Common Sense Media says

Violent, disturbing rescue/revenge thriller isn't for kids.

Users say

(out of 128 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byTom Cruise Fan October 3, 2014

Taken movie review

I really liked "Taken". Before this movie came out, Liam Neeson was more of a comedy star. He wasn't really an action movie star. "Taken" was the movie that boosted Liam Neeson's career. This movie is basically the remake of "Commando". The first 20 minutes of the movie was a little bit slow. After the kidnap, the movie started to gain momentum and it was a fast paced thrill ride. "Taken" shows just how bad-ass Liam Neeson really is. His character really has been through so many experiences as a CIA agent. The action in this movie was mind-blowing. "Taken" has some of the best action scenes I have ever seen in a movie. The screenplay for the movie is amazing. It was just so interesting and the entire plot was riveting. The cast of "Taken" was fine. I liked all of the acting. That being said, there are few problems with "Taken". One thing I can't stand in movies is shaky camera unless it is handled well. In this case, it wasn't. The shaky camera wasn't all that good. Also, Maggie Grace can get over-dramatic at times. Other than that, "Taken" was amazing. It was one of my favorite movies of 2009. I do think that parents should not let their younger children watch this movie. This movie deals with the underworld of sex slavery. For older teens, this movie is a must watch.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old April 27, 2014
LEARNING

Liam Neeson is on fire!

Taken is excellent! This movie should be seen by people aged 13 and up because of the torture scene which is very disturbing which will scare the pants off kids. Also there is a bit of language like the s word and a**hole but it isn't frequent. Hand to hand punching violence is Brutal but shootout scenes isn't because of little blood showing. If you are 13 you will adore this film you will love the action, tension and epic acting.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byMissPretty175 November 29, 2013

Creepy...

Well, this is what sadly sometimes happens. Kids are getting more mature nowadays, so I think it is only right they should know what's going on in their world, even if it is sad. It IS scary, so kids, watch it with someone older than you. At first it is a little boring, but it gets really good.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bydarthsitkur November 10, 2013

wicked intense, I loved it :-)

wow, Liam Neeson was not messin around lol, this movie has tons of intense action and nail biting suspense, I was on the edge of my seat the entire time, and I actually bought myself the uncut version, which is a lot more hardcore than the theatrical one
Adult Written bymoviemaker201 October 26, 2013

Taken

A truly great action thriller. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time while I was watching.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old September 30, 2013

Shocking violence about prostitution

Common sense are wrong to give this two stars, its a good, entertaining film! Although its an 18, its not as shocking as you might think but it does has shocking gory violence and you might get the question: "Whats prostitution?" from kids about 8 or 9 but TEN OR UP
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byThedude57447434 September 1, 2013

M thoughts

This movies plot has a great plot really solid A+ film but know your kids this plot does scare easy and it makes someone who is possibly a parent think "are we safe if we take this vacation"
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byYankeesfan33 August 1, 2013

Fun to watch, but also very disturbing.

Parents need to know that Taken can be EXTREMELY disturbing at times. A girl is kidnapped by thugs in her own apartment (which can make people feel VERY uncomfortable; I watched this in Europe and I was disturbed for days). There are scenes involving a twisted sex trafficking ring and scenes with a lot of hand-to-hand violence, as well as a scene involving a man being tortured. That said, the main protagonist will stop at nothing to protect his daughter from harm, making him a great role model. All in all, a great, if not very uncomfortable to watch, action thriller for older teens and up.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byTip yap July 17, 2013

Bad-ass Liam Neeson... AWSOME

This shows Liam Neeson in one of his best performances in a violent but not bloody film with brief disturbing and iffy moments involving prostitutes great if your mature if not don't watch watch it
Kid, 11 years old January 21, 2013

Very violent but best for teens

I thought when I saw the middle of the movie it was very shocking A very hard 'PG-13' film but acting, action, plot and end was good But think before you watch Taken younger than 14 will get scared And disturbed by the slow motion scenes and when Kim gets taken Also UNDER 14 SHOULD NOT WATCH EXTENDED CUT HAS MORE VIOLENCE AND DETAIL
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byRockindude905 January 19, 2013

very good!............. for double digits

Great movie they do talk about drugs but it is more about a father who tries to save his daughter from a life of prostitution theres barely any actual sexual contact . Of course Bryon kills alot of people but it is only to save his daughter
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byGamerevier December 25, 2012

14 and up

Violence 7/10 sex 6/10 cussing 6/10 drugs/drinking/smoking 3/10 Good movie but pretty disturbing and sad it's also pretty violent and evolves prostotution So it's OK for 14 +i would rate this R for brutal strong violence including torture sexual content language and disturbing content
Adult Written bywonder dove November 3, 2012

Very well made!

One of my "go to" movies when I'm in the mood for a fast paced action flick! Liam Neeson is amazing, I love him. This story is very intense and brutal. It's hard to believe that this trafficking business is going on in our world right now! Very scary and also depressing. Bryan refuses to let his (sort of immature acting) 17 year old daughter travel to Paris with her best friend until he is pressured by not only his ex-wife, but his daughter Kim as well. He gives in and lets her go only to find out she's traveling across Europe too. Kim and her friend are then taken by Albanians (while Kim talks to her father over the phone) and the intense action begins. Bryan will stop at nothing to get her back and uses his unique set of skills to find her. Lots and lots of violence/fights/shootings, sexual content includes prostitution and women sold as slaves, some language (not too bad) and women are drugged. I don't think anyone under 14 will enjoy it or even understand the meaning - good for 15++.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old July 22, 2012

Taken

It was a good movie and Liam neeson did amazing, and there are positive messages about saving your loved ones. It is filled with sex refrences, sex, violence, (a mild electric torture scene) but it is a good movie overall
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byabbacus June 5, 2012

Really good!

I thought it was a good movie. There is a lot of violence (hardly any blood, however), a lot of sex (not really shown, but stuff about prostitutes), smoking and drugs, and a fair amount of language. I'd say it's pushing the PG-13 rating.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byFILMCRITIC500 April 23, 2012

epic adventure film is high on beatings. OK for teens

this is a perfect film for young action fans who love fast paced, quick action. speaking of action, there is plenty, but is not that graphic. there are explosions, gunfights, fistfights and beatings, torture with eletrocuting and choking, and plenty of fighting. Bryan shoots someones wife. lots of strong language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bycarl jr February 22, 2012

good action movie

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byliltrout February 5, 2012

Life-Changing Perspective.

Wow, this movie really put the world into perspective. When watching this movie for the first time, I was actually watching it with a group of friends, none of which who had seen the movie before. The second the movie started, I was attached! Watching two teenage girls, around the age of me, get kidnapped, really made me think twice of my surroundings and made me a lot more alert! It was defiantly incredible to watch her father accomplish such life-changing obstacles to save her daughter! Watching that was really heart-filling especially when he did find her at the end. Overall, I would describe this movie as Mournful and Suspenseful!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old February 2, 2012

Yesssss

Liam Neeson greatest film ever. He will find you then kill you! Favorite movie :p
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written byWr4ithSl4yer January 8, 2012

What is Wrong With the reviewers on this sight?

This is a movie about how far a father is willing to go to get his father back from bad people. anyone who doesnt let their kids see this is insane
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages