the actual play first!

I've read the Shakespeare play in English class, and I've seen it performed. It was wonderful. This movie was CRAZY. But I still liked it. It left out a lot of the Shakespeare dialogue, and the balcony scene ended up being a swimming pool scene, but that was OK. It was very interesting to see certain famous scenes being performed in a modern-day environment, like on the beach. And the Capulets' party was off the hook! However, if you know the actual play, the movie would make more (or less) sense to you. And also, the PG-13 rating was indeed rather strong, but wasn't quite R-level.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 19, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
I liked it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byWilliam C. February 8, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

BRRR

God I hated this film.... i started to watch it but I found it really stupid and boring.... I am a big fan of Leonardo DiCaprio but Romeo+Juliet and Inception are his worse films... ... Shakespeare would NOT be proud of this. It does have some violence....
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bytaylorswift2122 January 6, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
this movie was not as violent as they say it is a little bloody when tybalt dies but that's all a little passionate kissing here and there and when the two main characters take there shirts off and kiss the camera goes of screen and goes to juliet's parents. so all in all this movie is appropriate for teens

Pages