All member reviews for Star Wars: Episode IV: A New Hope

Common Sense Media says

Sci-fi action classic perfect for sharing with kids.

Users say

(out of 171 reviews)
age 7+
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byjackson9 January 15, 2016

pew pew...BOOM

Star was is a classic and it always will be. I believe (if we hadn't gotten blown up in nuclear war) Star Wars will still be watched by millions. Star Wars begins with Luke sky walker and Obi-Wan kanobi and how they end up with two droids with a secret message. The message contains plans for the rebellion on how to destroy the empire, and now these two besties needs to get this message to the rebellion. They both find two pilots to take them to the rebellion base and there is many "encounters" with the empire. The worldview is that someone or something that controls and has power over everything (Aka: a God). George Lucas shows this as the force in Star Wars and raises many new questions. Star Wars is amazing and should be watched by everyone...I hope you enjoy it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byGblade January 14, 2016

The Film will be with you... Always!

My personal favorite 70's film of all time. This film does have some violence and has some language in it but this film has a great story line, great role models and some amazing action scenes. Luke Skywalker demonstrates that you should always believe in yourself. May the force be with you!
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byNewCoop January 14, 2016

Best Movie Ever Made

Star Wars: A New Hope is a great movie. I have watched this movie a few times and never get tired of it. A summary of this movie is: A farm boy starts his hero’s journey by entering the rebellion against an evil empire. With him he has secret plans, bizarre droids, and a connection with the force (an energy field which surrounds us and penetrates us and has two sides: a light and dark) . The message George Lucas wanted from this movie was a spiritual awakening in younger people and for them to think at a more spiritual and higher level. For younger children watching there are a few brief and unpleasant scenes like an arm being severed, choking, and cursing (d**n), but there are good things like positive messages and good role models. This is one of my favorite movies, I would highly recommend it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byAstroPhysics January 11, 2016

Great Movie

This movie is such a classic. I have seen it 3 times and have not been bored once. It is kitchy and good, and everyone should enjoy it. Also, it is a national phenomenon, so everyone SHOULD watch it. You will enjoy it a lot!
Kid, 9 years old January 10, 2016

Pretty good

Not the best out of Star Wars but most kids would like it. :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old January 2, 2016

Amazing I cant wait to see the next

When I first saw this i thought i was going to hate it but after seeing it the Awesome graphics and the bond between C3P0 and R2D2 I became obsessed even my dad who never liked sci-fi Movies enjoyed it just a warning though that Jabba may appear a little scary but you will love chewbacca he is very funny. Han Solo May seem scary but he is actually very helpful in the movie remember they couldn't have made it to space without him and chewbacca
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written byAge critic December 28, 2015

Original Star Wars trilogy beginning is classy and good for kids

My rating:PG for some violence and action
Teen, 14 years old Written byRXNC-17XXX December 26, 2015

Good for 6 and up and THE BEST STAR WARS MOVIE!!!

This movie has little blood and no cussing and the violence isn't too bad.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old December 20, 2015

Great!

It was great but it wasn't the best.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old December 16, 2015

For kids 9+ that's what I say!

I am a star wars geek I guess you might say star wars I think is for kids 9 and up the reason I chose that was because if your if your 8 or younger you might not get also the boring kissing but most of the movie is really fun to watch so I strongly recommend you let your kids watch even if he is not 9 and up it's still a great movie and your kids or kid might stop watching TV and start playing star wars more. Just as dad always wanted LOL!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byBreaden Hoffmaster December 4, 2015

"I'm Luke Skywalker, I'm here to rescue you!"

What's not to like? Action, humor, romance, spaceships, the list goes on. Young far boy Luke Skywalker goes in an adventure in this space-drama that's great for families to watch together. Violence is typical PG material, and includes shooting, (no blood and not gore, they just fall over) a lightsaber duel, and several scenes of spaceships exploding and crashing into each other. At least 5 of Luke's friends die in the final battle, and Darth Vader chokes 2 people, but it's all very tame, and won't be likely to scare 7 year olds. Language is extremely rare, and "Hell" is said once, and one d**n, muttered under an old man's voice. Kids will love Luke, Han, and the other heroes in th story, and although this film isn't as cool and action packed as the prequel trilogy, it's a great beginning to the films, and most kids will love it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bydkasal000 September 16, 2015
great father son movie when kids are little and older great movie with positive messages
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 23, 2015

Good Movie

I really like this movie. It has some blood in one scene and it shows a burnt body in another scene.
Parent Written byLizzie8082 August 5, 2015
Teen, 13 years old Written byPhil Johnson July 25, 2015

STAR WARS!

A phenomenal Sci fi film! One of the best of all time! If you haven't seen this movie see it immediately! It's probably appropriate for 6-7 year olds, but I feel they wouldn't understand it. Great movie, some mild Sci fi violence but not much else to worry about.
Teen, 13 years old Written byChickemax July 25, 2015
Thearitical: When you think deeply about it, the violence could actually be over the top because vader chokes people, an entire, populated with billions of people planet gets blow up, and so (spoilers!) does the Death Star. Also in a creepy way, an alien's arm gets cut off. Language is minimum and there is absolutely no romance. Special Edition: There is an additional scene with an animated Jabba that could be creepy to younger kids but it is just Han and Jabba talking.
Kid, 10 years old July 3, 2015

Ok movie, good but a bit violent

I saw this movie when I was 7. There are scenes that might be creepy for younger kids like when Obi cuts a guys arm of with a light saber. It only shows the light saber and the bloody arm.
Teen, 13 years old Written byhtriplett@icloud.com June 19, 2015
This movie is my favorite of all 6. Luke is exactly like me in looks, desire and trust. While Han becomes a great, like able guy in the end. With a hilarious pairing of C-3PO and R2-D2. It has exciting action(you be on the edge of your seat the whole time! WATCH IT!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byfoxmalmage13 June 11, 2015

Classic, but can be frightning and a little disturbing.

A lot of gun violence and the body count is huge. Darth vader blows an entire planet and their is implied torcher.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byTom Cruise Fan June 2, 2015

"Star Wars" movie review

"Star Wars" is arguably the most influential movie of all time. It's a movie that changed the fate cinema forever. Does "Star Wars" live up to the hype? Absolutely!! This movie is phenomenal. In 1977, people did not see anything like it before. To see this in 1977 is amazing. The movie has a great story. For an adventure film, it does everything right. It has a story that leads to adventure. Very rarely is there any time for the characters to breathe. The audience is constantly on the edge of their seats. It is such a fun movie to watch. The action and special effects make the story better. The final act of the movie is brilliant. The scenes in the Death Star are just so nerve-racking and so riveting. The scenery and production design is terrific. It's just terrific to look at. The cinematography in "Star Wars" is legendary. The transitions are excellent and awesome. One of my all-time favorite scenes in movie history is when Luke is upset with his family and then he goes outside and the binary sunset occurs. It's just a spectacular and sensational scene that was just pure beautiful. The characters make "Star Wars" memorable. Luke Skywalker played by Mark Hamill was very interesting. In the beginning, he was a whiny boy who throughout the trilogy matures into a great Jedi Knight. Alec Guinness plays Obi-Wan Kenobi, a former Jedi Knight who was put to exile after the death of Luke's father. Obi-Wan is a wise man as he tells Luke what the force really is. That scene when Luke meets Obi-Wan and he tells him about the force and Darth Vader was so emotional. Also, he has some thought-provoking lines such as "Who's the more foolish: the fool or the fool who follows him?" Now I'm going to talk about Darth Vader. This "man" is an evil soul. As Obi-Wan says Darth Vader killed Luke's father, Anakin and he also killed other Jedi Knights. Darth Vader is so menacing and the only villain scarier ever is the Joker from "The Dark Knight". Darth Vader has such a commanding presence and a commanding voice. No one on the face of this Earth wants to face him. Han Solo is my favorite character in the entire "Star Wars" saga. He is such a cool, suave character with great one-liners. Chewbacca and Princess Leia are both great, but they are more relevant in the next movie. The reason why I like "Star Wars" so much is because it expands our imagination. It is such a creative story and setting. Also the theme of having faith and what the force is is perfect. The ending when a surprising character comes to the rescue is just so cool. "Star Wars" is easily one of my all-time favorite movies. I think if you have not seen it, you absolutely should. It is a very creative and excellent movie and the one that changed cinema the most. As a young child, I liked this original "Star Wars" the most of the series because of the fun and adventurous story. Now I wouldn't say that. To me, the saga gets better and reaches its prime with "The Empire Strikes Back".
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages