All parent member reviews for Taken 2

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 11 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bywonder dove May 24, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good sequel, the first is better!!!

Taken 2 was pretty good, but not near as thrilling as the first one. It does have some plot holes and seemed to go by really fast, but if you don't mind that and just want to enjoy a good movie, then you will like it. It seemed a bit more violent than the first, unlike CommonSense suggests. However, it did lack the skillful fist fight action that was most enjoyable from the first film. This one had more gun shootings than anything. This sequel features the three visiting Istanbul for Bryan's business trip, but this time the parents are captured by the father of the man named Marco who kidnapped Kim from the first film - because Bryan killed him and the father wants revenge. Bryan and Lenore's daughter Kim must take orders from her dad in order to save them. When he gets loose, he and Kim must come up with some fast plans to save Lenore before it's too late. The thing I liked most about the first film is that it did not only deliver fantastic action and edge-of-your-seat thrills...but was also emotional. This one has little emotion. Violence is very strong with shootings, chasings, explosions, some fighting, a man slits a woman's throat and hangs her upside down, a woman is told she will be sent home piece-by-piece (set of knives shown), car chases. Sexual content includes a girl making out with her boyfriend on a couch but gets interrupted, a kiss between a man & ex-wife, references to rape. Language has uses of sh*t, b@sterd, goddamn and no "f" words that I recall. Some drinking & smoking. Definitely worth a watch, seems safe for the 13+ range.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written bydavidrox March 21, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great in some ways....

Taken 2 is a good, smart, but very violent and intense movie featuring Liam Neeson as the main star. It has many interesting plot points and interested me personally a lot. It was a lot different then the first movie which I also enjoyed. The violence though is pretty bad. Guns, shooting, blood drips, stabs, knife cuts, fist to fist fighting, all extremely intense and violent. Language includes a couple d*** its, and some of S**T! The sex only gets as bad as a girl in a bikini, and make out session on a couch. I give this movie 7.5/10 I suggest kids 13 and up can see this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byShivom Oza October 10, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Taken 2 Review by Shivom Oza – Takes Us In Yet Again

After daughter Kim gets kidnapped in ‘Taken’ (2009), it’s the parents’ turn. Ex-CIA operative Bryan Mills finds himself in the middle of yet anther kidnapping. His own! Action-packed just like the first film in the franchise! Don’t go in finding logic, there’s none. However, the 90-minutes-long (pleasantly short) film cuts in some breathtaking stunts, witty dialogues, charming father-daughter bonding and lots of illogical plot-points! Works well, if all you’re looking for is entertainment. After the events in Paris in ‘Taken’, the family members of the men whom Bryan Mills (Liam Neeson) killed while looking for his kidnapped daughter, Kim (Maggie Grace), return to their homeland Tropojë, Albania, for the funeral. Here, Murad Hoxha (Rade Šerbedžija), the leader of the slain men and the father of Marko, whom Bryan killed through electrocution, declares that they will find their culprit to avenge the loss of their loved ones. Bryan, meanwhile, is trying to get closer to his daughter. Although he gives her driving lessons frequently, it is only until recently that he finds out that she has a boyfriend. Playing the over-protective father to the T, Bryan lands up at the boy’s residence to get Kim back. Kim’s mother, Lenore (Famke Janssen), meanwhile, is drifting away from her present husband. After her husband cancels Lenore’s and Kim’s holiday to China, Bryan suggests that the two accompany him to Istanbul. What Bryan doesn’t know is Murad and his people are aware of his whereabouts. So they are followed all the way to Istanbul. Bryan and Lenore get kidnapped. All Bryan has is a communicating device through which he can keep in touch with his daughter Kim, who is hiding away in a closet in a hotel room in Istanbul. Bryan lets Kim to open his suitcase, wherein all his equipment has been kept. Through some weird topography, Bryan figures out his own location using his daughter’s help. Bryan asks Kim to throw grenades in the middle of nowhere on a deserted terrace just so that he can figure out his distance by hearing the sound. Yes, Bizarre but it’s the movies! We all know what happens in the end. Who knows if there’ll be a third film! However, ‘Taken 2’ is quite enjoyable. Who goes in looking for logic in these films anyway? The chase sequences on the streets of Istanbul have been shot excellently. Even the action sequences are brilliantly choreographed. The background score of the film is fairly good. Overall, the film promises a great mix of action and entertainment and delivers to a great extent. The cast, thankfully, does a wonderful job. Liam Neeson still packs a punch! Director Olivier Megaton delivers a fairly good action film. Although there is nothing extraordinary about the writing, the story is simple to understand. Action films can work without weird aliases, biological warfare and all that razzmatazz. And yes, shorter lengths can work wonders! Shivom Oza
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byerica921 January 12, 2015
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byzeekattacklee January 6, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Taken 2 Review..

A wonderful sequel to the first.. But, Due of the intense sequences of violence, Parents need to think about this movie before deciding show this to there Young adults.. Otherwise, a great film for mature teenagers ages 14 and up..
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bykipwalker44 October 22, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Pointless sequel is completely incoherent and a huge waste of time

What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 3, 10, and 18 year old Written byKate101 May 17, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Is this movie any good?

It is the 2nd to best action move there is! Liam Neeson is the BEST action-packed actor there is. I personally love this movie, seen is 100 times. AWESOME!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Parent Written byHeyArnold August 16, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Taken 2 sucks

I thought this was a good movie but I was disappointed ! First of all, the connection Albanian Mafia - Islam is wrong. The Northern Albanian mafia is lead by "Kanuni i Lekë Dukagjinit" a unique "constitution" that dates back to the 1400s and which still some northern Albanians apply. If you know how does the kanun laws work, you will laugh when you'll watch the movie. Yet, there is an awful connection here, Murad's son's name Marku ! How can a muslim bare that name ? Since we are talking about fanatic muslims here, that name is "offside"... The name Mark, Marku is a catholic name widely spread in northern Albania, but not among muslims. For god's sake how can i watch a movie in which i see fanatic muslims and one of them having a catholic name ? Also the fight scenes reminded me those Chuck Norris movies i used to watch when i was younger... The part in which Bryan and his wife get kidnapped is nice, but yet one of the details made me laugh for a good minute... Ok, he was able to hear the ship's noise, but how did he notice a flag waving ? Remember though he was inside a car with a sack on his head ! All in all, i think that this movie has a good storyline, but the details really suck... There are a lot of reasons that make me believe this movie is a kind of propaganda. Since it's one of the latest trends blaming it all on islam, the director of this movie ( i don't know he is) must have thought how to make a movie which talks about European terrorist Muslims. What i really know is that, the person who gave the information and helped with the Albanian part of the film is a Serbian from Kosovo... ! That's too much, seriously. This way, they would take the information needed from a negative viewpoint of the Albanians, which was exactly what they needed ! So the details weren't that important in this movie (considering how important they usually are in other Hollywood movies) and this fact made me believe that what really matters in this movie is the "message".
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byLucinaPshegubj December 14, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

I Love It

It was really a great movie ! It's better than the first movie, but still They show Muslims as the bad guys, people should know that the movie doesn't show Muslims in general !
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byjoshua martinez October 10, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

13 and up.

this second sequel taken 2 is a great action movie but honestly not better then the first one taken 2 has all the action that your teens will definitely want to enjoy with that being said the movie is best left for your teens and parents you need to know that taken 2 has some intense violence some mild language used and some smoking and drinking used.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking