All member reviews for Scream

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Graphic mystery-homage to teen-slasher movies.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 129 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byhomey335 May 28, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

One word. Terrifying.

Violence: 10/10- Extremely violent and bloody. Ghostface will stab the heck out of people. Sexual Content: 4/10- Sexual disscussion. Language: 7/10- Lots of uses of f**k and sh*t. Drinking and drug use: 5/10- Drunk characters and beer is consumed by teens. Frightining scenes: 10/10- Complete terror.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13, 15, and 17 year old Written bydemondonkey25 January 22, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

10 AND UP OK

FOR CHILDREN 10AND UP IS OK.
Teen, 16 years old Written bymovieloverman1234 July 16, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
I loved this movie alot thats for sure. Though its chalkfull of brutal violence, bad language and even some sexual stuff. This movie is not for kids. Ill say that. That being said I enjoyed this alot.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written bymovie_fanatic_411 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Scream

This is one of my favorite movies. The story is amazing and the acting is good. The ending is one of the best twists i have ever seen. This movie is for people 15+ who can withstand a horror movie.
Parent Written bySSkkyyy May 19, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great for Teens who like horror

there was a few swears. i think this movie is good for ages 13 and up Violence: it is a horror so there is some killing
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byoctober1985 July 12, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
It's a great horror film, a bit violent just like any other slasher flick. Anyone over 11 should be fine
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old June 6, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Suprisingly good, looking forward to watching "A Nightmare ON Elm Street".

(Spoiler alert) Only the scenes where you didn't know who Ghostface actually was was it scary. Plus, there was a spoiler for "Friday The Thirteenth" they mention that the killer was his mother. Spoiler alert, lol. Depends on what your kid can take. I'm eleven and this movie wasn't that violent to me.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byage 10+ October 16, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

not that bad

To tell you the the truth, this movie should have been rated pg-13. iI's really not that bad. So I'd say that if your kids are at least 12 and they want to watch this movie, it's fine to let them.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bymovieman09 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Classic

This is probably one of the best horror movies I have ever seen. It is made for teens so probably 14 andup. Classic
Parent of a 11, 14, and 15 year old Written bycashed12 July 23, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Someone Is The Taking The Love of Horror Movies One Step Too Far!--A iffy choice for 17 year olds

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 12 and 16 year old Written bysaltwaterknitter July 30, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

okay for older (and jaded) teens

this is a really smart movie because yes, teens are very sophisticated and jaded now, and that sophistication is built into the screenplay...BUT it is so over the top violent that the cleverness and humor was almost an afterthought.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byslayer_5011 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bydaniel.nicholas... December 29, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great Fun!

There is virtually NO language in this movie. Probably 10 f-words, tops. I *just* watched it and it is great. Pretty funny at times and very entertaining overall.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bygreen_goblin May 8, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
If this wasn't a comedy, then I wouldn't have rated it 15 in here. It's very bloody. 16 year olds can handle it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 5, 9, 11, and 14 year old Written byJamesRobertson January 4, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Teen, 16 years old Written bydoralovesl12 January 16, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

love it

I love it. It's such an amazing movie and wes craven is a genius. My younger brother is 14 and he can totally handle this movie.
Parent of a 6 and 8 year old Written byYBNormal January 7, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written bymoviefan3308 July 22, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Good for 14+

As long as your kid is ok with blood and cussing let them watch this movie. It's not even all that scary but there are some gruesome murders (the one in the first ten minutes is the worst.) There is implied sex and none of the characters really have good attitudes but those were my only main complaints. p.s. the other 3 movies arent nearly as good
Teen, 16 years old Written bymovieman430 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

One of the best modern slasher films

Scream was one of the movies to spoof horror films. Throughout the movie they make several humorous comments about horror films. This, however, does not mean the film isn't scary. It's classic Wes Craven style slashing with a modern feel. One of the things that Scream does very well is keep viewers interested; not only is it a great horror film, it's also a mystery. Unlike films such as Halloween and Friday the 13th, the teens don't know who's stalking them. The movie's delicious blend of humor and horror make it work. Parents should note that the film is very gory and there are several tense scenes. I would not, however, stop anyone over the age of 15 from seeing it. Overall, Scream is a great horror film that's not afraid to make fun of itself.
Parent Written byNikeswoosh99 September 3, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Its just a movie

There are some horror movies you can't really take seriously and this was one of them. Not to say it wasn't scary but there were just some scenes you just had to laugh at. This movie at the same time is very good at drawing emotion out of people. Like when a girl almost survives the killer just in time so that her parents can watch her die. All in all if you can learn to realize that a movie is a movie then you will enjoy this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages