All member reviews for Spider-Man 2

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

A popcorn pleasure with heart, soul, and insight.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 133 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old July 13, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Nice but desturbing for younger kids

I like it, but for younger kis it is scary. When i was around 5 i had a friend whoes mother shared an experiense, some time ago her son so Spiderman 2 on TV and at night he could not sleep. the villian is not scary but he and his arms act scary and all the screaming could be destubing, and the language is not cuss words but destubing like "u've stuck ur webs in my business 4 the last time now u'll have this woman's death on ur conscience" stuff like that
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old June 1, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good movie, but they could've done better.

Spider-Man 2 isn't as good as the first movie, although it has all the charm and wit (and violence!) to be rated as a great follow-up to the first movie. The only thing that really bothers me is that it is surprisingly unrealistic, even for a Marvel character. Also, just a heads up, don't watch if you haven't seen the first one, it won't make a great deal of sense.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byWill loves movies May 31, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Spidey's back

Spider-Man 2 is a great follow-up to the 2002 flick. The postive messages and postive role models are still there. The postive message in this movie is to accept the gifts that we have as well as sacrfice. Peter is still the same role model from the first movie. The violence as well as the profanity are toned down from the first movie. The sexual content is toned down as well with just two kisses the latter being quite passionate. Harry is the one who drinks in this movie. This is a great sequel to the franchise that keeps the same message from the first movie as well as adding on another message. Thanks for reading.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bymusicforver May 25, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Action-Packed Adventure

Spider-Man 2 is a pleasure to watch for mostly anybody. The only real issue is the violence. This action-packed movie has only fairly mild violence, but some is more intense. There is some very mild language and sexual content, almost none. I'd say if your child wants to see this, I would let them. 8+
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written bywonder dove May 2, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Liked it a lot! Great story...

Another excellent Spider-man film! The first one is my favorite, but number two is very good as well (3rd one is my second favorite!) This one is a little milder and features Peter's major struggles on friendship, love and career. Everything seems to be going down hill for him, including his family. He meets a scientist through his best friend Harry (James Franco), but his experiments take a terrible turn and transforms him into a violent villain who is after spider-man (Peter). Harry seems upset most of the time with his friends, particularly Peter because he believes that spider-man killed his father and spider-man is his friend. Harry wants spider-man dead until he learns that Peter is actually him. It's nice and action packed with a great story, it's also heartwarming and touching. Great role models here and good messages throughout about honesty (Peter confesses his secrets once and for all) and how important it is to tell someone how you really feel, because you may never get another chance. Violence is kind of heavy but a little lighter than the first one with lots of fights between comic characters, chase scenes, arguments. No sexual content except for some kissing. Language is super mild (if any). Small amount of drinking. Has some good humor! Excellent movie for 10+ viewers! (Spider-man 3 is awesome, too!)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byevolinag December 11, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Sequel is a step behind the orginal, but still good. Tweens and up!

"Spider-Man 2" is a sequel to the 2002 comic book adaption "Spider-Man". Every once in a while, though it's rare, there is a well-made Hollywood blockbuster that is way better than it tries to be. "Spider-Man" was such a movie. However, it is not so rare that there is a more or less unnecessary sequel, that is not nearly as good as the first volume. This movie is - kind of sort of. The quality difference is minimal, and the movie is still well-made, feauturing great special effects and continuing the stories the first movie began: friendship, love, action and a subplot of revenge. It is one of the movies that make something big out of only a little, simple bit, making the movie superb and entertaining. Still, the first movie was better. It had more of the comic book-like athmosphere, more over-the-top fights, simply more enthusiasm. Also, it feels that Willem Dafoe is missing to this movie. Instead, we got Alfred Molina as Doc Ock, who is memorable, yes, but simply not as great as his preceeder. In conclusion, it is a worthy sequel, that is far better than most, but after all, is a step behind the original. --------------------------------------------------- There are some fight scenes, but overall, the PG-13 is been necessary. The action is bloodless, and neither disturbing nor too brutal. In the most violent scene, Doc Ock uses his tentacles and destroys a room filled with surgeons, throwing them around (implyingly killing all of them). There is no blood in this scene, and it is not too violent. It is at the PG end of a PG-13, and should be okay for tweens and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byndrwcd November 17, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

my 5th favorite superhero movie of all time

spiderman 2 proves sequels can do better than the original
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old August 1, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good Movie, Appropriate for Most

While not as lovely as Common Sense Media seems to think it is, Spider Man 2 is definitely a quality film. The action sequence are exciting but tame enough for pre-teens, as there's little blood. The love story is also mild. It's far more sweet than sexy. The villain, Doc Ock, may give nightmare-prone kids bad dreams, so beware of that... otherwise, it's a fun super-hero movie for everyone!
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 July 21, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

spider man 2

Families can talk about how this sequel compares with the first Spider-Man movie. Is it as exciting? Is it deeper? Why does Peter feel that he can't share his real self with anyone? Why would Peter Parker would want to stop being Spider-Man? How do we know when to give up our dreams for others?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old June 26, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

SPIDERMAN 2

The Best of the Spiderman series
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byvortexz June 17, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

a little old for 7,8,9 year olds

this is a great movie...the only thing i would worry about is the violence.doc ock, the villain has four long robotic arms glued to a spinal thing with attaches to his spine he kills many people with them and his wife is killed with a piece of glass spiderman passes out, harry osborn has a dagger and is about to kill spidey... though it is really touching when spiderman passes out on train after fighting doc ock and stopping the train the people on the train take care of him
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byMr. Tights June 5, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Okay movie

If I was to rate this movie it would be: PG-13 Some intense sequences of violence
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bySomeoneYouDon'tKnow May 5, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Very nice, just like the first

Like the first film, Spider-Man 2 is dazzling, actionative and emotional. This installment is slightly less intense than the first, but it is heavier in emotionality, and while there are fewer messages, Doc Oc does prove to be a good role model in the end when he overcomes the tentacles' psychological grip on him. But there is also a scene when Harry gets drunk and almost gets into a fight with Peter, so keep an eye on that. But this is still fantastic and works well with the first film, so get your kids together and watch it!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bydklein April 4, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

more violent than the first. know your kid.

wow! i was honestly blown away by the sheer brilliance of this sequel. might be the best superhero movie of all time. it's also, however, considerably scarier and more violent than the first one. one character dies when a shard of glass hits her in the eye. a nuclear explosion sends several people to the hospital. a child is trapped inside a burning building before being rescued (so powerful, brought me to tears). doc ock is much scarier than green goblin and goes on intense rampages through the city. but if your kids can handle it. they'll love it as much as i did.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byOfficial Critic March 22, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Spiderman 2 Review

Sequels usually don't get much better or smarter, but this action-drama-romance-comedy-packed Spiderman 2, miraculously improve over the webslinger's hugely popular fist screen adventure in every imaginable department.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bytreat02 March 2, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

violent, more than the other?

This one in my belief was more scary than the other one they made. I thought that it might be slightly scarier, but more violent than i would think
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byNo Name, for real. February 11, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

great movie for action fans.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old March 1, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
i dont really like this movie
Kid, 10 years old February 28, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

perfect for tweens

worst of the 3.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old February 26, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Its a fav. Good movie. Some stuff kids might not like. At the end Doc. Oct. dies. I rate it awesome for 8+.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages