All member reviews for Saw

Kids say

(out of 144 reviews)
age 14+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byHunterJumper13 December 21, 2010
age 13+
 

Great for mature tweens-teens

I'm 13,and I thought this movie was terrific. I mean, I'm a horrer movie connesuer, I've been raised on Chucky, Jason X, etc etc. I found this movie to have an interesting plot though, and the acting was actualy pretty good. I'd say definantly go for it for 13:)
Teen, 15 years old Written byThehatter32 June 7, 2010
age 14+
 

Desensitization

Yes, the movie-makers of today are pushing it, and yes, it is grisly. This is surely not a scary movie. Of course you wouldn't let your 12 year old watch it, but older teens mature at a variety of ages, some much quicker than others. Why must we lump every teen into the same category, and deny them their maturity? I love horror movies, and that is to no fault of my parents, for I snuck them for quite some time. It's not like I didn't get punished for it. There is violence that is obviously fake and overdramatized, and there is drug-abuse, and self-mutilation. Who is to say that these things don't already happen? Who is to say that having a teen see these things isn't going to benefit them, when they see the consequences of what the drugs, etc. lead to? You call it desensitization, I call it an awareness of the world around us and how screwed up it has gotten. People in our history books have done much worse than this man, and I don't see you complaining about them. Besides, he tells you to appreciate your life. Minus the deaths, it is a good message to live by.
Teen, 15 years old Written byDKRUMBLE725 October 8, 2009
age 16+
 

BEST MOVIE EVER !!!!!!!

This movie and its sequels are the best! The violence was partially disturbing but these movies are still my favorite. The only thing i would warn parents about is the over excessive use of strong language (too many f***s) but this is still a must see horror film even though they get blodier each movie. I cant wait for SAW 6.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old November 2, 2010
age 17+
 

A stupid slasher movie

Another pointless slasher movie not worth even looking at the front cover it has no story its just blood gushing annd people being tortured with constant bad language this movie is not a horror movie its not scary it has no real surspence at all but of course this is my opinion you dont have to take any notice to what i say.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byfamilydude134 April 14, 2015
age 13+
 
I saw this recently. It didn't bother me that much. The others are more gory, grotesque, and send a chill up your spine disturbing
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 17, 2011
age 17+
 

A whole bunch of crud!

I spit on this poop!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bySeriouslytholikebrah November 17, 2014
age 2+
 

The best romcom ever! (Plus the black guy didn't die first)

What can I say about SAW that hasn't already been said, its romantic, sweet and is really funny although it has no actual jokes in it. I think I'll start with the relationship between Jigsaw and his many lovers and the way he sets up fun and interesting ways to keep the relationship alive. He sets up these elaborate games for them to enjoy and play for his sexual amusement... Bang Bang O-block, skudda!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byNo Name, for real. April 24, 2013
age 15+
 

More stupid than scary

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bySecretAgentPalin July 16, 2011
age 14+
 

Saw isn't as bad as you think.

Saw has a reputation across the country as being very,very gory. That statement fits the later sequels. But the first Saw is very low-budget, so you see quite a bit of blood (and some guts), but there are few shots of direct violence. And those shots are not very gruesome. But nevertheless, this movie will most likely be disturbing to anyone who watches it. THIS IS DEFINITELY NIGHTMARE MATERIAL. This movie will be fine for any teen that plays M rated video games, or has seen R rated violent movies before. The positive element to Saw 1 is that it will make you think. It's not a believable great movie, but it does show what humans are capable of. And it will encourage you to reflect on your sins. Even though Jigsaw's misdeeds are malign and aberrant, and these actions should never be promoted. Young viewers should also understand this is an extreme fable, and not to be mistaken for reality. 14+ for bloody violence, grisly images, and strong language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old February 2, 2011
age 17+
 

Need to be 18+ :/

VERY GRISLY, ND VIOLENT! but there is a lesson! criminals desirve to suffer.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bythedigitalmastermind January 27, 2011
age 13+
 

An amazingly greusome horror film, but great characters and plot

This movie is a truly gruesome, grisly movie. It has gore galore! But it does have an interesting and complex plot that intrigues the viewers to keep watching till the end. You even sympathize with the main characters, but it's hard to sympathize with Jigsaw, even with his dying from cancer. It's a great horror-thriller, and has some great scares and kills, but is graphic and disturbing even to the most hardened gore fan.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bygranth July 26, 2015
age 15+
 

NOT FOR THOSE WHO ARE SQUEAMISH

If you like to watch horror films you'll probably like this but there is a lot of blood with a surprising twist at the end. There is language but more R for the darkness. But a good story overall
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old July 15, 2015
age 2+
 

MY FAVORITE MOVIE,

I LIKE IT A LOT!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymikethespike451 July 14, 2015
age 18+
 

STUPID PORN/TORTURE

This disturbing movie is not even scary! Not scary at all! Very violent and gory! Very disturbing! This movie is bad! Bad acting and bad story! Dont bother with this movie! Only people with a sick mind will enjoy this movie and call it entertaining and enjoyable! This is just STUPID TORTURE PORN SHIT!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 9, 2015
age 15+
 

SAW

The best of all SAW
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bykitty47 June 4, 2015
age 15+
 

Not as bad as everyone says

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byNight_Owl June 2, 2015
age 12+
 

Not as Gory as You May Think

People tend to give the Saw films a reputation, and that is correct, with the exception of the first film. Leigh Whannell himself has even stated that he never intended for Saw to have very much gore, but that's just how the sequels turned out. The first Saw film is not nearly as gorey as the sequels, with very few gory shots shown, and many of them appearing off screen. If you're looking for a film with a great story, and a surprise twist ending, this is the film for you.
Teen, 17 years old Written byReviewsofTruth May 7, 2015
age 16+
 

A classic Horror movie, not appropriate for preteens.

Even though common sense may have their own opinion, I believe they may have made a misstep judging saw. I agree it would be bad if anyone 14 or under saw this, but if your 16 year old is mature and can realize that this is purely fictional, then I believe that they are ready to watch this. 15 is a grey area. Use your judgement as a parent to decide if this is appropriate for your teenager. As for the 1 out of 5 stars, I have no idea what they could be thinking. This is a amazing psychological horror masterpiece, with not as much gore as you might think. The infamous foot scene is hard to watch, but if you believe your teenager is ready, and if he/she loves horror, this is a great fright night pick.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 26, 2015
age 14+
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheMovieAddict April 10, 2015
age 13+
 

Amazing

It depends on your perspective of the movie, you can either see it as a blood fest, or {like me} you can see it as a great way to study about the physical and psychological limits a human can bare, call me heartless, but this movie is for the gore and adventure loving.

Pages