All member reviews for School of Rock

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Standout Jack Black in nerds-become-cool comedy.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 125 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byaidanqm1996 August 21, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

On of the funniest films ever!

The hilarious screenplay for "School of Rock" is made even better when the main character Dewey is played by the famous comedian Jack Black. Even though the movie is filled with laughter and fun, unfortunately, there's some instances of language and a scene where someone gets drunk.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byAli J March 6, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Hilarious movie for pre teens!

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old September 21, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
awesome movie!!!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written byPAFC June 3, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

One of Jack Black's best unoffensive efforts; great music, fun rock references

Our family loved this movie. While the language is a little strong, compared to other movies that are rated the same, it is relatively mild. If your children like rock, it is a lot of fun. If you are a family who tolerates no swearing whatsoever, or if "kick some ass" would shock or offend you, then it's not for you. The overall message is that uptight kids use their skills to create a rock show, a slacker finds a calling and realizes what is really important in life, and forgiveness abounds.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 2, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

WOW! A fun feel good movie that gives great messages!

One of my faves of all time, Jack Black transforms from a bad role model to a good one, good acting, there is some mild language, sexual references and references to a hangover, but its really funny and a really likeable film, it makes you feel good and gives you great messages, I love it, 5 out of 5, and ANY kid will like it, provided that they are over 11, 10 year olds might struggle a bit with the mature themes
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old November 28, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great Movie!!!

I really loved this movie! I thought it was funny, great and heartwarming. They did swear a lot, though. Over all, it was awesome!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byMyxboxliveisroc... January 19, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Cool movie!

I love this movie! And jack black is so awsome! Even better than chuck norris! If you like good comedys with a bit of drama and love in it than you should buy this movie!
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written bymusicmama4 July 8, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great music and humor. Just talk to your kids about the dishonesty they pass off as ok.

Our family LOVES this movie. Jack Black is an adorable imbecile who learns some things during movie. The kids are cute, and learn to love music. Just talk to your kids about the dishonesty that they pass off as ok. Do you think the end justifies the means, or is dishonesty just wrong? Why? And I don't know why they had to use so much language for a show obviously aimed at kids.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old October 16, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
I think it is very good . I wish jack black would watch is mouth . But it is a great family comedy . It also says to do your best , don't give up. Jack Black and Miranda Cosvergro are great role models
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old February 12, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
This is the best movie ever but they showed this at cartoon network a couple years ago
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpielberg00 June 7, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Too mild for a PG-13, a little too much for a PG.

My rating: PG for suggestive humor, a brief alcohol reference, and language.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old January 31, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Its Ok

Well, Jack Black was good, but the movie wasn't. It was original though.
Teen, 14 years old Written bylizzyjm16 July 3, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

im redy to rock!!

funny movie!!!"here comes katie with the base, rumbum bum bum..." it made me laugh out loud!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old January 10, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

perfect 4 age 10

some language but hilarious. good for kids around 10.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bymattthemovieman June 23, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

funny...

not bad really just a few cuss words and a hangover but other wise really good and really funny!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old January 26, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

My review of school of rock!

It's good, I haven't seen it in ages but I can still remember it so it must of been OK! I am a musician and I reckon that it was a good influence for me It made me wan't to write songs, since then I have written 6!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byMarioMii October 10, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

This is a bad example for school

Nothing scary. Dewey Finn kicks a cymbal really hard when he's mad and also took down a poster saying "Alright that's it, no grades." The students didn't have a lot of academics.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bySeminolefreak March 29, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good movie for young teens

My MPAA Rating, PG-13: Tense scenes of violence, brief sexual references, language, and drug references
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byEricCarrRulez February 23, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byocie14 November 6, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

LOVE IT

LOL! This is one of my all time favorite movies! Simply hilarious!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages