All member reviews for Skyfall

Common Sense Media says

Bond returns for more racy, action-packed thrills.
 

Users say

(out of 97 reviews)
age 12+
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old November 30, 2012
 

Just be careful!

I watched this with my parents and some friends and I loved it! Although there was ALOT of sexual scenes. Just be careful!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byShivom Oza November 21, 2012
 

Skyfall (2012) Review by Shivom Oza – Mendes Puts Substance Into The Everlastingly Stylish ‘BOND’

James Bond films, in their 50th year and with ‘Skyfall’ being their 23rd film, are currently the longest running franchise in the history of cinema. With Academy-award winning director Sam Mendes helming the project, ‘Skyfall’ has been touted to be the game changer as far as espionage thrillers are concerned. In the film, Agent 007 returns to protect the MI6 head, M, from one of her adversaries. The screenplay of the film is immensely engaging. There’s not much beating around the bush and the plot stays to the point till the end. Daniel Craig has delivered his best performance as James Bond, while Judi Dench, whose character M is way more significant than it has been in the other films of recent times, does a brilliant job. Javier Bardem cuts across as one of the most menacing Bond villains. The opening chase sequence, shot in Turkey, pulls up the curtains for an entertaining two hours ahead. The opening credits, voiced by Adele and comprising ethereal signature ‘Bond’ visuals, also wonderfully shape the start of the film. The film, albeit more of an action-thriller rather than a typical Bond affair, is a refreshing take on James Bond films and will certainly be liked by audiences all over. MI6 agents, James Bond (Daniel Craig) and Eve (Naomie Harris), who are on a mission in Turkey to recover a stolen computer hard drive comprising details of all undercover NATO agents in terrorist organizations, fail to nab the criminal Patrice (Ola Rapace), a French mercenary. On the chase, Bond is shot in the shoulder and during his altercation with Patrice, is accidentally hit by Eve and is considered “missing, presumed killed”. MI6, meanwhile, gets attacked by a terrorist organization. The security systems of the organization get hacked and an explosion at the offices kills a number of employees. Bond, who has been using death to take a break from his usual services, returns to London to get back on duty. Upon learning about Patrice’s location, he flies to Shanghai where he kills him, and another clue takes him to Macau. Here Bond meets Sévérine (Bérénice Marlohe). What Bond thought would end up as a short-lived romantic liaison, turns out to be his own abduction. The gorgeous Sévérine is an employee of Raoul Silva (Javier Bardem), a former MI6 agent, now M’s principal nemesis. The war is pretty much declared as Silva, playing the eccentric villain, can go to any extent to get M, and now his newfound foe, Bond. The screenplay of the film deserves a lot of accolades. The film revolves around M, Bond and Silva, and it stays that way. Although there are important characters on the side lines, such as Ralph Fiennes’ Gareth Mallory, Naomie’s Eve and Ben Whishaw’s Q, the story belongs to the three principal characters. Bardem is a maverick, who hides the horrors of his past behind his fake smile. He cuts across as an excellent villain in the film. Although, you look at him as the antagonist, your heart does go out to him when you learn about his painful past. The character of Raoul Silva stays with you long after the film gets over. Daniel Craig gives, by far, his best performance as Agent 007. Although he opts to stay as understated as he was in the previous two films, the character has notched up some wit and upped the action quotient as well. Judi Dench, with a remarkably long role in the film, does a fine job. ‘Skyfall’ does not follow the typical Bond films’ route. Although it’s as action-packed as its predecessors, the story assumes equal importance. Logical conclusions be damned, this film keeps you gripped not just for its ‘action’, ‘gadgets’, ‘bond girls’ etc., but the ‘plot’ and ‘performances’ as well. Sam Mendes has made a fine Bond film and this will, hopefully, set the precedent for all future ‘action-thrillers’. Writers, Neal Purvis, Robert Wade and John Logan, deliver a fairly taut story. The visuals are augmented, thanks to brilliant cinematography (Roger Deakins) and production designs (Dennis Gassner). The film has its thrills, here and there. The finale, although not as spectacular as the beginning, has a big, big twist. Watch the film to find out. Sam Mendes’ stupendous direction puts substance into what was everlastingly stylish, ‘BOND’! Shivom Oza
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bymrlucien November 14, 2012
 

Skyfall

Very good Jimmy Bond film. There is tons of product placement, lots of violence, some pretty scary stuff with Raoul Silva and some sex
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written bydarthsitkur November 10, 2012
 

freakin sweet!!!!!

left a while ago from seeing this and it was amazing, tons of badass action and suspense and your on the edge of your seat the whole time, I love the bond series :)
Adult Written byerica921 August 8, 2015
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy Brew July 24, 2015
Teen, 13 years old Written bytqm007 June 30, 2015
 

Amazing Film With Dramatic Story and Cinematography!

The best Bond movie in the Daniel Craig era is 'SKYFALL'. After MI-6 is blown to smiddereens, a now alcoholic James Bond must bounce back to take out the cyber terrorists who carried out the attack. The film contains a few smutty scenes but the rest of the film is impeccable. The action is stunning. The stunts are stunning and the car chases are stunning, all done by a spy in a tuxedo. What more do you want from a Bond film? PURISTS BEWARE!!! The gunbarrel sequence is placed at the end of the movie!!! 'SKYFALL' also represents the end of an era in the Bond franchise and paves the way for a modern reimagining of classic films. This film contains a lot of drinking and smoking in the days of advertising sensorship for alcohol brands. Now your 17 year old son will know what type of vodka Bond has so he can look cool alongside his drinking buddies!!! Consumerism includes Aston Martin, Audi, Jaguar-Land Rover, Tom Ford, Rolex, Heineken and Smirnoff. Mind Blown! The car chase at the start includes a Land Rover Defender driven by Moneypenny. The Defender's sales have slumped significantly since 2007, probably because it is outdated and very similar to the original Land Rover launched in 1948. This placement was probably used to re-interest the public in this model. I would recommend this film to anyone 12 years and over
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 12 year old Written byedklat June 7, 2015
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old May 24, 2015
 

'Bond. James Bond.'

Bond's loyalty to M is tested when her past comes back to haunt her. When MI6 comes under attack, 007 must track down and destroy the threat, no matter how personal the cost. M : 143mins : Action, Adventure, Thriller : 22 November 2012 (Australia)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 8 years old May 23, 2015
 

Extremely violent,dark 007 sequel is very brutal and racy.

This sequel of course fallows James Bond a spy/secret agent who must stop a villain named Silva before he tells everyone the identities of countless secret agents. This 007 thriller of course is extremely violent,characters are stabbed,shot,thrown,whipped,bashed,crushed,etc. There is also tons of tension and suspense as he guns down countless villains,the movie is also incredible dark and filled with brutal violence. There is lots of graphic racy content with many love scenes with some partial nudity including bottoms,sides of breasts,and moaning and thrusting. There is also tons of innuendo and racy references as Bond sleeps with a few different women. There is tons of strong language including 8 uses of f--k s--t c--k w---e d--k p---y b---h f--ker etc. This sequel is extremely thrilling and exciting with action packed thrills. My rating:R for strong violence throughout,pervasive strong language,some nudity,and graphic racy content/references throughout.
Teen, 13 years old Written byrebo344 April 3, 2015
 

So far, this and Casino Royale were Daniel Craig's best.

I actually like the dark atmosphere in this movie. I know this is not how a James Bond should be, but I don't mind. The action was great, although the final act felt like Home Alone, the cinematography was dazzling, the acting was also great from Javier Bardem, Judi Dench, Ralph Fiennes, Ben Whishaw, Naome Harris and of course, Daniel Craig. I can't wait for Spectre.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byThe age organizer January 25, 2015
 

Skyfall

13 and up
Kid, 11 years old October 22, 2014
 

Best Daniel Craig bond

Violence- 3 (Lots of shooting and a little blood, SPOILER ALERT M dies of blood loss Language- 2 (Not much, but one use of f**k)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Written byAnonymous October 11, 2014
 

Exciting epic 007 movie is very racy and sexy but stunning and dark

My rating: PG-13 for violence,sexuality,language,smoking,drug use and nudity
Teen, 13 years old Written byTom Cruise Fan October 2, 2014
 

Skyfall movie review

After the disastrous movie known as "Quantum of Solace", the "James Bond" franchise needed a fresh start. "Skyfall" was the CPR of the 007 franchise. It was a great way to celebrate 50 years of Bond. This movie was awesome. From the beginning, the audience is on the edge of their seat. The beginning chase is handled so well. The action sequences are phenomenal. The action may not be as good as "Casino Royale", but it is still very good. The plot is very interesting and riveting. "Skyfall" like "Casino Royale" had some great suspense. The theme of trust is repeatedly shown throughout Skyfall. M and 007's trust is tested. The theme was handled so well. One thing I love about "Skyfall" is how it shows James Bond as an older middle-aged man. He struggles to be a skillful agent. Daniel Craig is the best Bond I have seen. As of now, I can't see anyone who will be better than him as 007. Like every movie, there should be a good villain. In "Skyfall", the villain was mind-blowing. Javier Bardem deserves an Oscar(R) nomination for his performance as the antagonist. "Skyfall" truly is an amazing picture. My only problem with the film is that it slows down in the third act. In my opinion, "Casino Royale" was better but this movie was amazing. "Skyfall" should have at least been nominated for Best Picture at the Academy Awards(R). This movie was snubbed badly.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byCommon. July 15, 2014
 

its awesome

i had my 1 week year old watch this movie and he loved it. so did i. but there are some bobs in this movie
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byjavierewe June 3, 2014
 

REALLY NICE MOVIE

Most kids aged 11 and above should handle
Kid, 11 years old May 22, 2014
 

Daniel Craig is back in his third and best James Bond, 007 movie.

I really liked this movie. The storyline couldn't be better and the ending was the best that they could have written (that's a good thing) other than a sad death. The violence can sometimes be bloody especially in the end where two characters die and in another character death scene that is mid-movie. The language is pretty strong with a use of "f*ck" and a few of "sh*t", mainly. James is a lady's man so there's a bit of sexual content including a scene with a man and a lady in a shower together (nothing sensitive is visible).
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old March 30, 2014
 

lots of sexual stuff

If I were a parent I would pause at the sex scenes because they are inappropriate for kids age 8 and below. I saw this and thought that it was really good and exciting but there is a scary scene when the bad guys face goes a bit....dodgey if you know what I mean. The bit were the bad guy gets killed is a bit icky for mature 8 and below because he gets a sharp Axe in his back by Em. I'd recommend for mature 8 and up kids and teens. I hope this helps!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old March 9, 2014
 

great bond movie

Great movie but lots of violence some swearing and some sex but one of the best movies I have seen
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages