All member reviews for Sunshine

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 2 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byrobots in disguise April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I real sci fi movie! and kind of original too

I thought this movie was really good. There is nothing in it you wouldn't see or hear in a PG-13 movie except a few F words. It is kind of slow so little kids probably wouldn't like it anyway but for teens it is interesting. I want to own it
Teen, 15 years old Written bydamoviecritic April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

An excellant film

Wow. Up until the plot twist in the last quarter of the movie, Sunshine was, in my mind, one of the best Sci-fi movies I had seen in a long time. That is, until the movie turns into a slasher flick and becomes confusing and muddled. The scene that involved ripping the fleswh off of one charactor's arm was particularly over the top. However, this movie highlighted a flaw in the rating system. Because there were a few F bombs dropped, it was given an R rating. Think of it as a violent PG-13.
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Sunshine

An awesome movie overall. It's probably not for kids, since it's thematically complex and a bit slow-paced, but teens and up will enjoy themselves. It's visually stunning, entertaining, and often very intense. I also think that this almost could've been PG-13. If one or two violent moments and f-words had been cut, it would've been PG-13, easily.
Teen, 14 years old Written by19_am June 13, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

beautiful!!! my favourite sci fi!!! I saw it too young, though!!!

My favourite movie of all time! I'd call it on for 14, cause I saw it at 12 and the only issues were cussing and the (SPOILER ALERT!!!) suicide of Trey, and frozen Harvey... If you think your kid can understand the psychology of the characters' violence and plentiful cussing (f---ing s--t b--ch a--hole), and still get the beautiful story of humanity's greatest sacrifices, then I'd say to let them see it. Under 13- one might get some serious bad vibes. No go.
Teen, 16 years old Written byCRITIC007 December 22, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Beautiful movie but very mature. Dont let young kids watch this
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bytwilightfan2459 February 8, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
I cant remember exactly what happened as it was a few years ago that i watched this but its was an epic movie it was amazinf ok so there was some swearing but nowadays you cant avoid it so why not watch it in a film lol i no i was probably too young to watch it but it didnt bother me as i was quite mature and could see the difference between real life and fantasy, mature tweens could watch this with supervision from parents
Teen, 13 years old Written bymisschelseadawn April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I loved this movie!

This is probably one of the awsomest movies i've ever scene! its very good. i think everyone should see it!!
Kid, 12 years old March 23, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

A Movie I'll See When I'm Older

I'm a huge fan of sci-fi, but I'll see this when I'm older.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing