All member reviews for Taken 2

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Less violent, more sympathetic sequel delivers the thrills.
 

Users say

(out of 37 reviews)
age 13+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byFILMCRITIC500 October 6, 2012
age 14+
 

Taken sequel is more violent than the first, more brutal

this excellent sequel to the equaly awesome Taken is one of my favorite films of the year. and that means it had to have nonstop action, explosive fight scenes, and great acting. and Taken 2 delivers that in an hour and a half and brutal violence. people are beating with pipes and bare hands, have there necks snapped, and are even stabbed with scissors. one scene shows a women hanging upside down, while her blood exits through a cut in her throat. otherwise, there are explosions, gunfights, chases, and suspensul scenes. older teens who are into hard hitting action with enjoy this thriller
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old October 6, 2012
age 12+
 

Taken 2 is awsome

An awsome action packed film which is even better than the first film. It's not as voilent as the first film and the characters are more easier to like. Me and my mates were watching this after school so it was nice to relax. The movie has a interesting villan and liam nesson is a living legend!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bymovie loving teen October 7, 2012
age 14+
 

A dissapointing sequel to a good movie.

This movie is slighlty more brutaly violent then the first one. But its only less then half as good as the first. It more about a family bonding in a more violent manner.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byHeyArnold August 16, 2013
age 17+
 

Taken 2 sucks

I thought this was a good movie but I was disappointed ! First of all, the connection Albanian Mafia - Islam is wrong. The Northern Albanian mafia is lead by "Kanuni i Lekë Dukagjinit" a unique "constitution" that dates back to the 1400s and which still some northern Albanians apply. If you know how does the kanun laws work, you will laugh when you'll watch the movie. Yet, there is an awful connection here, Murad's son's name Marku ! How can a muslim bare that name ? Since we are talking about fanatic muslims here, that name is "offside"... The name Mark, Marku is a catholic name widely spread in northern Albania, but not among muslims. For god's sake how can i watch a movie in which i see fanatic muslims and one of them having a catholic name ? Also the fight scenes reminded me those Chuck Norris movies i used to watch when i was younger... The part in which Bryan and his wife get kidnapped is nice, but yet one of the details made me laugh for a good minute... Ok, he was able to hear the ship's noise, but how did he notice a flag waving ? Remember though he was inside a car with a sack on his head ! All in all, i think that this movie has a good storyline, but the details really suck... There are a lot of reasons that make me believe this movie is a kind of propaganda. Since it's one of the latest trends blaming it all on islam, the director of this movie ( i don't know he is) must have thought how to make a movie which talks about European terrorist Muslims. What i really know is that, the person who gave the information and helped with the Albanian part of the film is a Serbian from Kosovo... ! That's too much, seriously. This way, they would take the information needed from a negative viewpoint of the Albanians, which was exactly what they needed ! So the details weren't that important in this movie (considering how important they usually are in other Hollywood movies) and this fact made me believe that what really matters in this movie is the "message".
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byShivom Oza October 10, 2012
age 12+
 

Taken 2 Review by Shivom Oza – Takes Us In Yet Again

After daughter Kim gets kidnapped in ‘Taken’ (2009), it’s the parents’ turn. Ex-CIA operative Bryan Mills finds himself in the middle of yet anther kidnapping. His own! Action-packed just like the first film in the franchise! Don’t go in finding logic, there’s none. However, the 90-minutes-long (pleasantly short) film cuts in some breathtaking stunts, witty dialogues, charming father-daughter bonding and lots of illogical plot-points! Works well, if all you’re looking for is entertainment. After the events in Paris in ‘Taken’, the family members of the men whom Bryan Mills (Liam Neeson) killed while looking for his kidnapped daughter, Kim (Maggie Grace), return to their homeland Tropojë, Albania, for the funeral. Here, Murad Hoxha (Rade Šerbedžija), the leader of the slain men and the father of Marko, whom Bryan killed through electrocution, declares that they will find their culprit to avenge the loss of their loved ones. Bryan, meanwhile, is trying to get closer to his daughter. Although he gives her driving lessons frequently, it is only until recently that he finds out that she has a boyfriend. Playing the over-protective father to the T, Bryan lands up at the boy’s residence to get Kim back. Kim’s mother, Lenore (Famke Janssen), meanwhile, is drifting away from her present husband. After her husband cancels Lenore’s and Kim’s holiday to China, Bryan suggests that the two accompany him to Istanbul. What Bryan doesn’t know is Murad and his people are aware of his whereabouts. So they are followed all the way to Istanbul. Bryan and Lenore get kidnapped. All Bryan has is a communicating device through which he can keep in touch with his daughter Kim, who is hiding away in a closet in a hotel room in Istanbul. Bryan lets Kim to open his suitcase, wherein all his equipment has been kept. Through some weird topography, Bryan figures out his own location using his daughter’s help. Bryan asks Kim to throw grenades in the middle of nowhere on a deserted terrace just so that he can figure out his distance by hearing the sound. Yes, Bizarre but it’s the movies! We all know what happens in the end. Who knows if there’ll be a third film! However, ‘Taken 2’ is quite enjoyable. Who goes in looking for logic in these films anyway? The chase sequences on the streets of Istanbul have been shot excellently. Even the action sequences are brilliantly choreographed. The background score of the film is fairly good. Overall, the film promises a great mix of action and entertainment and delivers to a great extent. The cast, thankfully, does a wonderful job. Liam Neeson still packs a punch! Director Olivier Megaton delivers a fairly good action film. Although there is nothing extraordinary about the writing, the story is simple to understand. Action films can work without weird aliases, biological warfare and all that razzmatazz. And yes, shorter lengths can work wonders! Shivom Oza
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bywonder dove May 24, 2013
age 12+
 

Good sequel, the first is better!!!

Taken 2 was pretty good, but not near as thrilling as the first one. It does have some plot holes and seemed to go by really fast, but if you don't mind that and just want to enjoy a good movie, then you will like it. It seemed a bit more violent than the first, unlike CommonSense suggests. However, it did lack the skillful fist fight action that was most enjoyable from the first film. This one had more gun shootings than anything. This sequel features the three visiting Istanbul for Bryan's business trip, but this time the parents are captured by the father of the man named Marco who kidnapped Kim from the first film - because Bryan killed him and the father wants revenge. Bryan and Lenore's daughter Kim must take orders from her dad in order to save them. When he gets loose, he and Kim must come up with some fast plans to save Lenore before it's too late. The thing I liked most about the first film is that it did not only deliver fantastic action and edge-of-your-seat thrills...but was also emotional. This one has little emotion. Violence is very strong with shootings, chasings, explosions, some fighting, a man slits a woman's throat and hangs her upside down, a woman is told she will be sent home piece-by-piece (set of knives shown), car chases. Sexual content includes a girl making out with her boyfriend on a couch but gets interrupted, a kiss between a man & ex-wife, references to rape. Language has uses of sh*t, b@sterd, goddamn and no "f" words that I recall. Some drinking & smoking. Definitely worth a watch, seems safe for the 13+ range.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byemcfa3000 May 27, 2013
age 8+
 

Watch it

Not as good as the first one, but much more suitable. Very good film, action packed, pretty suitable, some violence of course.
Kid, 12 years old March 27, 2013
age 10+
 

BRILLIANT FILM SOME STRONG VIOLENCE!!!

Taken 2 was an excellent film but has a few scenes of strong violence,a man gets stabbed in the leg with a scissors,a woman is hung upside down with a slit in her neck so she will die slowly and a flashback of a man being electrocuted. Apart from that it is just shooting and explosions and not much more extreme violence.I would say it is OK for a 10 year old but that is my opinion and some 10 (or 11year olds) might not be able to handle it. In my opinion it was not bad at all. The only reason I am putting it as a pause on 10 is because of the two scenes of torture. Liam Neeson played his character very well and it will most likely be the last Taken film because who else could the bad guys kidnap. This movie was great and I can not wait to see the first one (I was not allowed to see it because it is 18+)
Parent Written bydavidrox March 21, 2013
age 13+
 

Great in some ways....

Taken 2 is a good, smart, but very violent and intense movie featuring Liam Neeson as the main star. It has many interesting plot points and interested me personally a lot. It was a lot different then the first movie which I also enjoyed. The violence though is pretty bad. Guns, shooting, blood drips, stabs, knife cuts, fist to fist fighting, all extremely intense and violent. Language includes a couple d*** its, and some of S**T! The sex only gets as bad as a girl in a bikini, and make out session on a couch. I give this movie 7.5/10 I suggest kids 13 and up can see this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byRockindude905 January 19, 2013
age 9+
 

Super Good!!!

Great movie! Not as good as original but still really good! Violence should be your number one worry, occasional cursing brings up prostitution but none is really shown.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old July 20, 2015
age 12+
 

Not as good as one

This was ok. It was more inappropriate and cheesier than the first but it was still good. The scene where Kim kisses her boyfriend is kind of bad but you don't miss anything if you skip it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent Written byGarrett50Cal June 15, 2015
age 12+
 

Taken 2 is okay for pre-teens and older.

Taken 2 is the sequel to the first Taken. I think Taken 2 is slightly more violent with brutal scenes including stabbing and cutting others with a pair of scissors. language isn't to bad with words like sh*t and da**. This movie is okay for your child if he/she is mature enough to withstand language and a little bit of violence.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byMavrah333 May 30, 2015
age 12+
 

Satisfactory sequel has mixed mesages.

This sequel is probably even with its predecessor. It returns to the thrills and spills of its predecessor, and brings back the majority of the cast. It is nothing special, but the sequel is good enough to keep you entertained.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 8 years old May 20, 2015
age 15+
 

Very violent thriller has torture, and lots of disturbing images.

My rating R: for strong brutal violence, and some disturbing images, including language.
Teen, 13 years old Written byrebo344 January 24, 2015
age 14+
 

Ok, but not as good as the original.

2 and a half stars. This time, it's not as violent as the original. Liam Nesson is and will always be a great actor.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byerica921 January 12, 2015
Adult Written byzeekattacklee January 6, 2015
age 14+
 

Taken 2 Review..

A wonderful sequel to the first.. But, Due of the intense sequences of violence, Parents need to think about this movie before deciding show this to there Young adults.. Otherwise, a great film for mature teenagers ages 14 and up..
What other families should know
Too much violence
Written byAnonymous November 25, 2014
age 15+
 

Much improved sequel is as violent as the first but better plot

My rating:R for violence,sexual content and nudity
Adult Written bykipwalker44 October 22, 2014
age 13+
 

Pointless sequel is completely incoherent and a huge waste of time

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bygranth October 13, 2014
age 12+
 

The sequel to the famous Neeson trilogy

Taken 2 is about Bryan Mills as he attempts to save his family from the relatives he killed in the first movie. Similar to the first movie, most action are gunshots, an occasional torture, knives.Not much sexual tension or drinking, Same amount of language as the last film.Cant wait for the sequel next January

Pages