All member reviews for Star Wars: Episode IV: A New Hope

Common Sense Media says

Sci-fi action classic perfect for sharing with kids.

Users say

(out of 173 reviews)
age 7+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bycraiger13 February 23, 2016

ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES!!

nothing inappropriate or wrong
Teen, 17 years old Written byjohnthemon February 25, 2011

One of the best movies ever made

An amazing movie, I grew up on these movies. This, along with Empire and Jedi are the GOOD Star Wars movies. The new ones aren't in the same league. Classic, must see. In fact, if you aren't letting your kids watch this, you're a bad parent. Should be required viewing for all people everywhere.
Adult Written byMr.Jburg January 19, 2016

Star Wars? Or Star Bores

Since 1977 George Lucas has been producing great family friendly movies. The fourth episode of star wars, A New Hope is an action packed movie, with some great role models, and also bad role models(Darth Vader). I would rate this movie for 8 years of age or older because there is some minor cuss words. There is some great world views of this movie as the force represents God, the light side represents the “Good people”, or the believers and the dark side represents evil or hell. The Imperial Forces under orders from Darth Vader hold Princess Leia hostage, in their efforts to quell the rebellion against the Galactic Empire. Luke Skywalker and Han Solo, captain of the Millennium Falcon, work together with the companionable droid duo R2D2 and C3PO to rescue the princess, help the Rebel Alliance, and restore freedom and justice to the Galaxy. This movie also has the most debated scene in all of the star wars movies. That scene involves Han Solo and Greedo.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old January 30, 2016
C'était génial !!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byTrapshooter35 January 15, 2016

Star Wars: An Amzing Movie

Star Wars : A New Hope is an amazing movie. It is an incredible action-packed film. I would recommend this movie to anyone. It starts off with a young boy named Luke Skywalker. Luke is brave, but is also whiny at times. He later meets Han Solo who is cocky and is usually only in it for the money. Luke and Han end up teaming up to go save Princess Leia from the Evil Galactic Empire. Luke and Han continue their adventures throughout the rest of the movie. There is some violence in the movie, but I would still consider it a family movie. Most os the violent scenes aren't to graphic. There is some very mild language in the film. Overall, this movie is definitely worth watching.
Teen, 14 years old Written byWaynerdude January 15, 2016

A new hope more like new begging

Star Wars episode 4 was an amazing movie. You see a way of the force you've never seen before. Oh and ther is violence. And why mine is called what it is because you get 3 new people and 2 new droids not going to give it away but ya darth vader comes back and is a little creepy and sorry I say this 1 person dies.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent Written byrolandobabel June 14, 2013

Star wars movie with lowest age restriction

First star wars children should see. It has least violence in it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 6 years old June 25, 2010

star wars 4

What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old February 2, 2013

One of the Most Groundbreaking Sci Fi Movies of All Time

This is one of the most groundbreaking sci fi movies ever. It caused a sensation when it came out. There's some violence, and that's the only thing that's an issue. There's also some scenes that might be scary for little kids. There's also good messages and role models.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byLuke Starkiller February 21, 2016

Highly recommended

While this is by no means a masterpiece, it started the trilogy that when taken together is a masterpiece. Just expect some violence and jarring scenes (I was most troubled by the trash compactor). The movie is made a bit scarier because it was made so long ago. Unlike Episode I, the sets aren't polished, which makes the movie seem more real and gritty. Still, I'd recommend this to any family. And to be clear, this is the first Star Wars movie you should watch. NOT Episode I. Start the series off on a good note, please!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old July 21, 2012

One of The Greatest Sci-Fi Films Ever Made. Changed Movie-Making Forever!

Star Wars is the biggest science fiction/fantasy franchise in history, and in my opinion, it certainly deserves it. With the insane special effects, iconic characters, and ability to reach and be enjoyed by everyone, regardless of race, age, or religion, these films have inspired countless kids (Including me!) to want to work in the film business. All of these films are amazing, (Minus Phantom Menace, which was good, not great.) and Episode lV: A New Hope is no exception. The characters are simple but not one-dimensional, and the action is fun and engaging. And though this film is not as violent as many modern action films, there is some stuff to watch out for when viewing it with younger children. In the cantina scene, an alien starts a fight, and gets his arm cut off with a lightsaber. You then see the arm on the ground with some blood. Besides that scene, the only violence is pretty cartoony and there's no blood to speak of. Besides that and some minor curse words like h-ll and d-mn, this is the perfect film to watch with young sci-fi/action fans.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byDerezzination June 7, 2011

It was rated a U for a reason

I watched this at age 4 and i found it the coolest thing ever. I was never really bothered about the violence and i see characters such as luke to be a good role model for kids as he has a blue lightsaber, not a red one.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old June 16, 2012

STAR WARS 4

first installment of sci-fi fad left me obsessed with Star Wars for 3 years.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old July 11, 2010
classic, but what they didn't put on there, was that Han says h-ll and da-n one or two times.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old June 23, 2015

Not perfect but definitely better than the phantom menace

Suggested rating: PG for sci-fi action violence and brief mild language
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byMitchell Charleston May 11, 2013

Cool.

This was a great Star wars film. The graphics and action were so amazing. I recommend this film to any Star Wars fan.
Kid, 11 years old May 7, 2012

Awesome!

This movie is terrific! Plenty of action, good story, and great acting. Spectacular!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 11 year old Written bySternAndFair February 24, 2014

The Movie Who May Be of Great for The Child But To the Adult is A Tiring Sort

A space shuttle as it travels, a good looking man by the name of Hand, the young Sky Walk. This film, though it is as remains poor for the grown-ups in your heart, shall be known as the most of popular scientific studies stories and legends. The ground breaks and the stunning realism is to die for, but the sexy Princess makes me wonder, "Should my child not see?" It is not unlikely. The truth is, the wonder makers of the film told the viewer to question, "Is science the truth? Laser swords? A flying machine?" And to wonder, "Is the future?" Too scary and always much too violent to allow for the children to view today.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old April 1, 2013

Good, but not the best

The film is ok but not as good as the other Star Wars films. It is quite boring, but the fights are good.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byFilmFanJ June 8, 2012

Star Wars: Episode IV: A New Hope Review

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages