All member reviews for Scream

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Graphic mystery-homage to teen-slasher movies.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 134 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written bydoralovesl12 January 16, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

love it

I love it. It's such an amazing movie and wes craven is a genius. My younger brother is 14 and he can totally handle this movie.
Kid, 11 years old January 1, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Good for adults

Great movie, but you hear F**K a lot.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bydaniel.nicholas... December 29, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great Fun!

There is virtually NO language in this movie. Probably 10 f-words, tops. I *just* watched it and it is great. Pretty funny at times and very entertaining overall.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 11 year old Written bychildrenrcool November 20, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

perfect for kids over 11, it is a classic horror flick, so be careful.

I am eleven and it was an amazing movie. this stupid website brainwashes parents. It had one mild sex scene, it was very violent, and very little language.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old November 15, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Scary

" Strong Graphic Horror Violence and Gore" they aint kiddin. very good, however. so good i named myself "Scream"
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byPuppyluv13 November 3, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great movie for youn teens ages 13+

Pretty good, does mention quite a few movies including Halloween, a Nightmare on elm street, Friday the 13th, Carrie, etc., etc., etc.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byperson14 November 1, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
The movie was pretty good , good just to watch and laugh at. :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byBellaCullen1120 October 22, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

LOOOOOOOOVE IT

i luv this movie it is awesome i watch it all the time and i guess the language and stuff is kinda bad and all the killing but i like it it's my kinda movie.
Kid, 11 years old October 3, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

oh wow i love it but . . . .

its just really- well scary. hahaha. but seriously its awesome but the profanity and violence is something to be very concerned about! its gory and in most parts i had to cover my eyes!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bySomebodysMe September 25, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

WOW~

Wow, okay i have never actually seen this movie, but I was shocked! Kids used to come dressed up as "scream" for halloween in the first grade!!!! Just wanted to make my point!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old September 14, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
This movie is an awesome, cool, totally outrageous horror flick on the must-see halloween movie list for older kids, but anyone younger than 11 shouldn't see it, 2 year olds will literally, "scream".
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byNapkap August 8, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

A Great Film

A great slasher comedy. Gory, funny and scary. Nothing can top it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 and 16 year old Written bysaltwaterknitter July 30, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

okay for older (and jaded) teens

this is a really smart movie because yes, teens are very sophisticated and jaded now, and that sophistication is built into the screenplay...BUT it is so over the top violent that the cleverness and humor was almost an afterthought.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bymovieloverman1234 July 16, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
I loved this movie alot thats for sure. Though its chalkfull of brutal violence, bad language and even some sexual stuff. This movie is not for kids. Ill say that. That being said I enjoyed this alot.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byoctober1985 July 12, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
It's a great horror film, a bit violent just like any other slasher flick. Anyone over 11 should be fine
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old July 1, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Read

Rated R: Strong Horror Violence, Sexual Situations, Language, and Drunkness
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bygreen_goblin May 8, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
If this wasn't a comedy, then I wouldn't have rated it 15 in here. It's very bloody. 16 year olds can handle it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bykayvan_922 April 4, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byhorrormoviefan13 February 7, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

I couldn't believe it!

I am 13 and usauly watch the horror movies that come out now. But when I saw Scream I was shocked. I put it as the number 1 horror movie on my list. It was funny, scary, and entertaining. I absolutly loved it. My favorite part was at the end when Gale Weathers says, "I didn't forget the saftey this time...basterd." I laughed so hard at that part.
Teen, 13 years old Written bykayvan922 January 30, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Comedy and Horror,never fit better together.

Wes Craven is probably the best horror directer to date, Scream is his best peice of work, gory, funny and pretty smart. Makes you think how the film industry turned from this to torture-porn.

Pages