All member reviews for Sex Tape

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Mature, raunchy, but hilarious comedy filled with profanity.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 12 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Educator and Parent of a 14 year old Written bybeanhead July 18, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

WHY??

Why does Hollywood think that this would appeal to anyone??? Don't bother, it is a total waste of money.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byYa Mom December 13, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 4, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Wow...

It is full of sex and language, so I'll start there. This movie, as the title states, is about a couple who make a sex tape, then accidentally send it to their friends. To stop it from going viral, they go on a wild chase to take it off of the cloud. Sex: 5/5 This movie, as the title states, is about a couple who make a sex tape, then accidentally send it to their friends. The main couple (Cameron Diaz, Jason Segel) make a sex tape. There are multiple scenes with topless women, most of which are seen on a pornography site. Diaz walks around naked at times, flaunting her bare rear end. Language: 5/5 There is a lot of language; f---, s---, d---, and pretty much any cuss word you can think of. Hold off until kids are 16-17
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bySnowman__1632 December 12, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

SEX LANGUAGE did I say sex

A bad film but is not horriblre
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bylmtrav August 5, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not as bad as you'd think

The title and previews of this movie really make it seem a lot worse than it actually is. Yes, the entire plot is surrounding a sex tape, but the only actual parts really involving sex are just briefly in the beginning and end. The couple finally decides to watch the tape in the end right before the credits roll. If you don't want to see this, you can just leave the theater because there is nothing more to the movie after. There is swearing, but it isn't any worse than any other movies like it. Kids old enough to see this movie know and hear these words, I can guarantee you. The movie is very funny. It is not as funny as some similar movies like 22 Jump Street or Bridesmaids, but it a good late summer movie if you need something to see.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old October 12, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

The Title Should Explain It All!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ok first of all title has sex in it and sex isn't even legal until your 18 so we shouldn't give younger kids and bad ideas.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew September 25, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Dumb raunchy comedy has sexy humor + profanity over the top

My rating:R for sexual content,drug use and language throughout
Teen, 14 years old Written bymonkaman September 12, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Hilarious, but too sexual for younger people

It was really, really funny in my opinion, but the sex can be a bit much for basically anyone. Even though there isn't too much of it regarding the title, the brief 2-5 of sex scenes might disturb some viewers. Personally, I enjoyed it, but it depends on what the person can handle.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byreadingkid July 30, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Thought it was going to be super inappropriate, but actually not really

Cameron Diaz and Jason Segel are great role models as Annie and Jay having positive messages. In some scenes, they were nude showing their backsides, but good thing Annie covered her sensitive body parts and that Jay covered up his genitals. I'm used to violence in PG-13 rated movies which doesn't scare me often. I remember a vicious dog chasing Jay which is more of a PG-13 like scene. This movie doesn't look NC-17 rated at all. Even when this movie is titled "Sex Tape", sexual scenes aren't super explicit.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of an infant, infant, infant, 1, 2, 2, 3, 4, 4, 5, 5, 6, 7, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 11, 11, 12, 13, 13, 14, 15, 15, 15, 16, 17, and 18 year old Written bynicoleandmeatwadss February 10, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

good

but I think that it should be age 13+
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educator and Parent Written byjohnswanson November 19, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Sex, sex, and more sex... along with some drugs, profanity, and everything else.

This movie is not for kids. In fact, I'm not sure it's even good for adults. Unless you mean 'adults' as in 'adult films'. I realize this is supposed to be funny, and I did laugh it spots, but kids should never watch this movie. Sex, nudity, profanity, drugs - all of it used for comic effect. I'm really not a prude... I'm just tired of this kind of movie. Similar to Neighbors, this movie can't rise above sex jokes. Maybe the fact that this movie lost money and got panned by critics will send a message. Apple products are also all over the place in this film.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bytvconnoisseur October 16, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Pretty Good

Using your common sense, figure out whether, or not any of your kids can see it. It really depends on maturity, &, most of all, personality, rather than age. Laughed loudly when I saw it at the cheap seats!