All parent member reviews for Star Wars: Episode IV: A New Hope

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 44 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bybaba 1 May 13, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

A New Hope

It's okay. It's not my favourite star wars movie but Luke learns to keep on trying, look down deep into himself and never giveup.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written by@@@ December 15, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Better than ALL modern action films. ALL of them.

I don't think that I have seen, or ever will see again, an action movie of this quality. These days, the genre is more aptly named the "boredom" genre. Back in the 70's, films had real plots, not just relentless action sequences.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byDUDES!!! October 2, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

The best of them all!!

BUT!!! I heard a bad word :( it was "hell!"
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byMi3 February 6, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 6 and 7 year old Written byardrummo November 11, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great for all, only sci-fi violence

Parent of a 13 year old Written byohya August 8, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 4, 4, and 7 year old Written bymagasalee July 30, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byPlague March 2, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Star Wars: Episode lV: A New Hope

A fantastic first! Familys will grow onto these movies, I guarantee it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 7 year old Written byquietones1980 September 3, 2009
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
my kid loves any thing to do with star wars. i think its a good show for him too watch, would rather he watched this than some of the shows more geared to his age such as i carly,
Adult Written byClassicCultReviewer June 18, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 14 and 14 year old Written byxmasterxofxmyxd... November 11, 2008
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

one of the best movies of all time

acting- 4.5/5 art direction/set direction- 5/5 editing- 5/5 musical score- 5/5 sound- 5/5 visual effects- 5/5 directing- 5/5 screenplay- 5/5 one of the greatest films of all time, everything in this film is perfect or very close to it. I am still very puzzled that CSM gave it a 4/5. the finale still gives me goosebumps years after i originally saw it, i cant begin to describe how much i love this movie
Adult Written byAshnak April 9, 2008
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

One of the best

Adult Written bybaleighsdad April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Before Harry Potter....

I take small issue with the content summary that claims all main characters are white males. The Princess is a key figure who my daughter enjoyed rooting for, and she grows in importance as the series continues (a leader in Empire Strikes Back, a rebel ground fighter in Jedi). And Billy Dee Williams rivals Harrison Ford as an important romantic scoundrel who proves his heroic worth under fire. Far superior to Episodes 1 and 2.
Adult Written bybaconbrother4 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

begining af anb awsome seiries

COOL
Educator Written byilanabit April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 12 year old Written byTsion April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Classic Film for All!

Star Wars is brilliant! It's a classic for all! It was released in 1977 and was a breakthrough in visual effects. It also inspired several filmmakers like James Cameron and Peter Jackson to make their legendary films (Titanic and The Lord of the Rings). Sex and drugs aren't an issue in this film. There is one d**n and one hell. The violence is frequent but mild: people fight with lightsabers (lazer swords) and shoot ray guns. People are shot, but they just fall over (no blood or gore). This all may sound pretty hokey, but watch it and you'll be sucked in. This was the first Star Wars film made, but is number 4 in a series of 6. Watch them all!
Parent of a 7 year old Written byResponsibleParent April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pages