Common Sense Media says

Graphic mystery-homage to teen-slasher movies.

Users say

(out of 153 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written bymovie_fanatic_411 April 9, 2008

Scream

This is one of my favorite movies. The story is amazing and the acting is good. The ending is one of the best twists i have ever seen. This movie is for people 15+ who can withstand a horror movie.
Kid, 12 years old October 25, 2015

WHy Not

I can tell why parents dont think its sutible for their children, because there is a lot of swearing and blood. But to be honest, if the tween/teen is mature enough, then why not. It got an amazing story line and its Wes Craven at his finest.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byScaryLegoAdventure August 31, 2015

Very Bloody Violent Only For Teenagers

Scream is one of My favorite series i saw this movie when i was 8 i love it But this movie Is Very Intense and bloody Gore if had kids won't let them see this young even thought i did there really is no good moral many people die and main girl who is stalker by killer ghostface mother is Rape which don't see on screen there is some funny scenes there many hints of sexual scenes throughout whole movie some of death scenes can Disturbing sad so it not movie For Sensitive People there drugs and Drinking
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byLuke fleming July 7, 2015

Scream is very violent for teens aswell

Scream is one of the most violent films made it got an award for being rated R for the most violent movie RATED R FOR BLOODY VIOLENCE LANUAGE IN BIZZARE AND SEXUAL SCENES THROUGHOUT
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old March 15, 2011

cuss cuss

this movie says to many cussing. It has suspense.you will guess till it is over.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bynickbozz May 29, 2010

goory but good movie sceam

girl gets killed by a garage door
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bygreen_goblin May 8, 2009
If this wasn't a comedy, then I wouldn't have rated it 15 in here. It's very bloody. 16 year olds can handle it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byeazy__breezy July 30, 2014

Enjoyed it

Scream is a really great film for older teens. It is a good story with some and scary moments. People may think oh great another steorotyped slasher film, but this one is different. It actually tells a decent story behind all the violence. Parents shoudl realize that this film is not for kids, and almost got a Nc-17 rating for violence. While watching it, I didn't think that it should be rated Nc-17, but thats just me. It is pretty violent though, characters get stabbed with bloody results, a pool of blood is seen on the ground, a character gets electricuted with a television set, 2 characters stab each other to make themselves look wounded, a character's neck gets snapped by a garage and again, just a ton of blood in many scenes. 1 sex scene,you see a character's bra, and its clear that teens see a woman's breasts in a horror movie, although nothing is shown. A violent kissing scene and a little sexual talk as well. Not much to say about drugs, one person says you can't drink for ways to survive a horror movie. Very bad language in this movie, several f-bombs etc. For scariness, it is pretty scary. It creates suspense as you know Ghostface is going to appear, you just do not know when. Overall a movie for late teens that is probably aimed at teens. Neve Campbell is really hot as Sideny, and the acting is good so let older teens watch.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written bycritic sense November 4, 2012

Recommended Rating: 16+ for graphic bloody violence, frightening scenes and language

This horror film has some graphic, bloody scenes of people getting stabbed by knives. Some of these scenes are prolonged and are unexpected. There are many jump scares, and the violent scenes have an intense atmosphere. This film may be too frightening and graphic for younger viewers. The main antagonist wears a costume and goes around stalking people. His appearance is unexpected and the murders that he does are explicit and may be too disturbing for some. There is frequent strong language, including almost two dozen F-words, and mild sexual references.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written bySSkkyyy May 19, 2012

Great for Teens who like horror

there was a few swears. i think this movie is good for ages 13 and up Violence: it is a horror so there is some killing
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 December 12, 2011

So-so horror flick isn't too violent for younger kids.

Not even as violent as you describe it .This is the 3rd best Scream in the series.I saw the unrated and uncut version with tons more blood and I don't even think its gory seriously maps is crazy to put this nc17.
Kid, 12 years old November 20, 2011

My MPAA raing and Scream review

My MPAA rating: R for strong bloody vilonce,gore,language,teen drinking and some scary images. My review: this movie was my first horror movie I loved it it is my favorite horror movie of all time. I reccommended children from 9 up to watch this movie. buy it on blu-ray or DVD
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bywatch October 4, 2011

got to see with kids and not scary but the scream guts people like a fish

i saw this when i was 8 years old
Kid, 12 years old August 6, 2011

@coolj123

learn to spell, not scary, and it's ghostface (or father death if you want to get precise) not scream. By the way, possibly the best horror I have ever seen (Tied with Halloween), Wes cravens best. Casey's Death was the only creepy on and Tatum's was the only gruesome one (The review says her neck is broken by a garage door, not true. Her head get gets crushed and pops like a balloon(No blood).) 12 and up with parent, 14 up without.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bygeorgia. August 1, 2011

mature 13+.

AMAZING. don't really know why it's an 18 though.
Adult Written byrickydoo85 April 9, 2008

A must see for movie geeks.

This is a great movie for movie crazed people, but not ok for kids under 11.
Teen, 16 years old Written byFlimFanE February 5, 2017
Scream is not like most slashers where it intelligently points fun at common cliches found in horror movies (especially slashers). Despite the fact that it is a horror movie it is unlikely to scare most teens due to the fact that it is also a comedy. The characters (not the killer) in this movie are also quite memorable, it is one of the few slasher flicks that actually do (other examples include Halloween and A Nightmare on Elm Street). Parents should know: The American release of this film has a cut and unrated version, though some (like the Australian) one are just uncut. The movie is controversial for it's violence and it is rather graphic. There is a fair amount of foul language and some drinking and smoking. Jokes are made about sex along with referenced sex. However for a slasher it features little sex.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byDeathsong January 31, 2017

Best Horror Film Ever!

I've only seen Scream 2 (1997), but this movie is AWESOME!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byumbrella_girl December 30, 2016
Some parents and teens have said that this television program is very violent and no one under age of 18 should watch it. I don't agree. It obviously has violence in it but it's personal who can watch it.
Kid, 10 years old December 29, 2016

Amazing! For Older teens and Mature Audiences.

The movie Scream is a movie for older teens and only for mature kids. If ur child is mature enough to watch this then it will be alright. I'm 10 years old and this movies is great. Sex/Nudity (6/10) in the begging we see Billy and Sidney kissing each other in bed. later she unbuttons her shirt but no nudity is seen. Later Sidney says to Tatum" how many guys would put up with a girlfriend who is sexually anorexic. Near the middle Sidney mentions being in a pornography to billy and then they end up doing it. they later take off there clothes and we see Sidney's bra, as she starts to unbutton it, but then billy's shoulder ends up covering her breast. Violence (10/10) There are people who get stabbed multiple times. Casey Becker was stabbed multiple times then hung which was disturbing. Steve was gutted we see his guts spilled out which is VERY GRAPHIC. Tatum's neck is crushed by a garage VERY DISTURBING. Throats are slit, people are shot. Language (10/10) lots of "F" words and "S--t" and "Asshole."
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages