All member reviews for Shark Tale

Common Sense Media says

Fast, fresh, funny action comedy set undersea.
 

Users say

(out of 56 reviews)
age 7+
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byKristen Breck April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Sexy, manipulative fish and mob humor for kids?

This movie was visually interesting, but my kids were dizzy by the end of it. There is so much adult humor and adult references that much of it was lost on the kids, and shocking to me. Furthermore, I don't think that a slinky sexy fish charcater, nor mob humor and mob character take-offs are appropriate or funny for my 6, 8, and 10 year olds. It was a frenetic movie with fast scene-changes, a culture icon-catering stereotypical take-off of nothing. I think it missed not only its audience, but a potential to reach sensitive kids.
Teen, 13 years old Written byrebma97 October 7, 2010
age 7+
 

Underwater film is okay for kids

An okay film, not my favorite Dreamworks movie but it's good (an it had Will Smith in it so it had to be good!)
Adult Written byjchop April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

VERY Disappointing

This movie is NOT for small children. In fact, I have a hard time deciding who this movie is for. In one word this move was ghetto. Hip-hop? Maybe. I'm very disappointed that Will Smith (whom I adore) would make such a movie. The plot is weak, it's laden with sexual innuendo (Lola) and the general theme really emphasized all you DON'T want your small children to learn. I can appreciate the entertainment value of the movie - but not for very small children. I suppose this movie is for 11-13 year olds??
Teen, 14 years old Written byJadenp March 3, 2011
age 17+
 
Very crude. not for children.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 2 and 5 year old Written bycatht January 22, 2010
age 6+
 

Undesireable in every way

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written by13199631 November 17, 2009
age 9+
 

a movie for kids with a flirty dirty twist

well this movie is a hard one it has a little bit of questional gestures there is a song i like big butts older brother 14 started singing it and got in trouble this movie is a bout a fish who wants money and will do anythig he lies cheats and throws a party where a girl and him get all cozy i wuold say if your child is not a monkey see monkey do i would fast foward through some scenes
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 6, 16, 18, and 19 year old Written byindianajoe December 28, 2013
age 10+
 

Animated blaxploitation

I got to watch this whole thing stuck in line in a Comcast office. I've never seen groups of characters so segregated from each other. Or so uninteresting. Or so mired in cultural and gender stereotypes. In the end it's just a dumb tale about characters with nasty traits who never get their comeuppance, about the male lead defining himself by his ability to impress the female of the species, and about dumb people being dumb. Unless you consider ghetto swag a trait you want to encourage in your kids you probably don't want them to watch it. I'm glad I was reminded of how much this movie wears its pants around its knees so I can avoid showing it to my youngest. If my older ones are anything to go by, by the time kids are old enough to get the jokes they're also old enough to find this movie supremely lame. I'd almost rather show them Fritz the Cat.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written bykeeyan January 29, 2012
age 7+
 

a good movie

shark tale the movie makes kids under the age of 7 not to go to the ocean
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 9 year old Written bynikilj April 9, 2008
Kid, 12 years old February 8, 2015
age 10+
 

PG-10

Contains mild threat and mildly scary comic violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byiams November 29, 2014
age 6+
 

Add to swearing

During the funeral scene, one of the mafia sharks says "burn in the depths of hell"
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old November 8, 2014
age 11+
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old August 3, 2014
age 7+
 
This is hilarious. Will Smith and Jack Black were funny. Martin Scorsesse and Robert De Niro were good since they worked together in great films.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old August 15, 2013
age 11+
 

fun

it was good but fine
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 7 years old August 14, 2013
age 6+
 

Why not fish tale?

Might have nightmares if younger.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old August 14, 2013
age 5+
 

half

there is some good stuff and inappropriate stuff, and might scare kids below 5, plus it's worse then Nemo!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bySuperSonicSteve896 April 28, 2013
age 8+
 

Excellent job DreamWorks Animation. *claps hands*.

Shark Tale was a really funny film. It was awesome. Everything was perfect from the CGI to the comedy. I have the DVD. That is proof that i'm a Shark Tale fan.
Kid, 11 years old April 5, 2013
age 11+
 

How is this a kids movie, Dreamworks?

This is definetly not for kids. They were using material like the godfather and words like goldigger, and come on, two characters were gay parodies of Bert and Ernie, and one person was a goldigger. This is a great movie, but not for kids!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byndrwcd November 18, 2012
age 8+
 

4th best movie of 2004

not as good as finding nemo but hey will smith and jack black are in it
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Kid, 9 years old September 30, 2012
age 6+
 

Mild comic violence

Consumer advice: Contains mild comic violence and scary moments. My consumer advice: Contains mild comic violence. Funny violence in the movie, quite a lot but not enough to say frequent.

Pages