All parent member reviews for Spirited Away

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 55 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byHeroneSilverton April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Fantastic

I loved this movie, it was absolutely amazing. There are some very scary scenes, so I would be cautious with your kids watching it. Not as good as some of his other work, but I have watched it too many times to count, I love this movie. Teens will especially enjoy it.
Adult Written byBeckstar October 31, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

wonderfully animated

Bit scary for children. But I saw it when I was about 9 and could watch it without being too scared. It's brilliantly animated!
Parent of a 7 year old Written bykejksnkfn October 10, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
This is my favorite movie! I love it so much, that I watched it about 25 times!! This movie is fantastic!! ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Educator and Parent Written byrowlands September 30, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

This is a must watch movie - but watch it with your kids and discuss it afterwards

This is a movie with lots of gross monsters, spirits, witches and magic. It gives you a great insight into Japanese culture and mythology. And it is a really great story. In fact this is the best animated movie of all time. I am sure that many kids younger than 5 will enjoy this movie (kids generally like gross monsters and the mild level of violence in the movie), but may be disturbed or confused by it afterwards. This is definitely movie to watch with your kids, and talk to them afterwards. This is not a Disney movie. It has a complex plot and complex themes. My judgement is it is best to wait until your kids are old enough to understand and talk about the issues in the movie with you. This is not a movie where the good guys kill the bad guys. Rather it is a story about a spoiled girl who is forced to overcome her fears and her selfishness to rescue her parents. Both she, and the other people around her (both the nice and not so nice ones) are transformed for the better though the story. It is not a movie that shows any ambiguity about good and bad, but it does show that even bad or flawed people are redeemable. Of all the movies in the commonsense media database, this has one of the widest range of reviews. In part because for many of the reviewers this possibly the first Japanese anime they have watched, and the Japanese do not play by the same rules was Disney or Warner Bros, neither in their plot line, their mythology, or in what is normal to have in a kids movie. Secondly many parents are very sensitive to anything gross and want to protect their kids from it. So they find the scene with the river spirit vomiting up all the pollution that has made it sick very gross. Great children's writers like Hans Christian Anderson and Roald Dahl have recognized that kids & toddlers love this kind of gross. To further the irony, one of the themes of the movie concerns an overprotective parent, placing her baby in a protective prison away from germs and other harmful influences.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byMsCyn December 29, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

A magical journey of a spoiled little girl who learns what is really important.

This film explores the maturing of a whiny, spoiled little girl who stumbles upon a magical (and a little creepy) world. The animation is fantastic, the plot is original (as most Miyazaki films are), and the characters are unique. The main character, an intelligent though somewhat bratty little girl named Chihiro goes through a transformation and learns what is really important in life. A wonderful, appropriate movie, though some children may find the creatures scary. Great storyline, great message.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 18 year old Written byKakarot October 4, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

absolute adorable movie for all kids and even for adults

incredible film with an impeccable imagination. though gets a bit violent in some scenes but that is negligible. Miyazaki succeeds again in conveying his message to others.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 9 year old Written byCalypso98 August 27, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

A true Japanese Animation Classic - for 8+ year-olds

Our family classified "Spirited Away" as an instant family favorite and classic. We just fell in love with the story, the message it was imparting and the animation was just incredible! The only reservation I had was that the film might be a little bit scary for some 8+ year-olds due to the parents turning into pigs and the main character of the little girl, Sen, being badly treated by some adult authority figures. However as usual in Hollywood, the story has a geat ending and everyone lives happily ever after.....
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 8 year old Written byCBeth August 22, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Very dark and creepy, and depressing as well. Although it received good ratings from critics, I did not like the film at all, and my son hated it (granted, he was probably too young to see it (7), although by the standard guidelines it was supposed to be okay ). In the film, parents lead their young child into what is clearly an unsafe situation and don't pay attention to warming signs and certainly don't think about being careful in unknown situations. The young girl is left to fend by herself but unlike a movie like the Wizard of Oz, almost everyone she meets is menacing and unkind. I did not find the redemption at the end overcame the negativity of the movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byorigamifreak February 23, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

great movie

This is my favorite movie by Miyazaki. The characters are well done and the movie's storyline is imaginative.
Adult Written byyami0204 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Classic Miyazaki

I must admit, I'm not a fan of Miyazaki's work, and Spirited Away didn't sway me (Laputa did that, not Spirited Away). It works well as a movie somewhat oriented for kids. It's a movie that both kids and parents will enjoy. However, I'm still scratching my head at some parts. Ah, at least the voice acting was well done. ^_^; My only complaint is that it was rather confusing, but it had a descent ending and a good plot. Thumbs up and kudoes to Miyazaki-sama. =D
Adult Written bymamo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bythewittyman27 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

wierd!

how duz every1 luv this movie so much? it wuz one of the wierdest movies ive eva seen, and impossible to follow. instead i suggest princesws mononoke for any1 looking for a good anime movie.
Adult Written byJjSmihal April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

This was so bizarre!

I hated this movie. I did not buy this movie. Part of the reason for my loathing is information that most of this type of animation is made by people who also dabble in animated porn. Anyway. This movie was very strange and my daughter (age 5 at the time) didn't "get it" and it gave her nightmares.
Parent of a 8 and 13 year old Written byJonathan wood April 5, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

The most beautiful animated film ever

This is a film which is fine really a bit to scary for young children but a film they will enjoy and remember and watch again for the rest of their lives. Just invite 2 of their friends over for a sleepover and watch this film together it is a truly wonderful experience then again know your child and don't show this to the easily scared.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 8 year old Written byMamawolf83 February 5, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Well made but a bit scary & dark

I saw this movie when I was 19 years old. While some parents feel this movie is okay for an 8 year old I dont think so. This movie has many very fightening images including: charaters being swallowed whole, a dragon nearly bleeding to death and many, many images of spirites that even at 19 scared me several times. If your child is more on the sesitive side as I was I strongly recoment against having them see this film untill they are a bit older.
Adult Written byArkmabat January 18, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great movie!

I love this movie. There are some violent scenes and blood splattered, but you have to keep in mind that this movie was originally targeted for young women, so it doesn't go overboard just for the fun of it. Honestly, I have a pretty weak stomach but I love watching this movie, just don't watch it while you already feel nauseated! There are positive messages about friendship, adapting to change, doing what you know is right, honesty, forgiveness, faithfulness, hope and family.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 4 and 7 year old Written byamandolin December 14, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Really good movie

Both my girls (4.5 and 7.5 years) liked it, but they still were a little unsure of a few things. My husband and I needed to explain things during and afterward to reassure them. They now talk about it all the time and sometimes pretend to be spirits. Chihiro is a great role model and it has great message.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byDiary Ainzon September 12, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Spirited Away - A MUST SEE MOVIE!

This movie is a masterpiece of its own. Though it might not be appropriate for very young audiences but you will never regret the values and its amazing story that the movie holds. Everyone will be inspired for the courage, determination and love by the protagonist's role. It's a must watch movie for a lifetime.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator Written bySaskiwi August 9, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Quirky creepy but very cool

Offbeat for viewers not used to anime or Japanese culture,, but older children will enjoy it. Quite a few scares but it pulls back from being too much for most kids too handle. Our boys have loved it since they were about 8 and it still gets watched, 5years on.
Educator Written bymcmanuss March 6, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Unique and Fascinating for All of US

Oh, this movie was a joy to watch. Scary in spots - the parents are in danger and there are some spooky characters, so watch out for sensitive kids. We loved the way the characters changed and helped each other - between this and Airbender, I am beginning to wonder if Asian heroes and villains aren't just generally more complex than "Western" ones. The way Chichiro uses her trust and friendship to grow stronger and to help others was inspiring, but we never felt preached to. We are still talking about this even though we saw it months ago, too. Very excited to see more by this director.

Pages