All member reviews for Shark Tale

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Fast, fresh, funny action comedy set undersea.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 56 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byjcarole April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 9 year old Written byrobinpeggy April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Funny for various ages and genders

My 6 year old girl and 11 year old boy both howled and enjoyed this, as did their 50-year-old mother. (Pre-readers will miss a lot of the wordplay humor in signs.) Great visuals, good message about Lenny's differences.
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Sharkum

Shark Tale is sweeet! 1 of the best movies I've ever seen.ONNNNNNNNNNNN!
Adult Written bydbk April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bysherrihf April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Could have been so much better

The shark scenes with D'Niro's character were funny. As the movie wore on, the cliches wore on me. The fish were creepy looking (what kind were they anyway?) They looked too human to perceive them as fish. The messages were a little to mature for my 7 & 9 year olds.
Adult Written byfritzsky April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byn8chiro April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bymamma2jpc April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Not worth the time

Funny ending but boring up untill the last half hour. It feels like the writers were tring to catch the "Finding Nemo" craze and fell short.
Parent of a 1 and 6 year old Written bykrisbeldin April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Funny Movie, bad message

I feel that this movie has all the right moves when it comes to a fun cartoon for kids; the comedic content was good. My concern is that the message sent is the wrong one. Lying is a bad thing, especially in this case when the whole town is deceived. This is not the message I want to send my children. I feel that if the topic of lying is discussed and the issue is brought up as a family and kids understand that lying is in fact bad, that the movie can just be a fun movie and nothing else.
Adult Written bybethlthomson April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

i laughed

WE HAVE THIS MOVIE AT HOME & ITS SUCH A CUTE! MOVIE.
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

it made robots look like trash

robots stinks copared to shark tale
Adult Written byselah April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bykernsmith April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written bybandgeekl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

pointless

this is one of the most pointless movies i have EVER seen!! some parts funny though
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Decent - but not like the Sherk series

This is a story of a fish named Oscar (voiced by Will Smith) who dreams of being rich, famous and recognized. He works at an average Whale Wash. But when a shark gets accidentally killed by an anchor - he lies as a sharkslayer but when nice-guy Lenny finds out he slayed his dad they team up to try to hide the fact that it's a lie. THE REST IS A SURPRISE 4 U!
Adult Written byoatface April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
hmmmm....gambling, love interests, a death, torture via jelly fish stings...this is not a movie for little kids. My elementry school child saw only a few scenes but was totally upset about the jelly fish abusing the shrimp - he would need therapy if he watched the entire thing. Most of us try to teach our kids not to hit and kick others...given this, does it make sense that we allow all this violent garbage to pass for kids entertainment?

Pages