All member reviews for Scared Shrekless

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Halloween "scary tale" is a real treat for families.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 13 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old October 29, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Awesome!

It's really funny. My Mom and dad liked how it was based on some scary movies you never want to see. It was also a bit scary to. Like in gingeys story ( like the bride of chucky my sister said) the bride cookie got thown into a mixing bowl and then it made a whole bunch of bride cookies and they got gingey. But then shrek and his friends found out he was not telling the truth.Then in puss and donkeys story the were staying at the motel ,that one was a bit scary. Then there was this other one were shrek was the babysitter and pinnocho throwed up on him. Then shrek scared donkey ( with help from fiona and the kids). It ended with them egging the sevan dwarfs. Over all I really liked it, all kids over seven will not get scared. The first story was a bit disturbing though, It was not scary to give anybody nightmares i think. It was so funny when they were at the information booth ( as seen in the first one) and they were singing a scary song. It was awesome!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 1, 4, and 9 year old Written byJetmom October 30, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
This is one of those cartoons that is really for adults. It spoofs adult movies. It portrays a smothering girlfriend as scary-- not a message I want to send to my boys. It spoofs The Exorcist, which is not funny if you understand what it is portraying. Yes, most went over my preschooler's head but I was uncomfortable watching with my 9 yr old! It wasn't even funny for the kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byMazz October 29, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

grandmother to two grand children who have watched all shrek movies with enjoyment.....I found this short movie Sick..do i want to subject my grand children to this sick humoor....Definatley NOT....will not be having any involvement with shrek again.......Do we really need to witness hanging even if it is a wooden toy...

What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old March 19, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Looks cool

Have not seen it, but I want to see it so bad! Shrek is awesome, he would make a very great halloween special! I know it. but I never knew there would be some swearing in it so I hope my parents will let me watch it. I bet they will because I have watched many movies and TV shows with swearing in it and It would be funny if donkey got waffles for halloween instead of candy because he loves waffles so much! But I dont know if it is actually going to happen because I have never seen it and all the shrek movies are funny and have funny jokes in it and I bet they will have one about waffles? I will watch it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bymejai1 November 3, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

This should come with a warning for parents

My 9 year old didn't find this scary at all, but the spoofing of original films really went over his head. I, on the other hand, would like to never see anything related to The Exorcist. Blame it on me seeing it when I was way too young. The synopsis was very vague as to what the movie was about.
Teen, 13 years old Written byrobinrunner March 30, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

A shrekish parody of some scary movies and tales.

Besides the title representing a bad phrase, the special isn't to bad. Kinda freeky though, but still makes you laugh. Might be a tad bit scary to the little ogre lovers watching this. A ginger bread girlfriend for beloved charecter Gingy comes back from the dead as a zombie to become his eternal sweetheart. Pinnochio gets possesed saying that voices in his head are telling him what to do and he does a bunch of creepy stuff as well as violent actions. Including a gross scene where he vomits.
Teen, 14 years old Written bysamlovesbtr November 9, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

pretty cool :)

haha i loved it. it was too funny. both my 9 yr old brother and i watched it :)
Parent of a 3 and 14 year old Written byLuvNGreenKoolAde2 January 25, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Lots of Laughs for any age!!

My 3 yr old laughed so hard....it sounded like it came all the from his toes
Parent of a 8 and 12 year old Written byEvilstepdad January 23, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

A bit too edgy for kids below 12?

Both my kids (8+) were uncomfortable watching this. The hanging, etc. is a bit close to the edge. We ended up turning it off at my younger one's request.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byFrankinf March 24, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Yeah

It may be a little scary for young kids but is fun for kids 8 plus
Teen, 15 years old Written byWRESTLING246 October 5, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

This is awesome

The Stories are fantastic I loved Puss and Donkey's story best, Shrek's story was cool and Gingy's story was amazing
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byJerrQ January 28, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Good to see characters from the previous films returning, including Prince Charming, as well as Lord Farquaad's abandoned castle. Some scenes may be frightening, including the "Bride of Gingy" and "Shrekcorsist".
Kid, 10 years old November 10, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Brillaint but....

It was brilliant for me because im 10. But i think younger kids may be a little scared or confused. But its your risk, for me, the tales and stories were brillaint. I give it 4.5 stars!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking