All member reviews for Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Animated classic is enchanting but also scary.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 58 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12 year old Written bymommygalores January 16, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Family Friendly Movie

Fave movie of all times.That is what me and my 6 girls think about this movie.Very heartwarming story about a quaint little princess who is very kind.Even when she found out the dwarfs were not orphans,she treated them with love still.I will admit the queen is a bit scary,but she is an example to young viewers.An example of sheer jealosy.Overall,a great movie for anyone.So go ahead an watch it.You will not regret it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2 and 4 year old Written byhoysie April 3, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

not very nice really, sorry

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bywho3697cares November 10, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Outdated in spots, for sure, but this set the standard for animation, and for that it must be respected and embraced.
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

daddy long legs 11 years old!!

tis is one of my favorite movies a must see for any age!!
Kid, 9 years old March 20, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

SCARY

Okay This movie really freaks me out and im nine . I like it but really scary
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old November 9, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

NOT FOR LITTLE ONES

Even though your little girl or possibly boy may want to see this mvoie if they are 4 or under DON"T let them. This movie is much to scary and creepy for someone there age so just wait till there 5 it will be age apropreat then.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byKelE April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A classic, but a bit scary for sensitive kids

I remember being frightened by the Evil Queen in "Snow White" as a girl. But when my then three-year-old begged to watch it, I agreed to let her watch this classic Disney movie. Like me, she was frightened by the scene where the huntsman is supposed to kill Snow White, and had a nightmare about the Evil Queen. She even had to put the video in the freezer before she could sleep that night! However, when my second daughter,who is MUCH less sensitive, saw it, she loved it and was enchanted by the story. She was only 2, and soon after we went to Disneyland. When she saw the Evil Queen standing by the castle, she ran to her sister, then 4, and told her, "Cover your eyes! Evil Queen too scary for you!" and then hugged the character and told her she loved her. The moral? You know your child. Make decisions accordingly. My oldest was afraid of King Triton, Maleficent, Jafar, Santa, Ronald McDonald. My youngest is afraid of nothing.
Parent Written byhjom July 7, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Huntsman Lifting Knife above Snow White = Nightmares for Months

My 4 1/2 year old daughter suffered bouts of sleeplessness and nightmares after watching this movie. The scene in which the huntsman lifts the knife above Snow White was what particularly haunted her. It was surprising for me, since we read the Bible every night and have read the story of Abraham nearly sacrificing Isaac many times. I learned that for her, watching a depiction of something scary was much more frightening than just reading about it. To resolve her fear, we talked about the fact that the huntsman changed his mind and did not hurt Snow White. We discussed why the huntsman stopped rather than following through - he knew it was wrong, and that it was more important to obey God and not kill than to obey the Queen and kill Snow White. We talked about doing the right thing even when you're scared, since the huntsman was taking the risk of punishment if the Queen found out. Overall, I found the movie to be slow and boring - there just weren't enough cute or funny scenes to keep my interest in the slow plot.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bypurpleslayer57 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

fantasy

a great family time winner
Parent of a 2, 6, 9, and 11 year old Written byBebita19 November 12, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Good Life Lessons: Snow White and the Seven Dwarves

This movie is a shining example of how we are to be selfless, generous, and kind. Snow White demonstrates that we can go places by having grace and her other character features. Talk to your child on how we must act like Snow White, and tell them that by being cruel and nasty, the queen ended up dead. Good movie for 3 and up. It teaches crucial life lessons. Don't miss it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byWICKEDroxxx330913 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great flick!

A Disney classic at its best, SNOW WHITE & THE SEVEN DWARFS is still enchanting after all these years. Albeit mildly scary, this movie stills warms my heart and everyone who watches it.
Educator and Parent Written byFosterFan September 21, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Please, don't deny your kids the pleasure of watching this beautiful film.

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs is, and will always be, Disney's crowning achievement. Enchanting, fun, a little scary, but always sweepingly romantic, it's a perfect family film. Snow White is a model of sweetness and love for others. The Prince and the seven dwarves have unending love for the princess. But although this film is excellent, I must say, the Disney Princesses merchandise makes fun of the, almost always, strong women they created.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 17 year old Written bylove2 September 26, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

great just not totilers

scary and to much romance but it is probably ok for five year olds to watch.
Kid, 10 years old April 11, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

the beauty of jealousy

gives possitive messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bychargnar February 4, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Pretty Scary

It isn't my favorite Disney film, but a classic non the less
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Parent Written bycroatian December 7, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

one of the bers farytales ever

every kid should see it, most value and best benefits from human kind and one of our genie Disney
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Educator and Parent of a 5 and 7 year old Written bycelinac January 31, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Involving story and characters. Vibrant art. Memorable songs. Set the animation standard for decades to come.
Parent Written byC_Personality January 13, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Evil vs. Innocence plot is too evil for 3-8 y/o target audience

We just watched this movie with our two daughters, 5 and 2. What a mistake!!! The movie turned dark very quickly, and the "Dark Arts", witchcraft, casting spells, evil and violence were just too much. This movie does not have a "good vs. evil" plot that sometimes makes the presence of dark plot lines work, when good triumphs over evil. The plot of this movie was "evil vs. innocence" where "true love" from a love-at-first-meeting encounter was what triumphed over evil. Although we used freeze picture, mute and fast forward several times, we still ended up with very objectionable content in our daughter's viewing. As a Christian, I don't believe that the witchcraft and evil in this movie is redeeming for any age. I do think that open discussion about the evil elements could be had with kids age 8 to 12. But I don't think that's the target audience of this movie. I suspect, based on the "Disney Princess" marketing, that the target audience is more like 3-8 year-old girls. We considered keeping the movie around until our girls are around 10 and 8 years old, and watching it again with further explanation/discussion about the negative elements, but decided that there were countless other choices for this type of "education" later on. We threw the movie in the trash, as we don't think it's acceptable content for the target audience (3-8 y/o girls) that would end up watching it secondhand.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 July 20, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

snow white and the seven dwarfs

Families can talk about how characters like Snow White might be different if they were created today, and what elements of the story make it a classic fairy tale. How is the violence in Snow White different than the violence in other Disney movies? Snow White is a traditional damsel in distress. How have depictions of princesses and heroines changed since 1937? Why is the Queen jealous of Snow White? Why is being beautiful so important to her?
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 2 and 7 year old Written bySuper Mommy 1980 June 28, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Snow White and the Seven Dwarves

This is a great Disney Princess movie. I have to admit, the violence is a concern. My 2 yr. old first saw this movie when she was abut 1 1/2. The witch, magic mirror, and huntsman resulted in me having to calm down a screaming toddler. My 7 yr. old first saw this movie when she was 6. Even though the witch scared her, she handled it very well. She actually grabbed my hand and said "Mommy, it's just a movie. Don't worry."
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages