Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for Taxi Driver

Common Sense says

'70s classic is extremely violent; lots of sex, language.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 13 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 31 reviews
Parent of a 3, 7, 9, 14, 16, and 17 year old Written bygreatperson November 20, 2012

The movie contains graphic disturbing material along with porn.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byJoe J. March 9, 2017

Put simply, a masterpiece. My fav of the 1970's.

Adult Written bydarkknightrises232 July 14, 2012

Nudity and violence are big issues along with profanity.

Disturding, violent scenes through out along with graphic nudity and uses of motherf--ker, c--t, s--t, and pu--y.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 18+ year old Written bySircjalot March 10, 2019

Possibly the best first person perspective movie! Taxi Driver (1976)

A lonely depressed mental Vietnam vet, Travis Bickles is stable but mentally unstable man. It is unclear of what he is suffering off, he could suffer from a mild form of autism, maybe PTSD from going through nam, or even possibly being a psychopath. It was never stated. Taxi Driver is a classic, but it is quite dark and depressing. The movies revolves around Travis saving a 13 year old girl that is a prostitute from a pimp. Swear words are constant throughout the entire movie.. The F bomb is said dozens of times, the C word is used once or twice. also words such as N*****, D*mn, h*** B****, a** are said. The violence in this film is realistic/disturbing. A man was robbing a store. Travis then pulls out a gun and shoots the robber in the head. The clerk that was being robbed, picks up the dead robber and begins beating the corps with a crowbar. "Later in the movie " Travis tries to assassinate a candidate running for President! Near the end of the film, Travis commits a mass shooting in order to save this girl from these pimpsters. This shootout scene is quite intense airy gritty and very realistic! Travis shoots a man's hand off, then soon shooting another person in the face multiple times in slow motion. I won't spoil the rest, but this shooting was very different from your average bloody movie shootouts. Throughout the movie Travis is seen in x rated theaters watching pornos. While Taxi Driver is a unique film, make sure to keep it out of reach from kids.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byharris231 September 10, 2012

Definately too violent for kids.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 5 and 8 year old Written bymeljen June 8, 2011

Interesting potential, HEAVY sexual content

I rate this 3 stars simply because the acting by Robert De Niro was amazing (as always). The concept of his downward spiral was interestingly written. However, it is a dark movie with harsh language, sexual expletives and sexual content. There is some pretty graphic sexual content in the porn theater scenes. Frontal nudity may not be shown, but sound effects and discussion from various characters about sexual themes are frequent. The child prostitute is very forward about her activities (as is her 'pimp') and a lot of sexual references encircling this theme are very heavy and disturbing. In short, this movie would be incredibly offensive to people who do not like sexual content. The overall content is based on it.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byLionelRowdy March 17, 2015

A really enjoyable film

This definitely isn't for young kids. Theres quite a bit of cursing and and some sexual content (a man goes to pornos and a 12 year old girl is a prostitute.) You never see much besides some salty scenes at the porno theatre, but there is an awkward amount of sexual talk about the young girl. Personally, I didn't find the violence to be excessive. There were guns used throughout the film as Travis prepared to assassinate the senator, but there was no real violence up until the last scenes. I'd rate this movie as being appropriate for mature teenagers. While I don't think the films sexual content/language/violence/drug use is anything worse than what high schoolers have already been exposed to through the media and their peers, the plot is complicated. Had I watched this film as a young teen, I think I would have either been confused or bored as heck. So in short, I would not be upset to find that my 13 year old had viewed this film, however, it would probably be very awkward to watch on family movie night.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bygrapelover46 September 13, 2012

Lots of nudity, EXTREMELY VIOLENT AND PROFANE, not for kids.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byTHE MOVIE BUF!!!!! July 12, 2011

Very good

The sexual content is very large the violence is very graphic the language has many bad words the word c**t is used once f**k is used a lot

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 15 year old Written byThoughtCriminal May 15, 2011

Good for mature teens

Amazing movie, This has always been one of my personal favorites. The reviewers use of the word "Psychopath" to describe Travis bothers me though. He is not a psychopath. Psychopaths have no emotion and Travis clearly does. I don't see his behavior to be psychotic either. Maybe anti-social but there is nothing wrong with that.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byuytt2 December 17, 2009

really good movie

this movie is great not to violent there is only ne graphic shootout the script is great the preformances are awsome i reccomend it

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Parent of a 3 and 7 year old Written bykelldeal October 12, 2009

good for ages 20 and not for tweens!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written bySuperParent August 29, 2009

A Martin Scorsese Classic

Robert De Niro is Terrific as the Taxi Driver, Martin Scorses Classic! but does involve a 12-year old prostitute and a man taking his girlfriend to a porn theater! we see man's buttcheek's during that scene, but other than that its great, but it does contain graphic violence at the very end of the film, we a man's hand get blown off with a gun and we see blood spurt from the missing part of the hand, we also see a man get shot in the face several times, we see blood spurt from his face, and then we see a man get his hand stabbed, we see blood spurt from the wound, and then he is shot in the head, we see blood and brains spray from the head onto the wall, we also see a man shot in the neck, we see blood spurt from the wound, this ending contains lots of blood and brutality

This title contains:

Positive Messages