All member reviews for Taxi Driver

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Portrait of a very disturbed man; NOT for kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 29 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 3 and 7 year old Written bykelldeal October 12, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

good for ages 20 and not for tweens!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written bySuperParent August 29, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A Martin Scorsese Classic

Robert De Niro is Terrific as the Taxi Driver, Martin Scorses Classic! but does involve a 12-year old prostitute and a man taking his girlfriend to a porn theater! we see man's buttcheek's during that scene, but other than that its great, but it does contain graphic violence at the very end of the film, we a man's hand get blown off with a gun and we see blood spurt from the missing part of the hand, we also see a man get shot in the face several times, we see blood spurt from his face, and then we see a man get his hand stabbed, we see blood spurt from the wound, and then he is shot in the head, we see blood and brains spray from the head onto the wall, we also see a man shot in the neck, we see blood spurt from the wound, this ending contains lots of blood and brutality
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bythesturgmachine February 15, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Shouldn't be R18+

It really isn't that bad, not really violent till the end. It's all fine for 12 but the themes probably plus it to 13. Still, 12 isn't too bad.
Teen, 15 years old Written bywho3697cares November 12, 2008
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Too disturbing for kids

While Taxi Driver is a very excellent movie, it is simply far too disturbing for kids and most teenagers. It's best to see this when you're an adult and you have more complex understandings of things.
Teen, 13 years old Written byBestMovieEver May 27, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Almost NC-17 in 1976, Moderate R in 2010.

Violence for this almost NC-17 rated movie is one of the best. The only problems I feel parents might not feel comfortable about is the violent climatic ending. But in a side note in order to get an R rating at that time (1976) they hade to turn the saturation to make the crimson blood to dark blood. Some scene's in porn theaters are quite sensual, but the 1 out of the 2 times it's shown the screen is out of focus. Travis is a psychopath by the way, so I guess not too good role models either. But if your children can handle this complex masterpiece, I say go for it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byoctober1985 July 10, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
I saw it when I was 11 and thought it was pretty good. It's not that violent until the end of the movie, one character is a 12 year old prostitute, not too bad.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written by3rdPersonPerspective March 22, 2015
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

A remarkably well-made film with much mature content

Robert De Niro delivers one of his most iconic performances in his career in Taxi Driver. Director Scorsese pulls off an incredible film, fraught with very mature content. Sex, pornography, and prostitution play key roles in this film, although no explicit nudity is shown. And, while there isn't as much swearing as we might expect from a Scorsese film, the F-word is still heard multiple times. Finally, the film culminates with several characters firing firearms at each other: fingers are shot off, blood flows freely, and multiple characters die. The audience watches the lead role (Travis Bickle) as he struggles with insomnia, coming face to face with the darker side of society. This anti-hero offers a depressing and cynical outlook on the struggle against the morally corrupt, and while there is a glimmer of hope at the film's end, the road leading up to it is sad and full of profanities. I personally enjoyed it, but there are very heavy themes being conveyed.
Educator Written byLionelRowdy March 17, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

A really enjoyable film

This definitely isn't for young kids. Theres quite a bit of cursing and and some sexual content (a man goes to pornos and a 12 year old girl is a prostitute.) You never see much besides some salty scenes at the porno theatre, but there is an awkward amount of sexual talk about the young girl. Personally, I didn't find the violence to be excessive. There were guns used throughout the film as Travis prepared to assassinate the senator, but there was no real violence up until the last scenes. I'd rate this movie as being appropriate for mature teenagers. While I don't think the films sexual content/language/violence/drug use is anything worse than what high schoolers have already been exposed to through the media and their peers, the plot is complicated. Had I watched this film as a young teen, I think I would have either been confused or bored as heck. So in short, I would not be upset to find that my 13 year old had viewed this film, however, it would probably be very awkward to watch on family movie night.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bymistahmata December 18, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Flawlwss, but disturbing

Taxi Driver is a movie by the legendary director Martin Scorsese and stars Robert de Niro and its about a NY taxi driver who starts to lose his grip on reality. Now I'm going to be honest, i watch a lot of movies and I critque them very harshly so its very hard to impress me. However, This is one of my favorite movies of all time and one of the greatest movies ever made. Robert de Niro is a revelation in this movie giving one of the most complex and 3 dimensional performances of his career. Martin Scorsese also directs the movie extremely well (as usual) in a way where he almost makes the city of New York a secondary character. It has an amazing screenplay and also has amazing cinematography and a great soundtrack. That being said this is a very dark, mature, and disturbing movie that should be viewed by kids that are ready for it. There is not a lot of violence until the closing minutes where a shootout gets bloody and disturbing. There is about 25 f bombs and some scenes take place in an adult theater. Plus, the complexity of the main character and the descent into madness he takes can only really be appreciated by the minds that can handle it. Only you know your kids. In the end, this is an incredible movie with fantastic performances, directing, and writing. I highly recommend it it is one of the best movies I've ever seen, Taxi Driver gets an A+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bypulpfiction August 3, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A classic that everyone should see at one point in their life

This film is one of the greatest ever made, and definitely one of the most emotionally affecting. It's a very serious and tough depiction of the mind of a twisted, but not evil, nobody in the everyday world, and Robert de Niro gives one of the greatest performances ever onscreen. Travis Bickle, the protagonist, does monologue about many political, philosophical, and psychological things, and a lot of visual symbolism is expressed throughout, so that's why I think only a maturer audience would be able to understand and enjoy the film to it's fullest. The sexual content is only hinted at rather than fully exposed, and the violence isn't too horrible, so I'm pretty sure most would be able to handle it. Parents should also know that Travis is actually a 'psychopath' as CSM says, but instead an anti-hero, as he has too much passion & emotion, and too many morals, and the reason why he is praised for his violent actions is actually meant to be ironic. All in all, this is a film that could teach the crippled to walk and the blind to see, one that could change the lives of many, and one that every single person should definitely watch, no matter how dark it is.
Kid, 10 years old April 20, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

The brilliant character study ,not for young kids ,haunting eerie and masterful

Taxi Driver is a brilliant nightmarish potrayal of a disturbed man with a large and great impact . It is a Brilliant psychological character study ,superb psychological thriller , a great drama , a perfect exploration of street crime and a wonderful insight of themes such as loneliness ,hatred ,anger ,jealousy and a great view on on an unstable mind . A great character study with brilliant direction ,psychological insights ,superb score ,top notch subtle acting and an eerie desolate feel .Travis although alienating ,is a character which everybody can relate to . Really iconic and a definitive masterpiece effect . Yet the themes ,sexual content ,language,eerie study of one mans mind and a graphically violent shoot out make this a must see for adults and mature teenagers
Teen, 13 years old Written byrbrooksie12 April 11, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

rbrooksie12 "Taxi Driver"

"Taxi Driver" is Robert De Niro's and Martin Scorsese's first major collaboration. This film tells the tale of a disturbed taxi driver who saves a teenage prostitute. "Taxi Driver" is a masterpiece but definetly not a film for kids under the age of 16. Rated R for Suggestive Dialogue, Language, Sexuality, and Violence
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byexa121RC April 1, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Too violent for many children but still one of my favorites

I watched this movie a few months ago with my 2 (then) friends. To start off with the acting, of course Robert De Niro's performance is brilliant (he got an Oscar nomination for this one) and for a young teenager, Jodie Foster did a good job as well (she's a solid, very talented actress in the general AND she's got decent looks). The plot was solid, relatively easy to follow and not dumbed down at the same time but the character development was probably the best with all 3 of us getting really attached to Travis (DeNiro's character). The main concerns are the quite graphic violence with plenty of shootouts and some fairly bloody scenes (the final apartment shootout being the worst), also swearing is high and there are implications of sex. Overall it's a great movie and one of my favorites but it's probably best for teens & up, not as graphic as Pulp Fiction but still inappropriate for your average 11 year old.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 3, 7, 9, 14, 16, and 17 year old Written bygreatperson November 20, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

The movie contains graphic disturbing material along with porn.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written bygrapelover46 September 13, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Lots of nudity, EXTREMELY VIOLENT AND PROFANE, not for kids.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byharris231 September 10, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Definately too violent for kids.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bydarkknightrises232 July 14, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Nudity and violence are big issues along with profanity.

Disturding, violent scenes through out along with graphic nudity and uses of motherf--ker, c--t, s--t, and pu--y.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byLedZepFan98 June 11, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Lots of Sex, Violence and Profanity

For ages 15
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byTHE MOVIE BUF!!!!! July 12, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Very good

The sexual content is very large the violence is very graphic the language has many bad words the word c**t is used once f**k is used a lot
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 5 and 8 year old Written bymeljen June 8, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Interesting potential, HEAVY sexual content

I rate this 3 stars simply because the acting by Robert De Niro was amazing (as always). The concept of his downward spiral was interestingly written. However, it is a dark movie with harsh language, sexual expletives and sexual content. There is some pretty graphic sexual content in the porn theater scenes. Frontal nudity may not be shown, but sound effects and discussion from various characters about sexual themes are frequent. The child prostitute is very forward about her activities (as is her 'pimp') and a lot of sexual references encircling this theme are very heavy and disturbing. In short, this movie would be incredibly offensive to people who do not like sexual content. The overall content is based on it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages