All member reviews for Secondhand Lions

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 17 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bydmac April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

My favorite movie

Teen, 15 years old Written byski123 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Wonderful movie for everyone!!!!!!

This is truly one of the few good movies out there that combines humor, values, and kindness into one excellent movie. It is perfect for the entire family to see. My family and I loved it!!!!!
Kid, 12 years old May 22, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Go out with your boots on

Secondhand lions is about boy named Walter who gets dropped off at his uncle's house for the summer. His uncles, Hub and Garth, are old and grouchy. Garth tells Walter stories of when Garth and hub went on adventures. Walter had been lied to his whole life by his mom so he doesn't know who to trust. In the end Walter's mom lets him stay with his two uncles because he trusts them. Hub has a what every guy needs to know to be a man speech. In this speech their are some parts I don't agree with. Hub never really tells the whole speech. The title of the movie, secondhand lions, means that since Garth and Hub are old they can't do the things they used to be able to do. They still have the spirits of lions though. I thought the movie was great and well filmed.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bycrael351 February 12, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Charming Movie

This movie has always been one of my favorites. It is a must see for any family, and the storyline will stick with you forever.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byabbacus June 6, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written bychargnar February 5, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Terrific

A great family film
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bydasdasdasdasdas December 23, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Best movie ever

It is no doubt one of the best movies I have ever seen.The rest of my family loves it too.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byKaty0 October 7, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bystar April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A smart and very cleaver film.

Second Hand Lions is enjoyable and a very fun movie to watch. Every Family should see this movie.
Teen, 13 years old Written bynorapotter April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great Movie

When I was browsing on netflix I saw this movie under my recommendations list and took a look at it. After watching the preview I said to myself, "forget it." The preview didn't leave me with an optimistic feeling about Secondhand Lions and I didn't want to bother to try and watch it. It had swearing thrown into sentences that weren't needed and (from the looks of it) didn't seem like it had a very strong thesis. So I went back to browsing and forgot about it for some time. Then, about a month later, I got sick and was real bored. I finished all of the netflix we had and didn't have as much choices of things to do for afew days. So my father went to "Hollywood Video" and rented me 2 movies. One was "Secondhand Lions" I decided that I wouldn't KNOW that it was a movie that wasn't worth watching until I watched it. So I did and I LOVED it! The preview was misleading and I will never base my opinion about a movie on a preview. Yes, it did having swearing where it wasn't needed but the theme was great. Don't be fooled by the preview. This is a WONDERFUL movie for the whole family (if you will put up with afew cuss words here and there.)
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
this is a awesome movie but has little violence and some gun firing but great movie
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byjmiss April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Fine

It is fine for anyone to watch
Teen, 13 years old Written bysoccer2929 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

AWESOME best movie i think ive seen

I LOVE THIS MOVIE it is awesome and the old guys are SOOOOOO funny:) :) :) :)
Kid, 8 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

It's a dramatic story.

It has some shooting and some swearing but other wise it's great!
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Mesmerizing.

This is one of my most favorite movies of all time. I love how it is magical in many ways. Telling the story of a young boy who, at first apprehensive about staying with his uncles for a time, becomes enraptured with their daring stories of their lives. It shows that one can do anything, and the human need to believe in something. The mother's inability to see beyond her boyfriend's faults and the need to be in a relationship was also an interesting point. This movie should be watched by anyone, especially those who are children at heart.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Very Good Movie

The only thing in this movie that is alittle iffy is the violence. A lion attacks a man. (not full showed) Alittle old fashion fist fighting. and Alittle bit of hitting a threatinging and that is about it. This is a good movie though. This movie is also sad.