All member reviews for Stardust

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Dazzling fantasy romcom has some dark moments.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 67 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byUncle Festorkian April 13, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Stardust. Our Family's Favorite.

I saw this movie twice in the theatres with friends and with my family. I watched it with my parents (who are very old-fashioned) and never once felt uncomfortable. This is a bit more violent than The Princess Bride but I think just as classic with a great mix of action, romance, and clean comedy. Awesome movie, don't rent it, just buy it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 5 and 11 year old Written byWife-mother-law... May 14, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Break the rules for this PG 13 movie: it's PG 11.

It's a lot of fun. My just shy of 11 year old has only seen one other PG13 movie: Harry Potter IV. This was more fun and the violence was far less serious. (We don't regret H.P. IV - though sometimes we feel like the only parents in the world who have tried to pace our child - she read it and was ready. Just. But this movie was totally fun and fine as the violence was silly. The one night stand resulting in pregnancy required the pause button, but we try to turn those awkward moments into opportunities. If your willing to help with unraveling the fun and fast paced plot and also talk about the violence and sex, this is a great movie to break the PG 13 rule on.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 8 and 8 year old Written byEzri_B April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Wonderful Grownup fairy tale

This was a wonderful movie, but it's really a grown ups fairy tale. I put it in league with the Labyrinth or Legend. It is beautiful, intellegent, creative, and magical. There is some violence. The killing of animals to see the future for instance is a bit gross, you don't see it, but you know it's happening. Overall it's great, but more for the older child and adults.
Adult Written byHeroneSilverton April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Extremely creative

I would have to say that this is the most interesting and creatice movie I have ever seen. I really, really enjoyed it. I thought it was going to be a dumb romance, but it wasn't. There is really not all that much romance, and what there is is made up for by the great plot. I laughed histerically at Robert DeNiro, and Michelle Pfieffer was great, she did a wonderful job. The killing of animals to tell the future was a bit gross, and the violence was actually quite scary at times, so it's a definite 12 and up movie. This is an extremely enjoyable movie, and great to watch with your kids.
Adult Written bymerlinls April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

PERFECT

This film offerd me a breath of fresh air. I am happy to see that others are interested in offering something of REAL content for our children so as to offer a platform of dialog beyond the boring "Status Quo." Thanks to all who participated in the creation of this remarkable film...
Adult Written byMovie Man August 17, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Outstanding, Original, and Oscar-Worthy!

This is an excellent, totally-original film. I loved it! I am a big fan of fantasy, and this is a masterpiece among fantasy films. The cast is great, including a surprising twist from Robeert DeNiro's characrter (trust me, you'll laugh yourself silly). And for those who need action to keep their interest, there are some cool fantasy action seuqences, especially the climax. This is a funny, touching, somewhat dark fantasy adventure with a solid opening, an intense, well-paced middle, and a wonderful ending. Magnificent!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bymaedhros April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Oh Come On...

Yes, there's a bit of magic and playful--note that, playful--violence, but overall a very good movie for children 9 and up. It teaches good morals about how to handle the world and what should be important.
Teen, 17 years old Written byKnowler March 11, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Bad witches but good people triumphs over them in this good movie.

Love it, but the only thing I'm worrying is the evil doings of the witches. however, I'm sure it'll be suitable for little kids to watch this exciting fantasy with parents sitting by their side. Parents, please look after your kids and reassure them that this is just a fiction tale.
Kid, 12 years old March 27, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Great movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old March 31, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Awesome!

There is a little bit of kissy stuff in it but I don't think that it would be very disturbing, also i rated it 10+ because there are a lot of slightly gory /gross things in it. over all I think that it is an awesome movie and it is extremely funny and a great family/comedy movie.
Parent of a 6, 10, and 12 year old Written byjjmmwgdp May 27, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
I really liked it a lot. My 6-yr-old was able to handle the gore and witches, but not all small children would. Didnt like the casual treatment of sex outside marriage, effeminacy, and killing (lot of that). However, none of these is flaunted, either, and do seem germane to the story. Furthermore there were a lot of humorous parts, clever plot twists and good basic messages: Dont confuse love and infatuation, care about your fellow man, do what is right even when it is hard, etc.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

awesome fantasy!!!!!!!!!

I LOVED this movie. it's a little romantic, a little violent, and it's kind of gross when they cut open amimals. but it's got awesome scenery, a really good story, and it was totally facinating! i loved it.
Parent of a 11 and 15 year old Written byjanetjam June 23, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Can be OK for 8 year olds; when in doubt, pre-view it yourself

My entire family enjoyed this movie. We saw it when our kids were 8 and 12 years old; we needed to help the 8 year old unravel some of the plot, but she wasn't scared by the violence (which was not very realistic, anyway). Robert deNiro's character opened up a discussion about the image we project to the world vs. who we really are and he was so fun to watch! My younger daughter still considers this 1 of her favorite movies (me, too). We like that they get into deep issues (love, loyalty, not judging people by their appearance) and the humor is intelligent.
Kid, 9 years old January 13, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
This movie rocked! Commonsensemedia was wrong: there is nudity. You don't see anything, but when the witch becomes young, she drops her clothes. Other than that, it was awesome!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

i loved it!!!!!!!!!!!

this is the best movie ever, but I think that it is labeled as too scary for kids 11 years old and older, but I'm here to tell you it's not scary at all my nine year old sister and 5 year old yes I said 5 year old brother could watch it and they both loved it. My favorite part is when captain Shakespeare dances around in the pink dress it is absolutely hilarious. this movie is not only tear-jerking it is also laugh-out-loud funny Once again... I loved it
Parent of a 10 year old Written bydandy June 3, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

stardust

I love this movie for myself but my should not be watching it! The language is mild (d**n, h**l, and idolt). But I must say it's a great movie! It has strong violence I must say. This is just as violent as The Mummy. Lots of kisses.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byJadenp March 12, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good, but in a way, creepy movie.

Suggested MPAA Rating: PG-13 for some fantasy violence, frightening/disturbing images, crude humor, and brief mild sensuality.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byGriffon April 3, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
It was a very good movie but the violence in it might be kind of scary for younger kids
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old July 4, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

violent

it's violent but has a good storyline the acting is good to.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old June 8, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Creppy but really good!

This is a very good movie! But i'm only 9 so it is not azactlly apporprite for my age! Thier is not much of anything bad not mentiooning the horrible violene! This is a great movie and I think that kids should watch it as long as they are with a trustworthy adult! And there is nothing to worry about!
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages