Common Sense Media says

Seventh in grisly gore franchise adds 3-D to the mix.

Users say

(out of 71 reviews)
age 16+
Review this title!
Adult Written byJakk May 19, 2011

Extremely gory morality film for mature audiences

The Saw series has gotten gorier and gorier as its gone along, and this film is by far the most graphic yet. The series hasn't abandoned its positive messages and moral themes, but this is still much too bloody for kids. As with the other Saw films, this is extremely violent. Characters are forced to mutilate themselves and others to stay alive in a series of deadly "games", and this film also contains quite a few point-blank murders (which is unusual for the series). Blood and guts are here in high amounts, and dismemberment and disembowelment are commonplace. It's also worth nothing that the film has a steady stream of swearing, including the f-word and the c-word. One police officer is portrayed as a brutal. murderous psychopath, though most of the other police officers are portrayed and good and effective. On the plus side, there isn't any sexuality, drug use, or nudity, and the film does have a very positive message attached to it. The film attempts to show the negative effects of cheating and lying, and takes a strong stance against hatred and racism. Even though this film has a positive message that is very rare in modern horror, it's much too graphic for children. I strongly recommend this film to adults and older teens (16-17+) who can handle the film's violence, but it's really not a movie for everyone.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Parent of a 2 year old Written bypattyxx April 1, 2011
its epic
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 7, 2014

UNRATED

I SAW THIS FILM FOR 8 MINS IT WAS MORE BLOOD THAN SAW 4
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 8 year old Written bycone March 18, 2011
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old August 15, 2013

Great VII Installment

The seventh film in the series has a less confusing plot than VI, great traps, and great uses of 3D.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old May 5, 2014

Great movie!

Great end to a great saga! Some intense violence/gore scenes are scattered throughout the movie, along with frequent strong language! Next to no sexual scenes, but and next no to positive role models either. If you feel your child is mature enough, let them watch this movie aged 14+ - I'm 12 and I personally found this quite disturbing!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byFenris October 29, 2010
NO, NO NO, not another one these movies are terrible, im a teen all i get out of these movies are well go be a serial killer, these movies are for people who love to watch people suffer, Thank god this is the final chapter. (lets see how big i can get this text... THIS MOVIE IS JUST A BUNCH OFCRAP,
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byDAWu123 October 26, 2010

Nothing enjoyable about it.

Obviously lots of gore. Plenty of cleavage. Plenty of bad language. No good messages or admirable role models. Thumbs down.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byclarence August 5, 2015
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old July 9, 2015

SAW

SAW its a baby film
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written bythediamondd February 21, 2015

The best saw movie ever!

They have made so many but this is the best. Loved it, least some epic scenes are outside and the horsepower trap is beautiful and so is the train trap. See it. Brilliant.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byCharlietheunicorn99 December 20, 2014

Oh wow, blood. How consistent.

This is probably not the greatest film in the series, in fact it's horrible compared to the others! Sure, it's fun to watch, but it's bad with the blood, acting, and the plot isn't as thick and well thought out as the others. This one felt hurried. It also has one of those endings where people say it's "justified" but I think it was a slapdash ending to the franchise. This movie is only good for it to be made fun of. In fact, I know someone who made a drinking game for this movie. It goes like this: every time the blood looks like red paint, you take a drink. However, he's always too intoxicated to finish the movie. I wouldn't rate this high on movies that I like, but it's a fun one to take apart and joke around with it. You can never have too much fun with it!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byUberspencer November 7, 2014
I love these films but this is a film that is not for kids by any means! The ending to this film really just makes the plot points of all these films really bland and still makes my head hurt trying to find out what has happened with the storyline ext. If your kid wants to see this film or any other, parents DO NOT LET THEM! extremely gory, violent strong language is not for a kid! I'm 17 years old but I know how to handle films like this, I've heard worse language than f*ck and sh*t.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old October 15, 2014

:(

Nope. thought this one would be cooler than the other gory horror mixes but NO the 3D thing was a spam! do not watch
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byhorrorhelpkids March 11, 2014

what

I only watched this movie for the review it's just torture porn.scary level 4/10(scary level is based on an average movie watcher. note: not for kids
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byCWG1 March 4, 2014

All for the traps

Now I mean who sees these movies for the story. Everyone knows its all for the gore and traps and nothing else. There is tons of scenes of violence, tourtre, and disturbing images all throughout featuring scenes of dismemberment, amputations, etc and all of which is on screen and will most likely disturb many people. There is nothing sexual other than some harmless references and with the language there are some uses of the F word. The tourtre and gruesome violence is what makes this R, and this movie is defintley not for the young ones. Suggested MPAA rating R: Strong Graphic Bloody Violence and Gore including Torture, Grisly and Disturbing Images, and Some Language
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old December 28, 2013

NOT FOR KIDS (BAD MOVIE)

MORE BLOOD THAN SAW 4
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old December 9, 2013

Good film

Awesome
Kid, 10 years old August 15, 2013

NONONONONOOONONNONONONONO NOT ANOTHER SAW MOVIE!!!

when i was four, i watched the fourth installment to saw. DO NOT SUFFER THE SAME FATE. I LASTED FIVE SECONDS BEFORE BALLING MY EYES OUT!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byKyle1414 June 19, 2013

terrible movie

GORY. Language is bad
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages