Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Get age-based picks

Parent reviews for Spider-Man: Homecoming

Common Sense says

Diverse, entertaining reboot has some language, violence.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 83 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 222 reviews
Adult Written byL S July 8, 2017

Seriously "Common Sense"?

This movie has 22 vulgarities, multiple uses of blasphemy, and multiple uses of the word penis (as an insult), and "Common Sense" Media rates it as a good film for children ages 10+??? This tells me everything I need to know about your site, and I'll look elsewhere for reasonable FAMILY movie reviews.
Parent of a 5 year old Written bykyra S. July 10, 2017

Not for kids

I was so disappointed in the foul language in this movie... and with hand gestures and a reference to pornography... it left me feeling so sad that movies directed towards kids can't be kid appropriate any more. Would've been a great movie without the language and other inappropriateness. I don't feel like i should have to leave a kid geared movie and then have to explain what "porn" is, to my 5 yr old.

This title contains:

Language
Adult Written byJason T. July 12, 2017

DeadPool for Kids (hence PG-13 rating)

I was taken aback by the some of the reference to the F-bomb in the move. The first was a scene where kids in the gym where playing F, Marry, Kill and the second was at the end of the Movie with Aunt May saying What the F right as the movie ended. Another disturbing scene was when Ned, Spiderman's best friend, was being questioned by a teacher as to what he was doing there alone, the best response he could give was looking at Porn. Additional jokes about Aunt May's hotness were also crass. I think the MPAA rating got this movie rate at PG-13, I just wish Common Sense media had as well.

This title contains:

Language
Adult Written byLucy S. July 17, 2017

Porn? Really Marvel...that's funny?

Kids. We take our Kids to see Spider-Man... they buy your figures they put your posters on their walls. So why do you think it's funny to have kids hear the word Porn? It was not a quick reference it was clear and loud. I have a 9 and 10 year old and I have to hear as we were leaving spider-man. "Mom what's Porn?"
Adult Written byLizzie I. July 13, 2017

Why is it age 10+ on this site??

There is a ton of language, profanity, and impure things in this movie. Why it is even a 10+??? In my opinion, it shouldn't even be rated PG-13. That's the problem with all these new movies. They throw garbage into it which is UNECESSARY. So disappointing. My little 14 year old brother wanted to see it, but now he can't.

This title contains:

Language
Adult Written byminiCooldude Z. July 26, 2017

Overreacting

Everyone here is overreacting about everything in the movie, its fine!! Today's parents are way too overprotective. If you don't want to explain bad words, or anything at all to your kids, then don't simply say till they're older (For the record holland is the most comic accurate spider yet)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byRegina R. July 19, 2017

A PG 13 movie but again rated for "10 years old" by Common Sense Media

Granted, the movie had some good messages and positive characters and enough action to keep a child's attention. That said, I don't see how "jokes" about porn and derogatory language (and girls in the gym playing "F, marry, kill" and middle finger gestures etc) are healthy for 10 year olds (or even older). I assume most people go to "common Sense Media" because they don't trust the Ratings given by the movie industry and most likely they are not concerned about them being "too strict". Instead movies that are supposedly made for children seem to try very hard to normalize violence, inappropriate and misogynistic content . They UNNECESSARILY throw it in with the fun and other things that appeal to children. Over the years I have noticed that Commons Sense Media's ratings no longer make sense. They have become superficial and no longer address the concerns of parents. Please, don't play down the inappropriate things in movies just because a movie is popular. I still come here to check out TV series, but for movies usually go to a different and more thoughtful web site (they only rate movies though) It would be great if you could have more articles on the harm of pornography and the harm of trivializing the effects of violence, misogyny and sexism pushed on our children by the TV and movie industry.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Adult Written byjramjee July 10, 2017

Fun movie but one thing to bear in mind...

There's one scene during which some girls in gym class are playing "F, marry, kill" (the F word is never explicitly mentioned). Unless your child is super-attentive, this could go over their heads but if they do question it, prepare yourselves for a fairly uncomfortable drive home.
Adult Written byRay R. July 7, 2017

Great movie!

This film seems more appropriate for kids than other super hero movies have been which I really appreciate considering kids love these characters. There was zero sex other than a joke about looking at porn which got a laugh from the audience - so if your kid doesn't know what that is he or she will probably ask what that means and that's why I say age 11. The super hero violence was tamer but it was still fun and suspenseful for adults to enjoy.
Adult Written byNate G. July 14, 2017

Entertaining movie, but too much swearing

I took my teenage and tweener kids to see the show. The story and characters were very entertaining, but way too much swearing. It seemed as though much of it was simply put it in just for the sake of swearing, like a bunch of junior high kids who take up swearing just to make the other kids think that they are cool. Of course, it was very uncomfortable to have to sit through that and were just about to walk out (probably should have for my kids sake). Without the bad language, this would have been a great show.

This title contains:

Language
Parent Written byRileysPapa July 9, 2017

Decent

There is the standard violence you'd expect with a hero movie. If your child has seen other movies with a common sense media rating go ages 10+, than you'll be totally fine with this one.
Adult Written byMovies_Life July 9, 2017

Great Movie by Marvel and Tom Holland

This movie is one of the best movies Marvel has created. Cool stunts and amazing action sequences. The sexual content is mild, words like porn and penis are used and a group of kids play a game called F, Marry, Kill. Including, a mild kiss and brief flirting. Language is also mild with words like ass, bastard, s--t, also with a middle finger. Violence is a larger part, but not very scary. Theres intense action sequences with guns and explosions, the ending is more intense with a bit of blood but overall really fun and not overdone. Drinking is none, except for Aunt May having a casual beer with her meal and Peter is offered a drink but denies it. Overall, this is a great and hilarious introduction for Spider-Man into the Avengers.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Adult Written byJohn L. July 11, 2017

Best spidy yet

Tom Holland is hands down the best spider-man we had. And I love the Sam raimi spider-man trilogy. They deliver a character that finally acts his age. Michael keaton was great and sometimes scary as the vulture. Very enjoyable movie to watch.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Language
Parent of a 5 and 8 year old Written byJoanne M. July 15, 2017

Good movie some sketchy one liners for pre teens

I took my boys 8 and 5 to this movie as a treat. We have watched other superhero movies at home but this was the first time on the big screen. I liked it, my 8 year old liked it and my 5 year old fell asleep about half way through. All it all it was fine. As others have mentioned the worst bits were the more adult joke about getting caught watching porn (no actual porn it was a lie to cover up what the character was really doing); the F, marry, kill conversation, but that went over my boys heads too; and repeatedly calling Peter Parker, pen*s Parker. Again my boys didn't pick up on this but if that had I think not too bad. No actual sex or anything remotely sexual and a pretty chaste kiss between adults. Loads of swearing b#llsh*t arse etc

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Language
Adult Written bygreeneyedgert July 31, 2017

If you don't mind your kids knowing about porn then you can let them see this movie.

This movie was a disappointment. It could have been a good movie, but as always, producers seem to think that adding vulgarity somehow embellishes the plot, which it never does. In addition to the usual cuss words, i.e, "bulls--t", "What the hell," "what the F..", "damnit," there was a disturbing scene where one of the characters tells his teacher he is "watching porn" on the computer in the classroom. There is also a lot of teasing and bullying by calling Peter Parker the name "Penis Parker" repeatedly throughout the movie. Such a disappointment.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent Written byAstrab November 9, 2017

Tamer than most movies these days

Yes, there the word Penis, and a quick reference to porn and a bit of swearing but otherwise there's no sex, crazy violence or drinking/smoking etc. Good wholesome fun and definitely doesn't go over the origins of Spider-Man. I'm not sure why people are rating this 18+ Definitely not 18+

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byShane Pain July 16, 2017

Perfect for pre-teens, a bit of saltly Language.

Movie fine, language and middle finger gestuee was used. Bleeped f--k, still great and comedy. Wont recommend for younger kids

This title contains:

Language
Adult Written byrebma97 July 16, 2017

Enjoyable Spider-Man Reboot

Spider-Man: Homecoming, is the third reboot of the Spider-Man movies and it was quite a delight! Tom Holland does an excellent job portraying Peter Parker, acting (and looking!) like a real, awkward, overly-ambitious, and optimistic teenager. It's funny but realistically deals with typical adolescent issues, while also dealing with Spider-Man's classic message of great power=great responsibility. There's a lot of diversity in this film, and the female characters are intelligent (though they don't do much). Violence: Typical superhero action with physical fighting, some blood, etc, but milder than most Marvel films. There are a few scenes of peril, including high school students in a falling elevator, and there's a longer scene where a boat full of people is cut in half. A minor character is killed. Sex: Some teenage romance. A kiss. Comments are made about Aunt May's attractiveness. One joke about watching porn. Language: Several instances of four letter words like "bulls*t", "sh*t", and a cut off "f**k". Flash calls Peter "Penis Parker" a few times. Other use of milder words like "crap", "h*ll", etc. A character gives the middle finger once. Teenagers briefly play "F, kill, or marry", though the actual word isn't used. Drinking/drugs/smoking: Teens drink at a party but it's not said if they're drinking alcohol or not.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byJBee449 August 6, 2017

Common Sense Media age rating misses the mark.

Wow. Teen girls in this movie play a game called "F*ck, Kill or Marry?" in which they "rate" various Avengers and tell each other which one they would "F", kill or marry. The girl says "F" but the implication is obvious. Common Sense thinks this is good for 10-year-olds. I am shocked at the movie and at Common Sense. Yes; it's a very quick scene. But it's there, and very clearly said. The crass view is not something for our family, and I wish I had known ahead of time. I also wish that Common Sense Media had provided a more stark warning to parents than: "There's a bit more salty language than you might expect ... Teens flirt, and adults kiss and make a few suggestive comments."
Adult Written byCastielFan July 20, 2017

Just a Fun Movie

Marvel Smashed again Since Guardians vol 2 such a fun movie

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models

Pages