All member reviews for Star Wars: Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 58 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpielberg00 May 29, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Slightly more intense than "A New Hope".

My rating: PG for sci-fi violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old April 25, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

The Empire Strikes Back is a classic for all to see

An excellent sequel filled with lots of action. This movie contains some kissing and some blood so watch out.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byEzio432 September 25, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

COMMON SENSE MEDIA STRIKES BADK AGAIN WITH A TOO STRICT REVIEW

One of the best Star Wars movies, but maybe your kids under age 11 wouldnt like it, MOST just like the prequels because they dont like 1980's films their age(I SAID MOST SO I WOULDNT BE PREJUDIST). Has fairly mild violence and a mild scene with Han and Leia kissing, nothing we havent seen in a rated G movie. Is dark and some little kids might be afraid of its scary parts, but not as bad as Episode 3. Overall, best movie in the series(but its tied with Attack of the Clones!)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old June 27, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

The Best!

By far the best of all the movies! Great acting and plot!
Kid, 10 years old January 16, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

The epic story continues.

Luke cuts off a monster's army and blood is everywhere. One of the all time sequels in cinema history.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byjohnthemon February 25, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

My favorite movie of all time.

Simply the best movie ever made in my opinion. A great visual effects extravaganza, a great character driven drama and it has the greatest movie twist of all time. How could anyone not love it? Much like the first movie, this should be required viewing for everyone. If you don't let your kids watch it, you're a bad parent.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byLoverNumber101 August 10, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

STAR WARS IS AWESOME!!

I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!
Kid, 10 years old September 15, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
amazing i watch it all the time
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old August 27, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
great,but might be a little intense for kids
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byjedihobbits September 26, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Awesome movie-A MUST see!

I love this movie so much and it is definitely the BEST Star Wars ever. It's a little more 'dark' than A New Hope but if you show them ANH then ESB just has to follow. There is only a little violence and Luke does get his arm cut off (as does a wampa) and there is some blood but not enough to really scare kids.Near the end there is some edge-of-your seat action. My 9 year old brother watched some (even though it was slightly forced) and liked the Yoda scenes. There isn't much sexual content but a kissing scene or 2 goes on between Han Solo and Princess Leia.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old June 21, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
STAR WARS IS SOOOOO AMAZING. DON'T YOU JUST LOVE THE PART WHERE THEY ARE IN THE WORMS MOUTH!!!!!! AMAZING!!!!!!
Kid, 11 years old February 2, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Genius Sci-Fi

Really a great story. George Lucas is genius. A little violent for kids 3 and under, but really just a genius movie. George Lucas is always amazing. Iffy for 4+.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old June 21, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

More violent than first but better

This is a great movie and it is pretty violent. It is better than the first one and kids will probably enjoy it more. The only violent parts are when there is an implied torture scene where Han gets burned
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old January 21, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
h-ll is said once by han solo
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old December 3, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good movie

It was a sad and good movie. It was funny, too.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byLoveOwenWilson September 10, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

everybody!!

it's a classic :) George Lucas is some guy!! had a kissing scene but was ok otherwise!! great entertainment....and for once i'm not afraid to say i like it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
A great film for people of all ages, although maybe not for the tiniest of kids, since there are some dark moments.
Kid, 12 years old August 29, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

worst of the worst, not best of the best.

this is the worst star wars, and it has some violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written by4kidshater June 24, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
This is a very good sequel. The star wars series is cool execpt for the prequels. I like this movie. Darth Vader is a butt-head villian in this movie. I like it. I reccomeded it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 28, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great for 8+

This is one of the best Star Wars movies. It's okay for 8+ in most parts, with less Stormtrooper-blasting then its prequel, but there are three violent scenes that are worse than others: a brief closeup of Han using Luke's lightsaber to cut the guts out of a Taun-Taun; a scene (admittedly, a dream) where Darth Vader is beheaded by Luke, although bloodlessly; and in the final battle (SPOILER) Darth Vader uses his laser blade to slice Luke's hand off of his arm. There is some kissing, but otherwise, besides one brief h-word, it's okay for kids. It's a fun movie with plenty of action.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages

Pages