All member reviews for Scary Movie

Common Sense Media says

This movie will only frighten you with its crudeness.
 

Users say

(out of 111 reviews)
age 15+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byAmovieFAN August 21, 2011
 

Not So Bad

OK,yes this movie is gross(sexually,and booger gross),but i found it stupid,fun,and I think if you skip the mild sex scene,it's not so bad.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byMeForever December 22, 2010
 
Ok I watched this cause I thought it was 14 a and not r but it was really funny but probably the most inappropriate movie ever made. Watch it if u can handle like fifty gross sex scenes and ull laugh till u cry but if u can't than it's not for u. I'd say iffy for twelve because it really depends on what u think u can handle.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6, 15, 15, and 17 year old Written by79awesome August 22, 2013
 

funny

Really funny I saw it a while ago on netflix not bad a little gross humor and bad language. I give it 4-5 stars because of the penis parts eww
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byTheGoodParent April 9, 2008
 

It's only humor...

Okay, many parents complain about the graphic sexuality and crude humor in this movie. It is not graphic, it should be considered as a minumum, because it is only humor. Only humor, nothing graphic at all. the profanity is the only thing that should worry you. It is strong. The sex is inappropriate but all in humorous context thus losing any effect of eroticism. Come on. Now, if you have seen Scary Movie 2, that was much worse than this. Much more crude, graphic and sexual. This is more gentle, still raunchy, but less extreme. All fo my kids have seen this, and there fine. There is some drug humor too. Just be aware that it is only humor. I think a PG-13 rating, suites it fine.
Teen, 16 years old Written byevolinag February 23, 2013
 

Infamous horror parody has its funny scenes, but also much sex, drugs and violence! Only mature viewers!

"Scary Movie" is a horror parody by and starring the Wayans Brothers, released in 2000. -------------------------------- Over the years there were many trendsetting movies being often ripped off and never reached, but "Scary Movie" propably had the most terrible clones. A huge amount of spoof movies (parody movies focusing on crude and bad taste-humour) has been released right after the large success of this one here, all of which were critically panned. But however, that does not mean that "Scary Movie" is the same dreadful. Having its plot taken from the movie "Scream" (mixed with some elements from "I Know What You Did Last Summer"), there are several laugh-out-loud moments, the funniest ones being a parody of the infamous "Wassup" beer commercial and one of the movie world's first "Matrix" parodies. Okay, nowadays these jokes may be a little dated, but at the time it was released, its humour was innovative and refreshing. "Scary Movie" is, much like the works of the Farrelly Brothers, both stupid and funny at the same time. Yes, the humour is over-the-top and crude, but the jokes and gags are original, and can really make you laugh. If you don't mind a few in-your-face sexual and offensive jokes, you can have a great time watching this. But it is highly recommended to watch "Scream" before, because otherwise you either won't get all of the jokes or get "Scream" spoiled. -------------------------- (SPOILERS may follow:) "Scary Movie" has STRONG sexual content, STRONG language, STRONG drug content, and being a horror parody, STRONG COMICAL violence. This may be longsest parental guide i have ever written. Violence (note that all of this is done for comic effect): A woman accidentally beats up a group of young children with a baseball bat, mistaking them to be the killer (they moan, but do not have any visible wounds). A woman gets stabbed into the breast and her breast implant is stuck on the knife, she is then run over by a car and then stabbed to death off-screen. A teenager is unexpectedly shot by a reporter for comic effect. A teenager has its throat slit by the killer (a wound is seen, but it does not look any realistic). An elderly woman is run over by a piano. A teenage girl is stabbed, twists her own leg resulting in a graphic wound with a bone sticking out and is then decapitated (thinking it is a joke, the teenage girl never has any pain or panic, even when she is decapitated, her bloody head still continues talking - we see the head covered in blood). A man jumps off a roof. Two teenagers near a wood are stabbed by the killer. A man's head is impaled by a penis coming out of a glory hole (no that is not a joke, this is a real scene in the movie). Several people in a cinema stab, slit, beat up and throw objects at a woman until she is dead. A rather weighty woman is is stuck in a garage door, which causes the entire garage to collapse, burrying her. Several people are accidentally slashed by the killer, when doing hip hop moves while carrying ahook in a hand (blood is seen on the walls, and some not too graphic looking corpses). A teenager is shot, and being a cannabis addict, we see smoke coming out of the wound. Two teenagers stab each other in order to wound them, letting it look like the killer would have tried to stab them. One collapses, and the other one is then stabbed by the killer (blood is seen). A woman is run over by a car. Sex (note that everything is done for comic effects): Mostly three very graphic scenes, pushing an R-Rating: We see a person of which we think is a woman, spreading her legs, revealing testicles hanging out of her/his pants. We see a penis coming out of a glory hole (see "Violence" section for more detail). An ridiculously graphic sex scene: A man tries to remove a woman's panties, resulting in bats flying out of it (no joke). Then a huge amount of pubic hair pops out. A man cuts it down with a chainsaw. Then, the sex scene begins, we see the two teenagers getting wilder and wilder, until suddenly a geysir of sperm fountains, throwing the girl onto the ceiling. Really, these scenes are that ridiculous, they are not any erotic. Apart from this, a photograph of a teenager's ridiculously small penis is seen. A teenager in a car unzips his pants in order to reveal his penis (not seen), and due to a bump, a girl's head falls onto it, making it look like oral sex (nothing too graphic). A teenager tells his girlfriend to dress like a football player, then humps her, and tells her to switch position (they are fully clothed). Many, MANY MANY verbal references, and PG-13 visible references. I possibly forgot some content, but i listed th emost graphic scenes. Drugs (note that all of this is done for comic effect): A character is a cannabis addict and does frequent references, and is frequently seen consuming it, one time among a crowd of people. Language: There are 17 f-words, as well as some other terms. Compared to all the other adult stuff, profanity is surprisingly mild. Overall, it IS a comedy, none of the undeniably strong adult content is any scary, disturbing, pornographic or shocking. Mature teens should get the parodistic aspects of the movie, but parentaly guidance is suggested.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 7 and 15 year old Written byParentReviewz January 21, 2013
 

Scary Movie is Raunchy, Hilarious and NOT for Kids.

Parents, this movie is very popular with young children but it shouldn't be due to the fact that it's basically an NC-17 movie. This movie features heavy slapstick humor but also extreme raunchy humor. The characters drink and have sex constantly with about three references to sex per minute. Way Too Disgusting for Kids.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byMovie Man July 27, 2009
 

Hilarious Spoof can be Scary!

This hilarious start to the funny franchise Scary Movie is unbelievably raunchy. I'm surprised this wasn't NC-17 for Explict Sexual Humor and Violence! There is full frontal nudity of both genders and nudity occurs more than once. There are explicitsexual gestures and references along with a particularly aggressive sex scene. Not only that, but the violence is quite gory, although comical in nature. Despite some hilarious but shocking sexual content, this is an very well done spoof. it's funny, fast, and pokes fun at many movies, includng Scream, Matrix, and I Know What You Did Last Summer. The cast is great and the killer, I might add, is hysterical!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byRedSoxFan798 February 19, 2009
 

Stupid Not Worth Wasting Your Time On

Stupid movie use your time to watch a better movie.
Adult Written byG3 January 11, 2009
 

Very Funny

Best out of all of them!
Adult Written byMacintyre April 9, 2008
 

a great movie.

this movie is an incredibly funny movie. but it's only funny if you know what's being spoofed, made fun of, etc. that's why i don't giev it a perfect score.
Adult Written byfonzieg April 3, 2015
 

Gross, but hilarious comedy is great, but not for the easily offended!

If you're looking for good raunchy laughs, look no further than Scary Movie! It's funny, raunchy, and absolutely disgusting! Not Jackass disgusting, but there's a lot of bodily fluids (semen) to make it disgusting! Just don't watch it if you get offended easily!
Kid, 11 years old December 28, 2013
 

THIS MOVIE SHOULD BE NC-17

blood and sexy stuff (ewwww)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byKennyMcCormick October 3, 2011
 

Great Movie!

Funny for people who don't take things too seriously. For mature audiences.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byQuinton_Moad February 5, 2011
 

"Scary Movie" isn't a bad movie but be cautious if you let your children watch it

"Scary Movie" is a superb comedy. I certainly hope most 14-year old children are mature enough for this movie. It contains sexually explicit content and bad language but it's played for laughs. I suggest you view this movie before you decide whether or not it's appropriate for your children.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byAshnak April 9, 2008
 

This is a hard core spook movie.

This is an alright movie for adults. Unfortunately teenagers will flock to it and parents should definetely prevent it.
Adult Written bycassiehatkoff April 9, 2008
 

I LOVED THIS MOVIE!

Teen, 14 years old Written bydrew_human August 16, 2015
 

Funny.

Okay. I watched it today with my 11 years old brother. We both liked the movie. But.. this movie have many scenes which have violence (blood, knifes,..) and sex. That scenes, kids may don't see. But without it, the movie is so funny. I liked it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byclarence August 4, 2015
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byemmastanley July 29, 2015
 

not soo bad

I think it should be 11+ for strong sex violence some bad language my 6 year old daughter didnt get the jokes
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bygoodgirl July 13, 2015
 

good movie eh not fo kids.

like young kids. if 13 and up then it's alright.
What other families should know
Too much swearing

Pages