Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Get age-based picks

Parent reviews for Sixteen Candles

Common Sense says

Racy, drunken, hilarious '80s high school comedy.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 38 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 62 reviews
Adult Written byThis 17 year ol... August 4, 2009

PG? More like Porno-Graphic!

How can this have POSSIBLY received a PG rating?!? The "f" word was used within 5 minutes! The teens talked about sex constantly. A view of a completely naked teenager in the gym shower was the point when we turned the movie off; it's way too explicit. How did this rightfully earn a PG rating? Take this 17 year old's advice: Do your kid a favor and don't let them watch it.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byvengle723 November 15, 2014

not exactly as i remembered it

i was a teenager when this movie came out, and i saw it more times than i can count. i loved it then and i love it now, but coming back to it for the first time after many years, i had a very different take on it than i had as an adolescent. there's some dated and stereotyped language ("faggot" stood out to me), the kind of thing that was ok in the 80s but really isn't anymore. but a much bigger concern for me has to do with one of the major plot points of the second half of the movie: two of the male leads discuss at length the prospect of taking sexual advantage of the older boy's unconscious girlfriend. the boyfriend comments casually that he could "violate her ten different ways," but is too bored with her to bother. he then passes her on to the younger boy with express permission to do whatever he wants with her, as long as he makes sure she gets home. the scenario is presented as a humorous fulfillment of every dweeby guy's fantasy, and the second half of the movie revolves around it, but of course, what they're actually talking about is the rape of an intoxicated teenager. when the dweeby guy and the girlfriend wake up the next morning, it appears that the fantasy came true--but as it turns out, she's happy about it. this plot line never bothered me as a young person, but it sure disturbs me now. i still love the movie, but i'm in no rush to show it to my kids.
Adult Written bythirtysomemom February 25, 2009

"PG" rating? This should be "R" or at least "PG-13"

We flipped the channel during a commercial to this movie which was on 'Encore'. It was rated PG which our 11 year can handle. However, the scene which came on was of female breast. Yes, full naked breast, nipples and all! In a close-up shot too! By the time I grabbed the remote to change the channel, it voomed out to show the girl in the shower...this scene showed a side view with 1 nipple showing and her naked butt. I was Horrified! Even my husband did a recheck on the rating for this movie and we were both shocked to see it was indeed listed as PG. Don't think this is appropriately rated. Nudity of any kind should not be rated with "PG".
Parent of a 4, 10, 12, 14, and 17 year old Written bymommieof6 January 27, 2011

Much more graphic than I had remembered!!!! not for youngsters

I was a teen in the 80's. I remembered this movie with all it's teenage angst. I knew it probably wasn't appropriate for my now young teen children. I just watched it and was shocked at how MUCH drinking, sex/real or implied, the amount of foul language and I did NOT remember and was shocked at the nudity!!! This is definitely not appropriate for a young audience. I am sure that it would have had a higher rating if it had been available at the time, and can't honestly understand why it wasn't R in the first place!!!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bycrashtx1 January 7, 2011

Watch it before letting kids watch

This is a classic coming of age movie, and it is very well done. But, before letting your kids watch it you need to go back and watch it with a critical eye. There is partial frontal nudity, there is massive amounts of drinking, massive amounts of implied sex, and possibly even a "humorous" date rape(yes, those are SO funny aren't they).

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bymakrodeback June 22, 2016

not for families

I don't watch R movies and unfortunately I didn't read the ratings on this website before starting this movie. I would definitely not recommend it to those who prefer clean media. The "f" word is used in the beginning scene as well as a crude joke by the young brother. When they get to the second scene, it includes a "sex test"( the girls write notes to each other about who if they've ever had sex, who they'd like to "do it with", etc.) The most alarmingly part-if you're like me-is the nudity shown in the girls locker room. I would say this is R-rated. I would not let children watch it-not a family movie.I am even uncomfortable with the fact that I started to watch it.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byMom_and_Son February 11, 2009

BAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! in the sick way

I saw the first ten minutes of the movie and I turned it off. A naked body, several F-bombs, talk about PMS, and thats just the first ten minutes. But 80's movies are still fun!
Parent of a 12 year old Written byvlfountain February 17, 2015

Thought it was funny when I saw it in my 20's not for younger teens

No matter what age your teens are when they see this movie talk to them about what is healthy consensual sexual relationships. Now that I watched this movie as a 50 year old mother I was appalled at how the movie glorified what is "date" rape. After the 1980's we luckily became more socially aware of consensual sex. Take that out of the movie and it is cute but it is a good example to kids of how far we have come. Though not far enough now that Hollywood is back to glorifying abusive relationships as in Fifty Shade of Gray. How can anyone pay to see that movie??!!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 2, 5, and 7 year old Written by4BoysMomma January 14, 2011

Rating

I was just looking at this movie on Netflix and it has a PG rating there. I was startled because I remember this movie having a lot of non PG stuff in it. I guess it is really R.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 11 year old Written by[email protected] January 30, 2011

Hey kids can watch it too people!

Well i love it you people are totally wrong PG is a perfect rating okay so there's a nudity part the pretty blonde in the shower and Sam swearing say the F word but so what? its an awesome movie i know if i had kids i would defintyly let them watch this movie i wouldn't be like all those other so harsh parents who are totally strcit about movies like 16 Candles the best age for a kid to watch it is 11 or 12 great movie! love ya Jake Ryan! your so cute!

This title contains:

Language
Positive Messages
Adult Written bydaniel.nicholas... July 22, 2009

13+ for sure.

This movie was rated "R", but got a "PG" on appeal and was released about 4 weeks before the "PG-13" rating was invented, so, that is why it's "PG". It's really not too bad of a movie. Pretty funny. Just a nude scene and use of the f-word (once) make it an extremely rough "PG".

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent Written byPlague March 2, 2010

Sixteen Candles

Super funny. You just gotta love that cast.
Parent of a 10, 13, and 15 year old Written byBMOM365 October 2, 2013

Actual rating is "R"

One of my all time favorites, but not sure about my kids seeing it. This movie is listed as "PG". You should know that the actual rating according to IMDB is "R", and they tell you exactly what causes this rating. Better to watch this on a general (not premium) cable channel where a lot of censoring is done for you.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 1, 3, and 5 year old Written byChris-Chantelle L. August 25, 2016

Contains unobstructed nudity!

Wow. We rarely watch PG-13 movies so we decided to try this PG movie. This movie has the F-bomb in the first 5 minutes and a shower scene with full nudity. I'm completely appalled. We turned the movie off and have no idea what else happened but this should absolutely be rated R.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byk P. April 6, 2018

Shocker Reality Check can kick start conversation about Consent

I watched this movie as a teen. BOY have things changed. How did I not notice that the main drunk girl character is passed to the geek from her boyfriend who says he can take her and do whatever he likes with her. ?!?!?!?! How did I not notice that when she is passed out drunk the boyfriend says "She is so out of it right now I could violate her 10 different ways if I wanted to..." but he doesn't feel like it !?! So he gives her to the geek?!?! HOLY CRAP! WOW, does that ever cross a huge line. I watched it with my 12 yr old daughter and I must say that after I got over being viscerally horrified at that and also the reminder of how insane my youth was (when I thought it was all hilarious), the silver lining of watching this was that it needfully started a big conversation about CONSENT and what that is and isn't and who has the right to your body- sober or drunk. If you need to have that conversation, this could be a good segue. I had just missed that as a teen. And wow, was it a wake up call. When the geek takes out his camera to "prove to his friends" that he got the girl... Well, there is another talking point. In this day and age that would be video all over the internet.... important stuff for your kids to understand. So like I said, this movie might be good to watch only as a conversation starter. Not good entertainment. None of that is cool. I can't laugh at how the girls are treated and how their self-respect is, and how awful the guys are... So many wrong alignments in here....it was seriously horrifying. NOT funny. There were some laughs, but over all not good.. I had to apologize for showing it to my daughter. She forgave me and said it was lame. Aha.. They are smarter now then we were. Whew! Hope that helps with decision making!

This title contains:

Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 5, 8, 10, and 10 year old Written bySassy Cheerlead... October 17, 2009
I LOOOVE this movie! Long Duk Dong is hilarious and so is the geek! This is a perfect movie for a teen girl's sleepover or party!

This title contains:

Language
Parent Written byJanet W. October 1, 2016

What we thought was ok in the 80's...

After the Brock Turner rape case, this movie is a poignant example of how we grew up thinking that a lot of things were ok,that today would horrify us. 16 candles goes to great lengths justifying the rape of jake Ryan's girlfriend - he loses respect for her because she is shallow, throws a party that trashes his parents house and gets paralytic drunk. Jake then passes her to the sex mad geek to drive home, who of course, has sex with her. It's painted rosey in the end, because the girl comes to and says she liked it. Wow. It'd be nice to say this was the 80's - but the. Brock Turner just got sentenced to a mere 3 mths 2016. We've not come so far.
Parent of a 10 and 15 year old Written byPeppers68 January 21, 2014

Gotta Love the 80's

Wow, have the ratings changed since I was a kid. We watch plenty of PG movies. I did not remember the topless shower scene! Still a fun movie to see with older kids.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byNuggetyourbusiness December 9, 2018

A traumatized adult child

Parents say 16+? Children say 13+? Well Kayla says 32+ but the max age I could write is 18+. It’s true that I’m being over dramatic with my age scoring as I’m sure a 25 year old may be able to handle it , but when I saw that the movie was PG I didn’t expect to see that girls naked chest all over my screen, gee whiz! And then they zoom out and I see her butt too, scarred for life! Im just a sweet little 22 year old child, why must I be lied to and traumatized like this?! I want my money back! However, I didn’t pay to watch this movie so I guess they are in the clear. I’ll have to wash my eyes with holy water!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byreedpack April 9, 2008

classic coming of age in the 80's film

The copy we have is rated PG which is a totally inappropriate rating. I would say it is appropriate for children 15 and older. Possibly 13 or 14 year olds if you're willing to take the time to discuss the various negatively portrayed themes and issues (abuse of alcohol & drugs, promiscuity, mistreatment of women etc). Otherwise, it's a really enjoyable movie, accurately capturing Molly Ringwald's characters teenage angst.

Pages